How to cause train crashes

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Chuma
Engineer
Engineer

How to cause train crashes

Post by Chuma »

Hi!

I'm kind of new to the game, and I'm trying to understand how train crashes work. As an experiment, I tried a few setups to make one happen on purpose, but the trains always seem to find a way to avoid them. The only way I'm able to do it is by removing signals when the trains are already on their way.

Since trains won't enter an unsafe block, how are crashes possible at all? Could you give a simple example of a design that leads to a crash? Or is there some randomness involved?
Sylf
President
President

Re: How to cause train crashes

Post by Sylf »

1. Build a train depot
2. Build a few tiles worths of rails connected to that depot
3. Buy 2 trains that's shorter than the rail built in step 2
4. Start both trains - only 1 train will exit the depot
5. Open the window for the train that's still in the depot
6. Click on the "ignore signal" button on that train from step 5
7. Watch the second train run into the first train

Basically, as long as you have all signals placed so that trains run smoothly, you won't see a crash.
Only when you manually tell the trains to ignore a signal, or remove a signal at the wrong (or right, depending on your purpose) time, then you will cause train crash.

There is an edge case where mixing path signals and block signals can cause a crash, but it's an exception.
Chrill

Post by Chrill »

Trains cannot accidentally collide. They only do it when you mess up, basically. Usually if one is reconstructing a junction in realtime instead of pausing the game or indeed by telling the train to ignore the signal.
My Scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso (Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)
ccomley
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Post by ccomley »