Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply

Were your surprised when you learned about the fact that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Yes.
4
17%
No.
20
83%
 
Total votes: 24

User avatar
Wuzzy
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 66
Joined: 18 Aug 2019 18:04

Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by Wuzzy »

For those of you who don't know: In OpenTTD, the game does not come with any AI (computer-controlled opponents) by default. This means if you just install OpenTTD and want to jump right into singleplayer action, there's no competition. To get competition into the singleplayer game, you first have to download a 3rd-party addon to enable competition in singleplayer.

I am starting a poll to ask the following question: Were your surprised when you learned about the fact that OpenTTD has no AI by default?
User avatar
odisseus
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 226
Joined: 01 Nov 2017 21:19

Re: Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by odisseus »

When I had just started to play OpenTTD, the thought of having an AI competitor didn't so much as cross my mind. The arrangement of tracks, platforms and signals gave me more than enough of a challenge.

Later I read on the Wiki about the AIs, and I even tried out a few of them. But around the same time I also discovered the multiplayer servers, and I found that it is much more fun to play with other people than with the AIs.
User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2513
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by Pyoro »

I came over from TTDPatch roughly 17 centuries ago, and only because I had kept an eye on OTTD development to when it was "worth" switching from my perspective (those missing TTDPatch features drove me crazy for a long time :mrgreen: ). So, yeah, I absolutely knew what I was getting. But also, given that it happened about 3 millenia ago, if it actually somehow was a surprise for me, I've long forgotten, so I can't be 100% sure anyway ;)
User avatar
Erato
Director
Director
Posts: 599
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by Erato »

It would be surprising if OpenTTD did have AI by default. After all, by default it has no NewGRFs, it has no gamescripts, and it has no scenarios. It only comes with basesets.
This is just something that's characteristic of OpenTTD, the developers provide a canvas which you can add whatever addon you want onto. The objectives are fairly clear about it, the goal of the developers is to not implement things which can be implemented through NewGRFs or gamescripts, or similar.
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1354
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by Baldy's Boss »

Pyoro wrote: 31 Mar 2021 09:59 I came over from TTDPatch roughly 17 centuries ago, and only because I had kept an eye on OTTD development to when it was "worth" switching from my perspective (those missing TTDPatch features drove me crazy for a long time :mrgreen: ). So, yeah, I absolutely knew what I was getting. But also, given that it happened about 3 millenia ago, if it actually somehow was a surprise for me, I've long forgotten, so I can't be 100% sure anyway ;)
I played Original TT (not Deluxe let alone a patch of it) and then downloaded OpenTTD many years later...where does that put me in your paleontology?...I was used to AI competition but had read in advance that I had to download AIs for OTTD so I did.
mauried
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Sep 2010 11:35

Re: Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by mauried »

No.
The game has advanced so much from its earlier days, that providing a default AI that would make most players happy would be extremely hard to code.
Its far better to pick AIs that have a particular playstyle which suits the way you want the competition.
The game now provides many AIs all with differant playstyles of which you can choose as many as you want.
I for example like playing with busses and trucks, so having an AI thats also plays the same as me , is much more fun, than having one that plays with trains or planes.
User avatar
Taschi
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 54
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 22:58

Re: Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by Taschi »

Not really? Then again, it's not something I look for in a building game anyway. To me, the "opponent" is the constant demand to keep stuff moving in my network.
For the safety of our railways: Fire Sir Topham Hatt now!
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7623
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Were you surprised that OpenTTD has no AI by default?

Post by Eddi »

honestly, the moment i learned (back in TTO) that you can completely disable the AI players the game got sooooo much better for me. they only ever get in your way, and never manage to do anything sane. particularly the road building AI.

when that AI got removed from OpenTTD, i did not shed a tear.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)
Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eddi, Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests