Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:09 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
Welcome to BRTracks

BRTracks is a Rail Replacement Set based on British Railways, designed to used in conjunction with BRTrains.

Graphics and Coding by Leanden & Gwyd.

Attachment:
BRTracks.png
BRTracks.png [ 5.91 KiB | Viewed 1391 times ]


Planned 16 Railtypes:

SAAN - Urban Line Rail (75mph)
SBAN - Branch Line Rail (100mph)
RAIL - Main Line Rail (125mph)
SAA3 - Urban Line 3rd Rail (75mph)
SBA3 - Branch Line 3rd Rail (100mph)
SAAE - Urban Line OHLE Rail (75mph)
SBAE - Branch Line OHLE Rail (100mph)
SCAE - Main Line OHLE Rail (125mph)
SDAE - High Speed OHLE Rail (143mph)
ELRL - High Speed OHLE Rail (186mph)
SAAZ - Urban Line Dual Rail (75mph)
SBAZ - Branch Line Dual Rail (100mph)
SCAZ - Main Line Dual Rail (125mph)
SAA4 - Underground 4th Rail (70mph)
NRAN - Narrow Gauge Rack Rail (20mph)
MGLV - Low Speed Maglev Rail (30mph)

_________________
Image


Last edited by Leanden on Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4417
Location: Standing by the jams
Dual tracks, don't work, can't remember exactly why. :roll:

IIRC it's the way compatibility is implemented in railtypes spec. :twisted: Same issue crops up for other train sets (reported by george in Flyspray), and for NotRoadTypes. https://bugs.openttd.org/task/5006

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Last edited by andythenorth on Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:46 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5105
You should really use the Standardized Railtype Scheme, no need to invent even more exotic railtype labels:

RLOW - Urban Line Rail (75mph) -> SUAN (non electrified)
RMED - Branch Line Rail (100mph) -> SBAN
RHIG - Main Line Rail (125mph) -> SCAN

3LOW - Urban Line 3rd Rail (75mph) -> SUA3 (electrified)
3MED - Branch Line 3rd Rail (100mph) -> SBA3

ELOW - Urban Line OHLE Rail (75mph) -> SUAE (electrified)
EMED - Branch Line OHLE Rail (100mph) -> SBAE
EHIG - Main Line OHLE Rail (125mph) -> SCAE

HSTR - High Speed Rail (143mph) -> SDAN (non electrified)
HST1 - High Speed Rail (186mph) -> SEAN

MTRO - Underground 4th Rail (70mph) -> SSA4
NRAN - Narrow Gauge Rack Rail (20mph)
MGLV - Low Speed Maglev Rail (30mph)

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
They arent exotic, they are the same 4 character codes used by both Nutracks and Japanese Rails.

https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/RailtypeLabels

Dual tracks work fine in NuTracks, i think its more of a train construction issue if you set it to use both by default.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5105
Leanden wrote:
[railtype labels]
They arent exotic, they are the same 4 character codes used by both Nutracks and Japanese Rails.

Yeah. Those ARE exotic.

Leanden wrote:

That list is heavily outdated.


Did you even read FooBar´s article?

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:24 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4417
Location: Standing by the jams
Leanden wrote:
Dual tracks work fine in NuTracks, i think its more of a train construction issue if you set it to use both by default.

Which NuTracks version and which train newgrf did you test with? I want to have a look, might influence some questions about spec, cheers. ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
BRTrains, the 395 is Dual Voltage, i couldnt pin point a psrticular version of nutracks tho.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4417
Location: Standing by the jams
Ok crossed wires by me, the dual is 3rd-rail + catenary? Rather than mixed gauge?

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
Sorry indeed, dual voltage :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 11:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:35 pm
Posts: 1271
Location: Here and there, sometime or another
Leanden wrote:
They arent exotic, they are the same 4 character codes used by both Nutracks and Japanese Rails.
NuTracks doesn't use them anymore, and they should really be removed from that page. I would do it, but can't get into the TT Wiki right now.

_________________
--- Licenses: GNU LGPL, version 2 or newer, code and graphics. CC-By-SA, graphics, alternatively. If you're using any, I'd like to hear about it --- Call them "track types" ---
--- Mostly inactive developer for: NuTracks - Central European Train Set --- Running/compiling for: Linux (x86) - Android - Windows (32/64 bit) ---

--- Need a file packer? 7-Zip --- BOINC - use your computing power to benefit science --- Block trackers, not ads --- Unix in dispersible pellets, the formula for the future. ---


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5105
oberhümer wrote:
NuTracks doesn't use them anymore, and they should really be removed from that page. I would do it, but can't get into the TT Wiki right now.

Same here.

DBRails does use labels from the Standardized Railtype Scheme, and those outdated labels should really be removed from that page. I would do it, but can't get into the TT Wiki as well.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
Thats fair, ill change to the standard type then.

Im debating whether instead of speed, i should use RA numbers.

Or perhaps both as a parameter.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
First post updated.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
So the set is planned to have 6 different modes as below, BRTrains will be compatible with all of these modes as well.

Attachment:
IMG_7915.JPG
IMG_7915.JPG [ 111.13 KiB | Viewed 1070 times ]


Ive also been testing several types of ballast:

Attachment:
IMG_7913.JPG
IMG_7913.JPG [ 37.48 KiB | Viewed 1070 times ]


Ballast type 4 won a closed vote, but others will be included for other purposes.

Attachment:
IMG_7914.JPG
IMG_7914.JPG [ 44.9 KiB | Viewed 1070 times ]

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:01 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:08 am
Posts: 1015
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Was gonna say ballast number 4 looks the business. :))

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:13 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 7:45 pm
Posts: 145
Location: North Staffordshire
Forgive me for asking this but how does this proposed GRF differ to UK finescale tracks GRF?
Speaking of UK Finescale Tracks GRF, I get dual voltage tracks between 1910 and 1920 when I use the GRF with UKRS2


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:47 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 289
Location: S.W. London
Did UK finescale ever plan to add 4th rail, obscure voltages (such as 6.5kv DC), other gauges, high speed track... And actually try to use 16 track types. I'm not complaining about UKFS: it always had a different aim to BRTracks so this is to be expected

_________________
Image

https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=76619&p=1188249#p1188249


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 10:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
Indeed, BRTracks will have a much greater variety of railtypes available, and BRTrains will be set up to utilise these additional track types.

In the default historic setting there will be your usual Standard, 3rd Rail, 25kV OHLE and Dual Voltage rails, but there will also be Broad Gauge, Dual Gauge, Narrow Gauge, Narrow Gauge with Rack, 6.25kV OHLE, 1500V DC OHLE, 4th Rail, Bottom Contact Third Rail, 600V Third Rail and finally British Maglev track.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
Started drawing up new signals as planned below.

(Not final version)


Attachments:
IMG_8003.JPG
IMG_8003.JPG [ 29.08 KiB | Viewed 765 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2517
Location: Kent
Released v0.0.1 on Bananas

A very simply NewGRF to showcase the graphics.

_________________
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.