Building under sea level/Underwater tunnels

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
bigyihsuan
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jul 2013 07:41

Building under sea level/Underwater tunnels

Post by bigyihsuan » 27 Feb 2017 21:21

As it is right now, you can't build tunnels underwater because you can't build below sea level.

Water is also limited to sea level only, with high plateaus having no little to no lakes whatsoever and low areas with tons of sea if you set the sea level to very high. There is also the fact that you raise the land in water, make a hole, and clear away the water to make something like this:
Image
So it is possible to create dry areas at sea levels, and theoretically possible to create dry spots under sea level with this technique.

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3938
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: Building under sea level/Underwater tunnels

Post by NekoMaster » 28 Feb 2017 01:31

There is a patch for OpenTTD that includes underwater tunnels aka Channel Tunnels but I dunno how old it is now and its not part of the stable or nightly openttd releases
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1175
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: Building under sea level/Underwater tunnels

Post by McZapkie » 28 Feb 2017 10:57

By the way, with more than 16 height levels in current trunk, it would be possible to define water height level higher than 0.
It would give opportunity to generate real underwater relief and therefore build underwater tunnels under shallow sea, without artificial patches.

User avatar
bigyihsuan
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jul 2013 07:41

Re: Building under sea level/Underwater tunnels

Post by bigyihsuan » 01 Mar 2017 01:14

McZapkie wrote:By the way, with more than 16 height levels in current trunk, it would be possible to define water height level higher than 0.
It would give opportunity to generate real underwater relief and therefore build underwater tunnels under shallow sea, without artificial patches.
Now that would be interesting. Imagine if large boats were limited by the underwater geography and couldn't go up 1-tile canals and rivers.

Although the question is how would you see underneath the surface with current water graphics? Translucent water tiles?

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1175
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: Building under sea level/Underwater tunnels

Post by McZapkie » 01 Mar 2017 10:43

bigyihsuan wrote: Now that would be interesting. Imagine if large boats were limited by the underwater geography and couldn't go up 1-tile canals and rivers.

Although the question is how would you see underneath the surface with current water graphics? Translucent water tiles?
I'm not sure if limiting ships using sea depth is a good idea, there is already possibility to limit speed and therefore make rosters for open sea, for rivers/canals or universal ones.
But having some tiles deep would give opportunity to:
[*]build underwater tunnels if sea bed is not below 1
[*]limiting building bridges if sea is deeper than given setting (there is already such setting for terrain).
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.

martinezjr
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 Feb 2014 22:16

Re: Building under sea level/Underwater tunnels

Post by martinezjr » 04 Oct 2018 00:31

This is what I am looking for. Is there a way to set the default terrain starting depth? I would like to set the terrain height at 3 when generating new worlds, water bodies would also default to this height, with a depth of 1.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests