"Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3100
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Emperor Jake » 01 Feb 2019 12:05

andythenorth wrote:Train #6 won't be going anywhere quickly, under-powered ;)
I realised that too late... but on the other hand I love that this set doesn't complain no matter what you couple together :P
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17209
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Dave » 01 Feb 2019 23:29

Emperor Jake wrote:It's NewCC compatible too!

Also I couldn't wait for tonight's nightly so I compiled it myself :D

Image
Filth!!! :lol:
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Kevo00 » 01 Feb 2019 23:31

Hebburn electro-horses.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-02-01 at 23.14.44.png
Screen Shot 2019-02-01 at 23.14.44.png (279.74 KiB) Viewed 2844 times

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5044
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 02 Feb 2019 07:51

Diesel Power wrote:My trains are up to 20 tiles long. I'm only in 1930, so might just be the early ones
I dug a bit deeper on these running costs being wrong, there is a bug. :D

Sometimes 'Medium' wagons cost 2x more than 'Small'. They should only cost 1.5x more.

I think it's caused by how OpenTTD handles base costs when the amounts are very small. Fixing.

Auge
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 388
Joined: 23 Oct 2006 02:07
Location: Berlin

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Auge » 03 Feb 2019 11:53

Hello

I started testing and encountered a misalignment with my very first train. It's a narrow gauge 264 Bean Beast with open wagons on a termites track. The Iron Horse version is 2.0.0 alpha 4.
iron-horse-2-misalignment.png
iron-horse-2-misalignment.png (20.45 KiB) Viewed 2726 times
Tschö, Auge

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5044
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 05 Feb 2019 08:36

Iron Horse 2 Alpha 5 is now on bananas, or http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/iron-horse/releases/


*Changes from 2.0.0 Alpha 4*

- no savegame compatibility with 2.0.0 Alpha 4

- rebalanced all buy costs and run costs
- engines now generally cost more to buy
- smaller engines generally cost more to run
- larger engines generally cost less to run
- fixed a bug where medium wagons cost 2x as much as small wagons, instead of 1.5x

- fixed cargo payment bonus for luxury passenger cars
- now implemented as a penalty for long delivery times on standard passenger cars and passenger railcars
- for long delivery times, the luxury cars will pay significantly more
- the effect will only show up on routes longer than about 64 tiles (depending on speed of train)

- added support for DMU/EMU livery (company colour) settings, available in OpenTTD nightlies from Feb 2019
- removed gen 6 Express Car, over-provided with express and mail cars at that point
- tweaked some engine weights for balance
- updated translations from web translators

peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1646
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by peter1138 » 06 Feb 2019 12:24

andythenorth wrote:- added support for DMU/EMU livery (company colour) settings, available in OpenTTD nightlies from Feb 2019
Not quite, DMU/EMU schemes were in liveries from when the liveries feature was added in 2006...
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by acs121 » 06 Feb 2019 16:28

andythenorth wrote:- no savegame compatibility with 2.0.0 Alpha 4
Dave's gonna be mad at you for always having to restart his games. :twisted:

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5044
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 07 Feb 2019 21:35

Iron Horse 2.0.0-Alpha-6 now on bananas.

This one doesn't break 2.0.0-Alpha-5 savegames.

Please report any misaligned vehicles, they should all be now correct, cheers.

*Changes from 2.0.0 Alpha 5*

- fixed vehicle sprite offsets
- updated translations from web translators

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Kevo00 » 07 Feb 2019 22:55

Whoa they are coming thick and fast. Will have a go as soon as I can!

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5044
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 08 Feb 2019 22:10

Running costs from Alpha 4 are looking a bit high.

I'm playing a game, pax trains make easy money, freight doesn't.

I did test before releasing but eh. Might tweak.

Comments?

EDIT: I've reduced costs a bit across the board, and more for freight engines and wagons. Also reduced pax capacity a bit on coaches. See how that goes. New alpha coming soon.

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Kevo00 » 09 Feb 2019 18:50

I was struggling a bit with freight costs on A4, thought I could make money with coal but struggled a bit.

rowdog
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 61
Joined: 24 May 2017 12:51
Location: East Texas

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by rowdog » 09 Feb 2019 20:38

I struggled a bit with a freight game using A4. In fact, I failed on the first start because my line was too long. I remember thinking at the time that you had changed your philosophy on running costs. All of which is a convoluted way of saying: yes, I agree that A4 is a bit harsh.


User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Kevo00 » 13 Feb 2019 22:48

A6 seems a tiny bit easier.

Needs the right balance because I think it probably is too easy to make silly money in OTTD, but at the same time you don't want it to be too difficult to get started.

stb
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 29
Joined: 20 Sep 2013 20:26

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by stb » 14 Feb 2019 00:06

Anybody play with day length patches?
I play with 10x factor, so running costs are impossible to beat.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5044
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 14 Feb 2019 15:24

Iron Horse 2.0.0 Alpha 7 is now on bananas, or http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/iron-horse/releases/

*Changes from 2.0.0 Alpha 6*

- no savegame compatibility with previous 2.0.0 Alpha releases

- rebalanced (again) all run costs compare to 2.0.0 Alpha 6
- most vehicles now cost less to run,
- a small number of vehicles now cost more to run, generally these are passenger vehicles with very high earning potential
- play-tested in detail with medium cost settings (and FIRS cargo payment rates)

- reduced passenger vehicle capacities for balance

- set cargo aging period for metro trains
- these are very profitable on short routes (up to about 16 tiles), if fully loaded
- but profitability will fall on longer routes

- improved the appearance of passenger vehicle sprites when doors are open for loading/unloading

- updated translations from web translators

Dr. B. Ching
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 14 May 2011 10:58
Location: Sausagewood

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Dr. B. Ching » 15 Feb 2019 07:20

stb wrote:Anybody play with day length patches?
I play with 10x factor, so running costs are impossible to beat.
Yeah, the automatic scaling can be problematic for quite a few vehicle newGRFs. The easiest solution is to adjust running costs to your liking with the BaseCosts Mod.

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Kevo00 » 17 Feb 2019 14:10

A bit of testing with A7 on a rebooted version of the classic West Country scenario - things seem to be running pretty well as far as I can see. I have Termite on.
Attachments
Dragon roaring into Wales off the Severn Bridge.
Dragon roaring into Wales off the Severn Bridge.
Screen Shot 2019-02-16 at 19.16.41.png (184.99 KiB) Viewed 1229 times
Emerging from a tunnel under the M4.
Emerging from a tunnel under the M4.
Screen Shot 2019-02-16 at 19.19.25.png (154.95 KiB) Viewed 1229 times
Screen Shot 2019-02-12 at 21.26.30.png
A Scooby Slammer heads for Weymouth.
(452 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests