Cost to Build On Slope vs. Build On "Flat" Land

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
YNM
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3546
Joined: 22 Mar 2012 11:10
Location: West Java

Cost to Build On Slope vs. Build On "Flat" Land

Post by YNM »

I just found a silly thing : building a 12-tile bridge with one end "wrongly sloped" (wrt the usual bridge slope) cost more than twice the cost to build a 13-tile bridge, both end correctly sloped.
Maybe the build on slope price is too high ? Or is it intended ? Because it sort of destroys the purpose of having a shorter bridge...
bridge cost.png
(261.63 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Maybe lowering the price could help ? I'm using r26630.
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?
「ヨーッスノットマイン」も合うでしょう。

Transportman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2715
Joined: 22 Feb 2011 18:34

Re: Cost to Build On Slope vs. Build On "Flat" Land

Post by Transportman »

It's the CLEAR_WATER cost that makes the price jump that steep, I think that if you would try the same one height level higher, prices are closer together.
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML

User avatar
ISA
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3379
Joined: 17 Oct 2005 20:56
Location: Estonia

Re: Cost to Build On Slope vs. Build On "Flat" Land

Post by ISA »

It has been so ages as far as I know? Haven't pothered to post it as a problem Seems logical too... wrongly sloped bridge will use a lot of more material as rightly sloped bridge...

And... again I must ask about those rails on Your picture! Where did You got those? I know they should be in Finnish rail set but I haven't been able to get those appear current version!

User avatar
YNM
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3546
Joined: 22 Mar 2012 11:10
Location: West Java

Re: Cost to Build On Slope vs. Build On "Flat" Land

Post by YNM »

Transportman wrote:It's the CLEAR_WATER cost that makes the price jump that steep, I think that if you would try the same one height level higher, prices are closer together.
Yeah, even the 12 tiles are cheaper. A good thing to know how much a piece of water can change the cost a lot.
ISA wrote:It has been so ages as far as I know? Haven't pothered to post it as a problem Seems logical too... wrongly sloped bridge will use a lot of more material as rightly sloped bridge...
But longer bridge means more structural buildings and materials (which should be around the same price to the filling or higher). Must be the water.
ISA wrote:And... again I must ask about those rails on Your picture! Where did You got those? I know they should be in Finnish rail set but I haven't been able to get those appear current version!
That's in 1913... FRISS Rail Infrastructure 0.5.1 .
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?
「ヨーッスノットマイン」も合うでしょう。

odalman
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 37
Joined: 07 Jan 2020 01:46

Re: Cost to Build On Slope vs. Build On "Flat" Land

Post by odalman »

I made the observation (related to the thread title but totally unrelated to water and bridges) that raising land and building track on it is cheaper than building on slope when the track is diagonal (ordinal?). However, when the track is non-diagonal (cardinal?) it is cheaper to build on slope.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests