Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed May 22, 2019 1:53 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:21 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:13 am
Posts: 6
Like the title says, how do I install it manually?

Do you need a certain file or not?

_________________
No, I'm not a brony.

-Timmozer on Rotmg AND Minecraft forums.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:45 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4713
Location: home
The wiki has the answer http://wiki.openttd.org/NewGRF


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:52 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:13 am
Posts: 6
The problem is that I don't know any programs to open it with though.

_________________
No, I'm not a brony.

-Timmozer on Rotmg AND Minecraft forums.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:56 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4713
Location: home
You speak in riddles.

First you want to "install", now you want to "open". What is "it" in your last post? a .grf file, the wiki web-page, openttd, ttdpatch, ?

What **exactly** are you trying to **achieve**?
Please assume I am an idiot and explain it as precise as you can.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:13 am
Posts: 6
All I want is to manually install or (whatever the **** was), open the grfs and put it into the opentdd file, so how do you do it? Do you open a program? Do you download something (apart from the NewGrfs) or something else?

P.S. My english is bad. :(

_________________
No, I'm not a brony.

-Timmozer on Rotmg AND Minecraft forums.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:08 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9265
Location: Sol d
Let's start in the beginning:

What game do you play? OpenTTD? TTDPatch?

When that is answered we can move this thread to the game's problem section and continue there. Assuming you play OpenTTD, (also when you even spell that wrong), I'd like to refer you to the readme, namely section 4.2: http://vcs.openttd.org/svn/browser/tags ... e.txt#L250 and our wiki: http://wiki.openttd.org/Newgrf#Manual_install

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:13 am
Posts: 6
OpenTTD

P.S. That doesn't help me here. I don't have the program I need to open the NewGRF.

_________________
No, I'm not a brony.

-Timmozer on Rotmg AND Minecraft forums.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:26 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4713
Location: home
If you could 'open' a newgrf, what do you expect to happen?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:28 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:13 am
Posts: 6
Put it into OpenTTD (Somehow)

_________________
No, I'm not a brony.

-Timmozer on Rotmg AND Minecraft forums.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
1. Put the grf file in the correct directory (read the readme from the link planetmaker gave you).
2. Start OpenTTD, click on "NewGRF settings" in the main menu and the NewGRF there.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 7:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
To make things even more clear: you don't open a NewGRF. You just have to put it in the correct folder and OpenTTD will find it.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:14 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4713
Location: home
I suspect 'open' here is double-click where the OS then runs a program to do "it" with the file.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:13 am
Posts: 6
I use Windows 7 and planetmaker, the manual is hard to understand because I'm not a technical person. :?

_________________
No, I'm not a brony.

-Timmozer on Rotmg AND Minecraft forums.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:04 pm
Posts: 1183
Location: East Coast, United States
To sum it up:

Find your OpenTTD directory (this is where you will see the executable, openttd.exe).
Go to the data folder.
Put whichever newGRFs you want into the data folder.
Run OpenTTD, select NewGRF Settings, choose your GRFs, press 'Apply Changes', start a new game, and it should work.

_________________
Like my avatar? See my screenshot thread
Chill's Patchpack, an awesome collection of OTTD patches


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
ChaChing! wrote:
the manual is hard to understand because I'm not a technical person. :?

Please let us know what parts are hard to understand, so that we can improve it!

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:47 am
Posts: 11129
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Step by step:

1. Download the NewGRF wherever you want.
2. Open Windows Explorer, go to that GRFs folder and unzip it.
3. Copy it into your OTTD's Data folder.
4. Start OTTD.
5. OTTD will say "Scanning for NewGRFs" - wait.
6. On the opening title menu click on "NewGRF Settings".
7. A window for NewGRFs will open - the upper black box shows currently used GRFs, the lower box shows all available GRFs.
8. Double-click (or one-click + "Add" button) on a GRF which you want to use (lower box).
9. That GRF will show in the upper box and will be loaded into your game.
10. Repeat steps 8 and 9 for more GRFs you want to use.
11. After you're done, click "Apply changes" button.
12. Close that NewGRF window ("x" on the upper left corner).
13. Click "New Game" button or "Scenario Editor" button, depending what you want to do.

Did I miss anything? Devs, feel free to copy this on wiki... :mrgreen:

_________________
Leon

Image Image Image Image
"... all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by..." - John Masefield


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:21 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:44 pm
Posts: 79
Quote:
Did I miss anything?

Perhaps:
3. Copy the .grf file into your OTTD's Data folder.
9.5 Change the parameters if possible and needed.

:)

_________________
Playing oTTD on Linux OpenSUSE
Hotkeys Reference Card (DE+EN+FI+FR+NL+RU) (v0.2.6)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:32 pm
Posts: 1889
Location: In The Dark
It may be going too far for such a basic discussion but...

A NewGrf that is lower down on the NewGrf List will have priority over a NewGrf that is higher up on the NewGrf List.

Again this is a more advanced type of thing that will become relevant once you start getting into complex NewGrf usage but it is a good thing to know.

_________________
Humor is the second most subjective thing on the planet
------------------------------------------------------------
Brevity is the soul of wit and obscenity is its downfall
--------------------------------------------------------
Good Night And Good Luck - Read You Soon


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1659
Location: Idaho, USA
Nite Owl wrote:
It may be going too far for such a basic discussion but...

A NewGrf that is lower down on the NewGrf List will have priority over a NewGrf that is higher up on the NewGrf List.

Wait, it's not the other way around? Higher takes priority over lower? I've always been doing things wrong! :shock:

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:55 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
the list is loaded in order, with the top grf first and the bottom grf last. I think priority is the wrong word, as it can be explained both ways. Either way, if two grfs have graphics for the same thing, the lower grf will overwrite the higher grf.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.