High sea level - tunnel under sea patch

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
boekabart
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 333
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 09:44
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

High sea level - tunnel under sea patch

Post by boekabart »

[Edit: latest version, v9, here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=589267#589267]

Don't have time to describe it here again at this moment:

Please see http://boekabart.googlepages.com/sealevel for more.

Edit: Even more at http://boekabart.googlepages.com/deepwater . Find an updated title screen there.

Edit Latest diff, v27 r 10162, with fixed sea floor drawing: http://www.tt-forums.net/download.php?id=72625

Edit Started redevelopment!
Attachments
SeaTunnel (3).png
SeaTunnel (3).png (26.29 KiB) Viewed 25659 times
bb_deepwater_v30_r11127.diff
Bumped patch to r11127
(37.92 KiB) Downloaded 637 times
boekabart_deepwater2009_v0.1_r17815.diff
guiless: 64x64 maps have sealevel 1, others sealevel 0
Only drawing and flooding implemented so far, no dock/buoy/rig/depot support yet, for example.
(19.92 KiB) Downloaded 213 times
Last edited by boekabart on 20 Oct 2009 11:14, edited 8 times in total.

csuke
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 361
Joined: 05 Jun 2004 18:48
Location: London UK

Post by csuke »

WOW
Image

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan »

What happens when the sea floods into a sub-sea-level area?
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2013
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

DaleStan wrote:What happens when the sea floods into a sub-sea-level area?
maybe destroy and terraform?

User avatar
belugas
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1507
Joined: 05 Apr 2005 01:48
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Contact:

Post by belugas »

Or more place for fish and divers ? :lol:
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

DaleStan wrote:What happens when the sea floods into a sub-sea-level area?
He has a screenshot on the link he posted. It seems to just bulldoze anything below, but stay in the air.

User avatar
Ben_K
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1166
Joined: 01 Jun 2006 15:15
Location: Sydney, AUS

Post by Ben_K »

Well, it looks like its en-route to flatten the town... :?

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Post by athanasios »

Nice!
Please consider that sea has depth also. So for long tunnel it is OK, but for short tunnel like in the screen capture you posted entrance should be 1 level deeper.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

boekabart
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 333
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 09:44
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

Post by boekabart »

athanasios wrote:Nice!
Please consider that sea has depth also. So for long tunnel it is OK, but for short tunnel like in the screen capture you posted entrance should be 1 level deeper.
Actually, the current sea in ottd behaves as if it's a bit higher than flat land, doesn't it. It just isn't drawn any higher. So if we'd raise the sea drawing level by say 4 pixels (half a height), and change the coast graphics to match, it'd be correct again.

Leviath.NL
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 152
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 15:00

Post by Leviath.NL »

boekabart wrote:Actually, the current sea in ottd behaves as if it's a bit higher than flat land, doesn't it. It just isn't drawn any higher. So if we'd raise the sea drawing level by say 4 pixels (half a height), and change the coast graphics to match, it'd be correct again.
But this way bridges over water have to raise and lower to get over water.

edit: this won't be possible anymore:
Attachments
Screenshot-1.png
Screenshot-1.png (38.97 KiB) Viewed 25134 times

boekabart
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 333
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 09:44
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

Post by boekabart »

Leviath.NL wrote:
boekabart wrote:Actually, the current sea in ottd behaves as if it's a bit higher than flat land, doesn't it. It just isn't drawn any higher. So if we'd raise the sea drawing level by say 4 pixels (half a height), and change the coast graphics to match, it'd be correct again.
But this way bridges over water have to raise and lower to get over water.
I don't get what you mean by that. I'll try to make a mockup shot. Offtopic: But you do live really close to me (i'm actually in Wijchen).

Edit: Now I know: raising the water by a couple of pixels requires re-working of all bridge-pillar and bridge-head graphics...
Last edited by boekabart on 22 Apr 2007 10:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PouncingAnt
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 357
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 22:33

Post by PouncingAnt »

:lol: I think we need graphics for a tidal-wave front so that the sea isnt hanging in the air (muahaha).

Seriously good job on this one^^ I hope it becomes workable in the future
NB: the below challenges are still open for submission, so feel free to perform necromancy on them!
Try the PouncingAnt National Monopoly Challenge
Or even better, the PouncingAnt National Monopoly Challenge 2
Or better still, the PouncingAnt National Monopoly Challenge 3
Or, the PouncingAnt National Monopoly Challenge 4

Or try my scenario instead!

-(A lazy) OpenTTD Japanese Translator-
-(A lazy) PNGcodec user-
"You get what you pay for, so pay attention!"

Patches:
Company Station Stats

boekabart
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 333
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 09:44
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

Post by boekabart »

Re. the problem with the 0-depth water:
True point, but I think it is acceptable. We currently accept tunneling under canals, and the fact that sea with level 0 floods land with the same level...
Why would we require 1-deep water for tunneling under, but not for shipping and tunneling under canals?

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1809
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Post by maquinista »

Is a very good idea, It can be used in MiniIn or other version of OTTD.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
belugas
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1507
Joined: 05 Apr 2005 01:48
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Contact:

Post by belugas »

maquinista wrote:Is a very good idea, It can be used in MiniIn or other version of OTTD.
MiniIN is dead and has NEVER been a version of OpenTTD.
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Post by athanasios »

boekabart wrote:Re. the problem with the 0-depth water:
True point, but I think it is acceptable. We currently accept tunneling under canals, and the fact that sea with level 0 floods land with the same level...
Why would we require 1-deep water for tunneling under, but not for shipping and tunneling under canals?
I didn't mean your patch should not be used as it is right now, and I hope it makes it quickly into the trunk. Yet it needs to be corrected in the future and the same applies for the under canals tunnels. I mentioned it, thinking you might find a way to solve the problem.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

boekabart
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 333
Joined: 25 Aug 2005 09:44
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands

Post by boekabart »

athanasios wrote:
boekabart wrote:Re. the problem with the 0-depth water:
True point, but I think it is acceptable. We currently accept tunneling under canals, and the fact that sea with level 0 floods land with the same level...
Why would we require 1-deep water for tunneling under, but not for shipping and tunneling under canals?
I didn't mean your patch should not be used as it is right now, and I hope it makes it quickly into the trunk. Yet it needs to be corrected in the future and the same applies for the under canals tunnels. I mentioned it, thinking you might find a way to solve the problem.
No, your point is good and taken, and the solution is (in theory) quite simple: don't allow tunneling directly under canals, and don't allow shipping through 0-deep water (thereby forcing you to keep water deeper and dig your tunnel deeper). Maybe turn 0-deep water into swamps?

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Post by WWTBAM »

I hope this is an option that I can leave off. Ie be able to have underwater tunnels but not the other stuff.
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/

User avatar
Mr. X
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11501
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 22:45
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
Contact:

Post by Mr. X »

:shock: Cool! And I was almost thinking it was impossible... :P

I think this could maybe be implemented, and when the idea is refined about making it more realistic (inline with canals) then this patch can be updated maybe. :)
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote (TT-Forums member)

User avatar
Ben_K
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1166
Joined: 01 Jun 2006 15:15
Location: Sydney, AUS

Post by Ben_K »

I like the thoughts behind this. I think its a great progression here. I also agree that if we can, make it so that you need at least one vertical unit in between...
boekabart wrote:Maybe turn 0-deep water into swamps?
Now thats also a good idea. :)

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests