Tinkering with the source...

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
SirkoZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1507
Joined: 06 Mar 2004 23:51
Location: The sunny side of Alps

Tinkering with the source...

Post by SirkoZ »

Greetings!

Ever since Transport Tycoon Deluxe has been released, some things, that were different from Transport Tycoon Original, bothered me quite much.
And in every TTD I try and change them.
I've played and liked TTO very much and just want to create the same "ambience" in TTD. :)
And since I'm more of a tweaker than a programmer, I have some things to inquire about.

Thing that I've changed:________________________________Status:
-All vehicle names/commentaries
change to TTO like - English______________________________DONE
(english.txt/lng)
-Leyland Leopard Bus speed
changed to 96km/h_____________________________________DONE
(roadveh_cmd.c)
-Bridge speeds of gold Suspension Bridge,
Cantilever Bridge and Tubular Bridge increased
in order not to slow down TGV/Maglevs._____________________DONE
(tunnelbridge_cmd.c)
-Locomotive's speed/power change - like in TTO
or in real life, e.g. power of T.G.V. is now 13600hp and
not 7000..._____________________________________________DONE
(engines.h -->in TABLES)
-Industry production increase to the levels
of TTO___________________________________________KINDA DONE
(in buildindustry.h)

At the end I settled for a 34.8% change of all production rates of all industries (or multiply them with 1.538), e.g. coal mine before - 8x/9x 15 = 120/135 - changed: 8x/9x 23 = 184/207 -- in TTO 12x/13x/14x 15 = 180/195/210 tonnes of coal. :wink:
This is all fine, but how could I change the multipliers to 12/13/14 instead of prod. rates?
There are two values - production rate [0] * 8 and production rate [1] * 8 in the file industry_cmd.c. I changed them to 12 and it worked only for the newly built industry in scenarion editor or at the start of new game.
In "February 1st 1950" productions of all industries return to "normal" 8/9x system.
I think these multipliers aren't fixed and are dependent on game-tick duration - so how to modify this dependency of industries on the tick?

You can check out all the changes - you have to have OpenTTD 0.2.1 installed, then just download http://www.geocities.com/sirkozus/openttd2.zip. Just unpack my ttd.exe and english.lng in you OpenTTD 0.2.1 dir, replacing the original files...

Thank you in advance for your explanations.

S/Z 8)

P.S.: Does anyone of you (developers) know how to change station ratings to be more equal to those of AI players?

User avatar
dominik81
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: 16 Aug 2003 12:55
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: Tinkering with the source...

Post by dominik81 »

SirkoZ wrote:-Bridge speeds of gold Suspension Bridge,
Cantilever Bridge and Tubular Bridge increased
in order not to slow down TGV/Maglevs._____________________DONE
(tunnelbridge_cmd.c)
The next release will feature two additional bridges with higher maximum speeds for Monorails and Maglevs.


Gustav
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Apr 2004 14:07

Post by Gustav »

hmm, can you change the amount of vehicles too? I think that's also more a tweak thing than a programming thing... I tried to find it somewhere but I couldn't...

User avatar
SirkoZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1507
Joined: 06 Mar 2004 23:51
Location: The sunny side of Alps

Post by SirkoZ »

Do you mean amount of all vehicles in game? I suppose it can be changed, I haven't looked for that one yet...
Now I'm more interested in changing industry production algorithm... :wink:

User avatar
dominik81
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: 16 Aug 2003 12:55
Location: Bonn, Germany

Post by dominik81 »

The maximum amount of vehicles will be changeable through the Config file in the next release.

User avatar
SirkoZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1507
Joined: 06 Mar 2004 23:51
Location: The sunny side of Alps

Post by SirkoZ »

It's getting better and better. :)

Any idea about industries, any pointers? :?
Last edited by SirkoZ on 13 Apr 2004 07:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Re: Tinkering with the source...

Post by Born Acorn »

dominik81 wrote:
SirkoZ wrote:-Bridge speeds of gold Suspension Bridge,
Cantilever Bridge and Tubular Bridge increased
in order not to slow down TGV/Maglevs._____________________DONE
(tunnelbridge_cmd.c)
The next release will feature two additional bridges with higher maximum speeds for Monorails and Maglevs.
any screens?

User avatar
dominik81
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: 16 Aug 2003 12:55
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: Tinkering with the source...

Post by dominik81 »

Born Acorn wrote:any screens?
Attachments
Featuring the golden "Tubular, Steel" bridge and the "Tubular, Silicon" bridge.
Featuring the golden "Tubular, Steel" bridge and the "Tubular, Silicon" bridge.
newbridg.gif (101.96 KiB) Viewed 4556 times

Tokartta
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 91
Joined: 10 Apr 2003 11:43
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Post by Tokartta »

What about TTO style monorail bridges?

User avatar
dominik81
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: 16 Aug 2003 12:55
Location: Bonn, Germany

Post by dominik81 »

Tokartta wrote:What about TTO style monorail bridges?
Have a screenshot?

User avatar
hovering teacup
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 429
Joined: 03 Feb 2004 12:40

Post by hovering teacup »

for the TTO graphics, you can find them in a original grf file (trgi.grf or trhcom.grf I believe) included in the DOS TTD.
------------------------
Image

Bjarni
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2088
Joined: 08 Mar 2004 13:10

Post by Bjarni »

They are pretty simple. It's just the track, that continues into the air. It doesn't even have pylons, so it's just a line trough the air

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Post by George »

It would be nice to have different ramps graphics (enterance parts) for different bridges

User avatar
Killer 11
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2458
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 18:38
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Contact:

Post by Killer 11 »

Can Ludde add a new climate TTO style with original graphics and settings?

Bjarni
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2088
Joined: 08 Mar 2004 13:10

Post by Bjarni »

Killer 11 wrote:Can Ludde add a new climate TTO style with original graphics and settings?
everything is possible, but it it worth it?
It would take some time, which could be spend on making other features

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests