Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cut the trees on Everest
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 3:00 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 4:08 pm
Posts: 550
Location: tile 0x0000
If you are also fed up of growing trees on mount everest than this patch is for you!
Apply patch, compile and start the game.
Then exit the game by closing it.
Two new variables "trees_around_snow_line_range" and "no_trees_on_this_level" are written in openttd.cfg.
Both have value 0.
"trees_around_snow_line_range" handles tree growth around snow level.
If you for example set it to value 6 the program will put mixed forest from 6 tiles below snow line until snow line.
From snow line to six tiles above it will put arctic trees thinning out towards the snow.
"no_trees_on_this_level" gives you the possibility to skip a level for tree growth.
If for example you don't want trees on level 1 and 4 you have to fill in value "20" or 0x14 or "60" or 0x41.
You can do this for the first 16 levels. The max value is 0xFFFFFFFF.
If this value is set to 0 the patch stops working and everything works like the original game.
The next two foto's below are with settings "no_trees_on_this_level = 0x134" and "trees_around_snow_line_range = 6"
And..... stolen trees!
This patch will do for me.
If you have exotic variations please feel free to post them.;-).
Have fun!


Attachments:
teperate.png
teperate.png [ 210.67 KiB | Viewed 4499 times ]
arctic.png
arctic.png [ 252.52 KiB | Viewed 4499 times ]
File comment: The patch!
everest_r27117_v1.patch [3.71 KiB]
Downloaded 70 times

_________________
Chunnel , Distance between ships , Playing with Heightmaps , Signals tunnel , Waypoint air , Everest , Tunnel end
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:55 pm
Posts: 40
So, basically this does the same thing as the Tree line height patch?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1090
Another approach is to generate rocks above certain height (for example by modified GenerateClearTile in clear_cmd.cpp),
it also block tree growth and additionally makes terrain leveling more challenging.

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:19 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 4:08 pm
Posts: 550
Location: tile 0x0000
archy wrote:
So, basically this does the same thing as the Tree line height patch?

Yup.
I didn't know it existed.
With mine you can also stop generating trees on some lower levels 0 to 16.
You have to experiment.

_________________
Chunnel , Distance between ships , Playing with Heightmaps , Signals tunnel , Waypoint air , Everest , Tunnel end


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
can you elaborate what you mean by alpine trees? does this mean that above a given height there will only be coniferous trees and no deciduous? If so that alone sounds like a good use case!

Best,

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:19 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 4:08 pm
Posts: 550
Location: tile 0x0000
What I did was combining the trees of two climates. arctic and temperate.
The idea is to use temperate trees in the lower parts and arctic in higher places.
I used a zone below the snow line to mix arctic with temperate.
The patch is very simple, but it gives you the possibility to adjust forrest to your own liking.
The effect however is highly dependent on the Tree GRF u are using.
I like the stolen trees GRF. But that is personal.

_________________
Chunnel , Distance between ships , Playing with Heightmaps , Signals tunnel , Waypoint air , Everest , Tunnel end


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:49 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
Sounds great! What about Tropic - Temperate - Arctic? So an additional zone to let one have tropic trees in the lowlands, temperate in the highland, and arctic up on the mountains? Or any other mix the user sets...

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 8:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5431
Location: Canada
What about snowlines that vary with the seasons?
It will be at least a month before I can test this very interesting patch.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018 - December 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Alberta, Canada
Any chance of a Windows binary of this please? :D

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 4:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5431
Location: Canada
SwissFan91 wrote:
Any chance of a Windows binary of this please? :D
Yes. :D
This is done with Cirdan's New Map Features branch which is currently synced with openttd r27220.


Attachments:
OpenTTD-g29408edbM-Everest-Win32.7z [5.45 MiB]
Downloaded 46 times

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018 - December 2018
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.