Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next

How should Fraenklie's buildings be used? [see Page 7 discussion]
Yes, use them in large towns and use the TARS buildings in the villages 53%  53%  [ 17 ]
Yes, chuck yours and Fraenklie's buildings together for all towns 47%  47%  [ 15 ]
Well, I like his buildings but yours suck. Can I have a set of just his? 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Leave them out of this set completely. 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes: 32
Author Message
 Post subject: TARS Towns development
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 11:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
]Well, I've drawn something, so I shall start the Town Set.

It's a church, mostly based on this, from Saas-Fee, Switzerland.

Comments welcome.

License: CC-BY

[EDIT] Shadow increased on spire roof, thanks to PM.

[EDIT2] Touched up, thanks to SAC.

[EDIT3] Made into a 1x1 square.

[EDIT4] Need a coder - PM for details


Attachments:
saas fee church.png
saas fee church.png [ 2.19 KiB | Viewed 13299 times ]

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Last edited by SwissFan91 on Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:05 am, edited 10 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
OK, here's another WIP, from mainly this. Thought I might get a bit more interest here..

[EDIT] Improved.
[EDIT2] Frontage done.
[EDIT3] Small edit. Made into a 2x1 square.


Attachments:
apartment centre.png
apartment centre.png [ 2.03 KiB | Viewed 13299 times ]

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Last edited by SwissFan91 on Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:09 am, edited 3 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:33 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7162
SwissFan91 wrote:
Thought I might get a bit more interest here..

Don't expect that 20 people comment on every single sprite.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
Eddi wrote:
SwissFan91 wrote:
Thought I might get a bit more interest here..

Don't expect that 20 people comment on every single sprite.

I won't.

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:28 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Church is nice. The green roof is a bit too green though I think. From the picture it looks to be a corroded copper roof, which is a much more subtle green. The pale greens 60 through 67 would be much better I think, and then the lighter shades of that. Also some light/dark colour variations to the walls would make it look more interesting, maybe slightly darker around the bottom edge is enough.

The shape of the house is good, but it obviously needs some texture all around.

And don't forget snowy versions!

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Kent
The apartment block is good, but something bugs me about the church which atm makes it look like lego to me.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:57 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:24 pm
Posts: 278
Maybe it's caused by the contrast


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
Hmmm, I know what you mean, Leaden. Thank you for your kind words, and Foobar.

Here's another one, based on this. Still early stages mind, and I haven't attempted any noise on any graphics so far.


Attachments:
apartment 2.png
apartment 2.png [ 1.85 KiB | Viewed 13653 times ]

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 12:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
This will remain my mock-up post, and I'll edit it as I put new buildings into it.

NB - The cable car station is a WIP newobject, and yes I know it is very bland, I have only worked on one wall so far.

[EDIT] New mockup.


Attachments:
mockup2.png
mockup2.png [ 76.13 KiB | Viewed 13299 times ]

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Last edited by SwissFan91 on Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 42
I realy love the idea of this set , but imho the buildings need some sort of "distortion" so it fits in with the pixelated style of ttd.

Right now it somewhat reminds me of the 32bpp extra zoom graphics.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Kent
The fact that the mock-up has been done on extra zoom probably doesnt help either.

Instead of zooming the map to make it match the size of your sprites, you should be drawing that sprites to their actual proper scale.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
I agree. The colours will be sorted out when the TTD palette is applied to the building (once I know how to get the OTTD palette in paint.net :( )

As for the zoom, I just did it hastily, so I knew it wasn't brilliant.

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Kent
I could never get my head around Paint.net for palletes. I use GIMP instead.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
As far as I understood last time I checked paint.net can't work with fixed file palettes. So you need a more advanced graphics editor to do that. GIMP is fine (check the graphics tutorial at tt-wiki for instructions).

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7162
Paint.NET is something different than windows paint. it should have enough support for palettes.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
I know, but trust me I checked both the program and the internet without result.

If you know how to work with palettes in paint.net please add some instructions here: http://www.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Save_paletted_image_files


@SwissFan91: if you like you can still use paint.net for drawing and only GIMP or something to apply the palette to the file.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7162
i have never used paint.net myself, but you hear quite frequently that people actually use it for grf development.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:07 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9040
Location: Sol d
Eddi wrote:
i have never used paint.net myself, but you hear quite frequently that people actually use it for grf development.


That doesn't mean that those sprites actually have the proper palette. Only that they use the proper colours.
DanMacK and myself have jointly tried to teach his Paint.net to save proper palettes - but we've failed.

So if someone indeed knows better, proper directions how to teach it to reliably use the TTD palette in the place FooBar linked would be welcome. Otherwise I'll also have to continue to consider it a programme not well suitable.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:10 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4672
Location: home
Random idea: Did you try loading an 8bpp image (displaying the palette in the image), and use that as base for your editing?
As long as you leave the picture of the entire palette in the image, you should keep those colours in the palette.

You do have to check
- Does the program really save again an indexed image?
- Does the program keep the index values intact?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: TARS Town Set
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:12 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9040
Location: Sol d
Alberth wrote:
Random idea: Did you try loading an 8bpp image (displaying the palette in the image), and use that as base for your editing?
As long as you leave the picture of the entire palette in the image, you should keep those colours in the palette.

You do have to check
- Does the program really save again an indexed image?
- Does the program keep the index values intact?


That way is what we tried. It keeps the palette, but not reliably enough, i.e. dropped it under some circumstances. Which exactly I don't recall, it's only 2nd hand info here anyway :-9

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew350 and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.