TARS Towns development

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply

How should Fraenklie's buildings be used? [see Page 7 discussion]

Yes, use them in large towns and use the TARS buildings in the villages
19
58%
Yes, chuck yours and Fraenklie's buildings together for all towns
14
42%
Well, I like his buildings but yours suck. Can I have a set of just his?
0
No votes
Leave them out of this set completely.
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 33

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by SwissFan91 » 11 Aug 2012 21:59

kamnet wrote:
SwissFan91 wrote:Drawing the construction stages are rather tiresome as it is, as are the 1-3 snow transitions.
So, don't draw them. :P Seriously, the end building is the only thing that most people will care about and time goes by so fast in TTD that in most cases you're not going to appreciate the building stages anyhow. Draw it later when you're bored and want to make the set more in-depth.
Very true. It's certainly great seeing some of the buildings in game! Even if it means redrawing them all if they look ridiculous in game... it's great to have a grf!
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7412
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by Eddi » 11 Aug 2012 22:25

just draw some basic construction site that you use for all buildings and all construction stages.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by SwissFan91 » 11 Aug 2012 22:47

Eddi wrote:just draw some basic construction site that you use for all buildings and all construction stages.
To be honest, I'd rather make them all unique, even if it takes ages.
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

MorphiusFaydal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 31
Joined: 02 Nov 2008 23:19
Location: Texas

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by MorphiusFaydal » 13 Aug 2012 21:10

Are you still looking for a coder?

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by SwissFan91 » 13 Aug 2012 22:22

Yoshi is lending a very skilled hand to the coding at the moment. How are your coding skills?
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

MorphiusFaydal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 31
Joined: 02 Nov 2008 23:19
Location: Texas

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by MorphiusFaydal » 13 Aug 2012 22:35

I don't know if I'm qualified to call my self "very skilled" As I think I'm great. :-P But seriously I just started learning NML, although I've been coding using various languages for years. Objectively, I would call myself talented. If you want, I can put together an example built on your sprites, and y'all can see if you want me to do more.

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by SwissFan91 » 13 Aug 2012 23:00

Well, obviously I am very grateful for your interest! I cannot, however, alienate Yoshi as he is doing a great job. I suppose I shall have to keep you in limbo until Yoshi can take the coding as far as he can.

You wait ages of a coder and then two come along at once!
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

MorphiusFaydal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 31
Joined: 02 Nov 2008 23:19
Location: Texas

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by MorphiusFaydal » 13 Aug 2012 23:08

SwissFan91 wrote:Well, obviously I am very grateful for your interest! I cannot, however, alienate Yoshi as he is doing a great job. I suppose I shall have to keep you in limbo until Yoshi can take the coding as far as he can.

You wait ages of a coder and then two come along at once!
No worries. :-)

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: TARS Town Set [On hold; Coder required]

Post by Purno » 14 Aug 2012 12:28

Epic graphics here. Looking good. I recognize the building style from my holidays in Switzerland. Seeing the buildings brings back memories. I'm looking forward using these buildings in a nice arctic scenario :mrgreen:
SwissFan91 wrote:You wait ages of a coder and then two come along at once!
Your topic title is outdated. :mrgreen:
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by SwissFan91 » 14 Aug 2012 17:34

Purno wrote:Epic graphics here. Looking good. I recognize the building style from my holidays in Switzerland. Seeing the buildings brings back memories. I'm looking forward using these buildings in a nice arctic scenario :mrgreen:
Thanks! Hopefully you'll use some nice TARS objects when they become available! :)
Purno wrote:
SwissFan91 wrote:You wait ages of a coder and then two come along at once!
Your topic title is outdated. :mrgreen:
Changed!
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

MorphiusFaydal
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 31
Joined: 02 Nov 2008 23:19
Location: Texas

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by MorphiusFaydal » 14 Aug 2012 17:49

SwissFan91 wrote:
Purno wrote:Epic graphics here. Looking good. I recognize the building style from my holidays in Switzerland. Seeing the buildings brings back memories. I'm looking forward using these buildings in a nice arctic scenario :mrgreen:
Thanks! Hopefully you'll use some nice TARS objects when they become available! :)
I too look forward to using these graphics in the future. I think they look great... Never played arctic myself, but these could convince me otherwise!

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by SwissFan91 » 14 Aug 2012 18:08

It's good to know they're appreciated! If you (or anyone else) want any specific chalet buildings drawn, send me as many photos of it as possible and I'll see what I can do!
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
SkiddLow
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 300
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 00:44
Location: Surabaya

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by SkiddLow » 14 Aug 2012 21:06

And Wait Rainbow House need Code soon Apply to TARS Town Set.
Rainbow House.jpg
(200.06 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
(Everybody) SkiddLow's Back, alright.

My Screenshots

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by V453000 :) » 15 Aug 2012 11:58

COLOURS!!!
ImageImageImage

User avatar
YNM
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3542
Joined: 22 Mar 2012 11:10
Location: West Java

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by YNM » 15 Aug 2012 13:30

SkiddLow wrote:And Wait Rainbow House need Code soon Apply to TARS Town Set.
I think those shops is already drawn in Swedish House Set ?
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?
「ヨーッスノットマイン」も合うでしょう。

Yoshi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 278
Joined: 21 Dec 2010 17:24

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by Yoshi » 19 Aug 2012 17:19

Here are some buildings which are coded yet:

Now the cows can eat green grass in alpine areas :)
Image

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5269
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by michael blunck » 19 Aug 2012 17:39

Yikes! What sort of contagious disease did attack those poor houses? :cool:

regards
Michael
Image

Yoshi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 278
Joined: 21 Dec 2010 17:24

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by Yoshi » 19 Aug 2012 17:47

Snowpox :D


@mb: I made an OpenGFX-Alpine-Climate :)

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by SwissFan91 » 19 Aug 2012 18:06

michael blunck wrote:Yikes! What sort of contagious disease did attack those poor houses? :cool:

regards
Michael
I'm addressing that. I guess it's better to draw big lumps of snow during the snow transition. Has anyone got any tips on doing so?
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
Bob_Mackenzie
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 823
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 13:36

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found]

Post by Bob_Mackenzie » 19 Aug 2012 18:16

perhaps make the spots light grey rather than pure white?

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests