Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:27 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 2:11 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
What is RIS?
RIS is an in-progress attempt to combine all the best-looking Road, Tram and Rail NewGRFs into a single, cohesive set.

1.0?
See for my plans for version 1.0+, and feel free to give input.

RIS 0.1 to 0.3

[+] Spoiler
What was RIS 0.X?
Recycled Infrastructure Set was a road and tram track set for non-NRT/RATT OpenTTD installations, based heavily on the American Road Replacement Set (thanks, Andrew350!) and Foobar's Tram Tracks (thanks, Foobar!).

Why make a roadset for vanilla OpenTTD?!
Because I want nice-looking roads that are compatible with JGR's Patch Pack. Instead of focusing on a region, RIS has the goal of not having graphical glitches like the issue of tram tracks that have a thin stripe of green when leaving the road with default tram tracks or which have roads peeking out from under them like all custom roadsets when used with Foobar's Tram Tracks.

What happened to the futuristic roads?
I've decided to limit RIS to tram tracks with wider grass, to enable compatibility with my favored NewGRF Combination; NARoads and the ARRS version of Total Bridge Renewal Set. The futuristic roads might be added in the future once NRT/RATT is part of JGR's Patch Pack.
This is up for discussion, to be included in RIS 0.4...

Source code?
Right here. RIS is licensed as GPL v2.


NewGRF?
Available in-game from "Check Online Content".


Attachments:
File comment: Source code for v0.3
ris0.3src.zip [2.65 MiB]
Downloaded 34 times

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Last edited by SimYouLater on Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:32 am, edited 10 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 3:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
Try this.
The road and tram track tiles are overlays. The groundtile is not replaced. It is overlayed by the road or tram track sprite. Replace the grass part of Andrew's and Foobar's sprites with transparent blue. This has the added advantage in that you will not need an alternate set of sprites for other climates.

I don't know how it would resolve the road to off-road transition though. This could be a player issue in that the player would have to build the road with a stub for the turn out.

I hope this works.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 5:56 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
wallyweb wrote:
Try this.
The road and tram track tiles are overlays. The groundtile is not replaced. It is overlayed by the road or tram track sprite. Replace the grass part of Andrew's and Foobar's sprites with transparent blue. This has the added advantage in that you will not need an alternate set of sprites for other climates.

I don't know how it would resolve the road to off-road transition though. This could be a player issue in that the player would have to build the road with a stub for the turn out.

I hope this works.


I suppose that using OpenGFX grass beneath the tracks but not taking up the whole tile will be a suitable compromise. Thanks!

EDIT: Previews below!

Image

Image


Attachments:
File comment: Futuristic, glowing crossings
crossings.png [19.98 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
File comment: Futuristic, glowing roads
roads1.png [31.78 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 10:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
SimYouLater wrote:
I suppose that using OpenGFX grass beneath the tracks but not taking up the whole tile will be a suitable compromise.
If "one has a TTD Windows CD", one could always select the original-windows base set option. :mrgreen:

Quote:
Thanks!
:bow:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 6:17 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 434
Location: Washington State, USA
wallyweb wrote:
Try this.
The road and tram track tiles are overlays. The groundtile is not replaced. It is overlayed by the road or tram track sprite. Replace the grass part of Andrew's and Foobar's sprites with transparent blue. This has the added advantage in that you will not need an alternate set of sprites for other climates.


Not exactly. It sounds like SimYouLater is trying to do road graphics "the old way", i.e. not using NRT, in which case the above isn't true.

If these graphics are indeed meant to just replace the baseset sprites then they will need to include the full tile, otherwise you will end up with weird graphical artifacts in the gaps. One possible option for this would be to modify the OpenGFX sprites to blend in a little better to the TTD landscape. It wouldn't be perfect, but with a little work you could probably get a decent looking result, and it would avoid having to include any sprites that might violate copyrights :)

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 6:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1649
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Andrew350 wrote:
wallyweb wrote:
Try this.
The road and tram track tiles are overlays. The groundtile is not replaced. It is overlayed by the road or tram track sprite. Replace the grass part of Andrew's and Foobar's sprites with transparent blue. This has the added advantage in that you will not need an alternate set of sprites for other climates.


Not exactly. It sounds like SimYouLater is trying to do road graphics "the old way", i.e. not using NRT, in which case the above isn't true.

If these graphics are indeed meant to just replace the baseset sprites then they will need to include the full tile, otherwise you will end up with weird graphical artifacts in the gaps. One possible option for this would be to modify the OpenGFX sprites to blend in a little better to the TTD landscape. It wouldn't be perfect, but with a little work you could probably get a decent looking result, and it would avoid having to include any sprites that might violate copyrights :)


In fact, there can't be old without new, and there's no such thing as "new way" in NRT...
Everyone is coming up and say "This, is a revolution". It is, but NRT is not stable yet and will not until a few months, or even a year. Until those days we must do it this way. Why ? Because JGR, Spring 2013 etc, and simply no other patchpack, don't support NRT yet.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 7:11 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
acs121 wrote:
Andrew350 wrote:
wallyweb wrote:
Try this.
The road and tram track tiles are overlays. The groundtile is not replaced. It is overlayed by the road or tram track sprite. Replace the grass part of Andrew's and Foobar's sprites with transparent blue. This has the added advantage in that you will not need an alternate set of sprites for other climates.


Not exactly. It sounds like SimYouLater is trying to do road graphics "the old way", i.e. not using NRT, in which case the above isn't true.

If these graphics are indeed meant to just replace the baseset sprites then they will need to include the full tile, otherwise you will end up with weird graphical artifacts in the gaps. One possible option for this would be to modify the OpenGFX sprites to blend in a little better to the TTD landscape. It wouldn't be perfect, but with a little work you could probably get a decent looking result, and it would avoid having to include any sprites that might violate copyrights :)


In fact, there can't be old without new, and there's no such thing as "new way" in NRT...
Everyone is coming up and say "This, is a revolution". It is, but NRT is not stable yet and will not until a few months, or even a year. Until those days we must do it this way. Why ? Because JGR, Spring 2013 etc, and simply no other patchpack, don't support NRT yet.


Well that's just perfect. How do you expect me to create a road and tram set that blends in? Why was Zimmlock allowed to use TTD graphics in TTRS?

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 7:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4713
Location: Lost in Music
SimYouLater wrote:
Well that's just perfect. How do you expect me to create a road and tram set that blends in?

Just redraw *all* the terrain sprites you need? :twisted:

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 7:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
Ok ... I just placed a road tile in OTTD. The sprite aligner showed me the grassy ground tile and the road tile overlaying it. Why would there be a glitch if the grassy part of the road tile were to be made transparent blue and substituted with an Action A? You can see the effect with my tile grids. No need to redraw terrain sprites.

Also, default sprites with a stub for a turn out already exist. Is there a problem if a paved road with a paved turn out stub abuts a dirt road?

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 8:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4713
Location: Lost in Music
I get this :D


Attachments:
road_tiles.png
road_tiles.png [ 80.56 KiB | Viewed 1710 times ]

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 10:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
Alas! I must confess to the error of my ways. :oops:
Indeed there were artifacts.
My apologies to SimYouLater. I should have tested before I sent you down a dead end road.
Hopefully NRT will offer other possibilities and it will arrive in trunk to a rousing cheer from the crowd.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 10:44 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
wallyweb wrote:
Alas! I must confess to the error of my ways. :oops:
Indeed there were artifacts.
My apologies to SimYouLater. I should have tested before I sent you down a dead end road.
Hopefully NRT will offer other possibilities and it will arrive in trunk to a rousing cheer from the crowd.


With no way to fix this issue, I've chosen to instead refocus RIS on having wider grass beneath tram tracks than Foobar's Tram Tracks, so that it can be used with North American Roads and TBRS for ARRS.

Image


Attachments:
File comment: Wider grass for NARoads, concrete for TBRS-ARRS bridges.
track-ttd-temperate.png
track-ttd-temperate.png [ 10.97 KiB | Viewed 1680 times ]

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 12:25 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
Anyone willing to code these tram tracks, or should I start trying to do the code myself?


Attachments:
File comment: Source Code so far, using ISR depots
ris_source.zip [3.55 MiB]
Downloaded 11 times

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 6:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
SimYouLater wrote:
Anyone willing to code these tram tracks, or should I start trying to do the code myself?
Give it a go yourself. We have lots of artists but can always use another coder. 8)

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 9:51 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1649
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
SimYouLater wrote:
wallyweb wrote:
Alas! I must confess to the error of my ways. :oops:
Indeed there were artifacts.
My apologies to SimYouLater. I should have tested before I sent you down a dead end road.
Hopefully NRT will offer other possibilities and it will arrive in trunk to a rousing cheer from the crowd.


With no way to fix this issue, I've chosen to instead refocus RIS on having wider grass beneath tram tracks than Foobar's Tram Tracks, so that it can be used with North American Roads and TBRS for ARRS.

Image


Mind giving up that black ballast on bridge surfaces, and rather give the default concrete bridge surface ? That black ballast really looks ugly though.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 9:02 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
acs121 wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:
wallyweb wrote:
Alas! I must confess to the error of my ways. :oops:
Indeed there were artifacts.
My apologies to SimYouLater. I should have tested before I sent you down a dead end road.
Hopefully NRT will offer other possibilities and it will arrive in trunk to a rousing cheer from the crowd.


With no way to fix this issue, I've chosen to instead refocus RIS on having wider grass beneath tram tracks than Foobar's Tram Tracks, so that it can be used with North American Roads and TBRS for ARRS.

Image


Mind giving up that black ballast on bridge surfaces, and rather give the default concrete bridge surface ? That black ballast really looks ugly though.


Where do I get the sprites for the default concrete?

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 9:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
SimYouLater wrote:
acs121 wrote:
Mind giving up that black ballast on bridge surfaces, and rather give the default concrete bridge surface ? That black ballast really looks ugly though.


Where do I get the sprites for the default concrete?
OpenGFX_extras has these:


Attachments:
ogfxe_extra_Bridge_Tram_Tracks.png
ogfxe_extra_Bridge_Tram_Tracks.png [ 2.35 KiB | Viewed 1531 times ]

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 12:53 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
wallyweb wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:
acs121 wrote:
Mind giving up that black ballast on bridge surfaces, and rather give the default concrete bridge surface ? That black ballast really looks ugly though.


Where do I get the sprites for the default concrete?
OpenGFX_extras has these:


Thanks. Adding first version to the OP.

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:51 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 466
ATTENTION!

I've got some big plans for RIS now. 64 railtypes big. As the title has always suggested, instead of drawing things from scratch, I want to re-use graphics from GPL v2 NewGRFs. Here's what I've got...

[+] Spoiler
Roads
Dirt roads (Prior to 1960)
Futuristic roads (1960+) with glowing guide lines.

Early Rail
Wagonway, using ToyTrax as a graphical base.
Prototype Rail, also using ToyTrax as a graphical base.
Compatible with Early Rail set, just leave out "Early Rail" and use "Early Rail 2".

That's 2...

Standard Gauge
5 SG speeds and 5 electrified SG speeds, using the AuzTracks graphics.

That's 12...

Narrow Guage
2 NG and 2 electrified NG speeds. (Post if you would like your NG rails to be in RIS!)
600mm Narrow Gauge compatibility via triple-gauge tracktype. (600mm NewGRF sold separately, see fruit store for more details :P )

That's 17, 19 with 600mm...

Metro
2 3rd Rail speeds.
1 3rd Rail & Catenary speed.

20, 22 with 600mm...

Monorail
1 Monorail, borrowed from Wasteland.

21, 23 with 600mm...

Maglev
Compatibility with Maglev Track Set, including retractable road surfaces on some level crossings.
SMITS maglev as default.

26, 30 with Maglev Track Set and 600mm...

VacTrains
2 Underground railtypes, based on Underground Metro railtypes, compatible with all railtypes above and with VacTrains.
Compatibility with VacTrains.

29, 33 with Maglev and 600mm...

WIRED & Wires
Utility Wires overrides 4x zoom WIRED rails with older 1x zoom Wired Rails for graphical consistency.
Compatibility with WIRES for electrical transmission (requires ELEC cargo from Wires to be added to FIRS, ECS and AuzInd)

PIPE
Compatibility with PIPE by ensuring that at least one Railtype slot remains.

31, 35 with PIPE, WIRE, Maglev and 600mm...

Useless Tracks
Railbed, taken from Useless Tracks.
Planning tracks, taken from Useless Tracks.
Dirt Trail, taken from WIRED.

34, or 38 with PIPE, WIRE, Maglev and 600mm...

PURR & ToyTrax
Built-in PURR Rainbow Rails and ToyTrax, able to be denabled with "Silly Switch!" (off by default).

39, or 43 with PIPE, WIRE, Maglev and 600mm.

Other
Single tile-height tunnels, based on the Underground rails from the Metro track set.
ISR Depots (1965+), to make realistically-sized depots using a popular existing NewObjects set.
4 speeds of "blank bridges" that rely on NewGRFs placed below the bridge to provide appearance.
12 speeds of "normal bridges" meant for use with roads but fully compatible with all included railtypes.


Any thoughts?

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1649
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Hmmm.

I think you could take a few graphics from AuzRoadAndTownObjects, mainly for the unused tracks.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.