Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:31 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1971
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Wallyweb and I started making a bridge set.

The set will basically be common bridges that are in use in Australia and have been seen in other parts of the world.

It a steel girder bridge commonly seen in many countries. The railways never to my knowledge paint their bridges .. hence the rusty look.

The Road Traffic Authority painted their bridges with a grey rust proof paint .. hence the grey road bridges. The road bridges can be placed side by side as shown here so look good for busy highways.

I tested it with Total Bridge Renewal and Urban Transit System Bridge and placed it after both of these and it works fine. Did not work when I placed it before them.

This issue only has one bridge at the moment .. the steal girder bridge.
Attachment:
AuzBridges_SteelGirders.png
AuzBridges_SteelGirders.png [ 597.95 KiB | Viewed 2527 times ]

I tested it with NuTracks and unfortunate there is a white dot top of ramp not noticed when making the set. Haven't tested at moment with other track sets see if same problem.

CREDITS:

"AuzBridges"
"GarryG's Australian Bridge Set"
"© 2016 GarryG"
"Coded by Walter Bamberger (wallyweb)"
"Code suggestion by OzTrans"
"Bridge tables by FooBar"

also had help from Quast65 for finding faults for us during construction.

Visit http://www.simuscape.net/simutalk/viewt ... &start=520 for more info.

Those who like to try:

Attachment:
AuzBridges.grf [42.16 KiB]
Downloaded 117 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Last edited by GarryG on Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1971
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Other bridges in the pipeline:
Attachment:
construction site4.png
construction site4.png [ 9.46 KiB | Viewed 2526 times ]


The bridge with the trestles .. The trestles will be objects that can be placed under the bridge to get that effect.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1971
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Found a few problems with the steel girder rail bridge.

Problem with the pillars at each end of the bridge when it is more then 1 level higher.

And the catenary poles sticks out the bottom of the bridge .. which means the bridge isn't wide enough.

Default bridges and TBR sets are 20 pixels wide. Mine is only 14 wide. So need to buy some more steal to widen it.

EDIT:

I got my thinking cap on .. my steal girder bridge based on this design.
Attachment:
railroad-steel-girder-bridge.png
railroad-steel-girder-bridge.png [ 91 KiB | Viewed 2435 times ]


What if I leave the tracks narrow like they are, but only widen the pillars and the steal girder sections. As can see by this pic the girders are wider then the rails.

Maybe could make pillars default width of 20 if like.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1547
Location: Russia, Samara
Gorgeous set of bridges. I really like it. Looking forward to the next update. I wish you luck and success in development. Well done. :))

What types of bridges are you planning to add? How many bridges? These bridges will be replaced as standard with the same restrictions on speed?

_________________
STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1971
Location: Newcastle, Australia
STD wrote:
Gorgeous set of bridges. I really like it. Looking forward to the next update. I wish you luck and success in development. Well done. What types of bridges are you planning to add? How many bridges? These bridges will be replaced as standard with the same restrictions on speed?


Thanks pal .. only plan to make a few types that are in common use on most railway systems.

The steel girder working on now.
Wooden Bridge (2nd and 3rd from left shown above) .. and make the trestle objects (4th from left) so can have that effect if like under the wooden bridges.
1st on left above often seen where railway crosses roads .. brick pylons and abutments with iron spans between the pylons.
Concrete bridges .. haven't tried to design these yet .. These not be very long in length as mainly for crossing culverts, causeways and creeks .. hope these be similar to the culvert in the object sets.

Haven't sort of speed limits yet, but nearly all wooden bridges in my country have a 60 km/ph speed, and many steel girder have 80. So maybe do same. Concrete bridges will have maximum speeds what ever that is.

Hope can use them with the default bridges or TBR Sets .. these will replace the first 5 or 6 in those sets. Hope the Tied Arch, Truss Bridge, Viaduct and the Suspension bridges from TBR can still be used.

See if I can find some pics display her of bridges I like to try design.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 4:16 am 
Online
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:39 pm
Posts: 158
Location: The Granite City.
GarryG wrote:
Wallyweb and I started making a bridge set.

The set will basically be common bridges that are in use in Australia and have been seen in other parts of the world.

It a steel girder bridge commonly seen in many countries. The railways never to my knowledge paint their bridges .. hence the rusty look.

The Road Traffic Authority painted their bridges with a grey rust proof paint .. hence the grey road bridges. The road bridges can be placed side by side as shown here so look good for busy highways.

I tested it with Total Bridge Renewal and Urban Transit System Bridge and placed it after both of these and it works fine. Did not work when I placed it before them.

This issue only has one bridge at the moment .. the steal girder bridge.
AuzBridges_SteelGirders.png
I tested it with NuTracks and unfortunate there is a white dot top of ramp not noticed when making the set. Haven't tested at moment with other track sets see if same problem.

CREDITS:

"AuzBridges"
"GarryG's Australian Bridge Set"
"© 2016 GarryG"
"Coded by Walter Bamberger (wallyweb)"
"Code suggestion by OzTrans"
"Bridge tables by FooBar"

also had help from Quast65 for finding faults for us during construction.

Visit http://www.simuscape.net/simutalk/viewt ... &start=520 for more info.

Those who like to try:

AuzBridges.grf

On the subject of Painting bridges , not far from me is one of the most famous bridges in the world , Painting of the bridge is a never ending task until a new type of paint was applied , here is a newspaper article from 2011 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... years.html.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 5:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1971
Location: Newcastle, Australia
GarryG wrote:
On the subject of Painting bridges , not far from me is one of the most famous bridges in the world , Painting of the bridge is a never ending task until a new type of paint was applied , here is a newspaper article from 2011


Nice story ..

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1547
Location: Russia, Samara
GarryG wrote:
STD wrote:
Gorgeous set of bridges. I really like it. Looking forward to the next update. I wish you luck and success in development. Well done. What types of bridges are you planning to add? How many bridges? These bridges will be replaced as standard with the same restrictions on speed?


...

See if I can find some pics display her of bridges I like to try design.

It will be interesting to see pictures of bridges. Waiting for these photos. I think that you will succeed in this project :))

Thanks for the detailed response to the questions. And you now are developing a set of bridges or other projects is also doing? :)
Are you planning to make a set of roads of Australia (AuzRoads) such as the American set of roads (ARRS)?

_________________
STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1971
Location: Newcastle, Australia
STD wrote:
See if I can find some pics display her of bridges I like to try design.


Never got chance yet to find those bridge pics as had a lot of power brownouts and blackouts here today .. 5 in total lasting a few minutes to over an hour.

STD wrote:
Are you planning to make a set of roads of Australia (AuzRoads) such as the American set of roads (ARRS)?


Not really as the UK Roads are good enough for Australia as much the same.

Would like eventually try do some railway lines .. Basically Main Line, Branch Line and sidings. High speed be shinny on top and slower the speed make them not so shinny to a rusty look .. but that idea is months away .. most likely be in the new year.

Having a few minor problems with the steel girder bridges .. hope have them right soon.

They need to be a bit wider to cater for the catenary and a glitch with the pylons.
Attachment:
Auz_Rail_Steel20widepylons2.png
Auz_Rail_Steel20widepylons2.png [ 7.18 KiB | Viewed 2238 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.