Cut the trees on Everest

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
HackaLittleBit
Director
Director
Posts: 550
Joined: 10 Dec 2008 16:08
Location: tile 0x0000

Cut the trees on Everest

Post by HackaLittleBit » 16 Jan 2015 15:00

If you are also fed up of growing trees on mount everest than this patch is for you!
Apply patch, compile and start the game.
Then exit the game by closing it.
Two new variables "trees_around_snow_line_range" and "no_trees_on_this_level" are written in openttd.cfg.
Both have value 0.
"trees_around_snow_line_range" handles tree growth around snow level.
If you for example set it to value 6 the program will put mixed forest from 6 tiles below snow line until snow line.
From snow line to six tiles above it will put arctic trees thinning out towards the snow.
"no_trees_on_this_level" gives you the possibility to skip a level for tree growth.
If for example you don't want trees on level 1 and 4 you have to fill in value "20" or 0x14 or "60" or 0x41.
You can do this for the first 16 levels. The max value is 0xFFFFFFFF.
If this value is set to 0 the patch stops working and everything works like the original game.
The next two foto's below are with settings "no_trees_on_this_level = 0x134" and "trees_around_snow_line_range = 6"
And..... stolen trees!
This patch will do for me.
If you have exotic variations please feel free to post them.;-).
Have fun!
Attachments
teperate.png
teperate.png (210.67 KiB) Viewed 5181 times
arctic.png
arctic.png (252.52 KiB) Viewed 5181 times
everest_r27117_v1.patch
The patch!
(3.71 KiB) Downloaded 157 times

archy
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 03 Aug 2012 20:55

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by archy » 19 Jan 2015 18:29

So, basically this does the same thing as the Tree line height patch?

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1176
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by McZapkie » 19 Jan 2015 20:05

Another approach is to generate rocks above certain height (for example by modified GenerateClearTile in clear_cmd.cpp),
it also block tree growth and additionally makes terrain leveling more challenging.
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.

User avatar
HackaLittleBit
Director
Director
Posts: 550
Joined: 10 Dec 2008 16:08
Location: tile 0x0000

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by HackaLittleBit » 19 Jan 2015 22:19

archy wrote:So, basically this does the same thing as the Tree line height patch?
Yup.
I didn't know it existed.
With mine you can also stop generating trees on some lower levels 0 to 16.
You have to experiment.

User avatar
supermop
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1046
Joined: 21 Feb 2010 00:15
Location: Fitzroy North - 96

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by supermop » 19 Jan 2015 23:55

can you elaborate what you mean by alpine trees? does this mean that above a given height there will only be coniferous trees and no deciduous? If so that alone sounds like a good use case!

Best,

User avatar
HackaLittleBit
Director
Director
Posts: 550
Joined: 10 Dec 2008 16:08
Location: tile 0x0000

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by HackaLittleBit » 20 Jan 2015 01:19

What I did was combining the trees of two climates. arctic and temperate.
The idea is to use temperate trees in the lower parts and arctic in higher places.
I used a zone below the snow line to mix arctic with temperate.
The patch is very simple, but it gives you the possibility to adjust forrest to your own liking.
The effect however is highly dependent on the Tree GRF u are using.
I like the stolen trees GRF. But that is personal.

User avatar
supermop
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1046
Joined: 21 Feb 2010 00:15
Location: Fitzroy North - 96

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by supermop » 20 Jan 2015 01:49

Sounds great! What about Tropic - Temperate - Arctic? So an additional zone to let one have tropic trees in the lowlands, temperate in the highland, and arctic up on the mountains? Or any other mix the user sets...

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5565
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by wallyweb » 20 Jan 2015 08:30

What about snowlines that vary with the seasons?
It will be at least a month before I can test this very interesting patch.

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by SwissFan91 » 07 Aug 2015 15:48

Any chance of a Windows binary of this please? :D
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5565
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Cut the trees on Everest

Post by wallyweb » 07 Aug 2015 16:24

SwissFan91 wrote:Any chance of a Windows binary of this please? :D
Yes. :D
This is done with Cirdan's New Map Features branch which is currently synced with openttd r27220.
Attachments
OpenTTD-g29408edbM-Everest-Win32.7z
(5.45 MiB) Downloaded 59 times

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests