Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu May 25, 2017 2:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 224 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 512 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [OTTD] OpenGFX+ Airports
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Primary goal of this project is to make all airports snow/desert aware. For this I'm using the OpenGFX graphics as base. Later it might be extended with alternative airport graphics like in Combined Airport Set V0.5 but that is only if somebody else draws the graphics. I'll code this set and if nobody else wants to help I'm going to draw it, but I'm not very good with graphics and I know there are several people here that can make a lot better graphics then I can, so I'd like some help there. The set will be licensed as GPL v2.

First nightly can be found here: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/airports ... ly-r10.zip
Only the small airport is done, the small buildings don't have snow on there roofs yet and the building on the intercontinental (=copy from small airport) is bugged.

If someone wants to create 32bpp (extra zoom level) graphics then I'm willing to code these too, but in that case only if all graphics for one airport in all climates are completed.

Thanks to openttdcoop for provinding the reposity, devzone link: http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/airportsplus


Last edited by Yexo on Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
The first release (0.1.0) is now available via bananas, you need at least nightly 19206 to use it, 1.0.0-RC2 doesn't work.
Current status:
Small airport completely done
Ground tiles from all other airports done
All buildings (except those from the small airport) don't have snow yet in arctic above the snowline.

Help with creating snow covered buildings for the other airports is greatly appreciated.


Attachments:
snow-airport.png
snow-airport.png [ 175.13 KiB | Viewed 22386 times ]
desert-airport.png
desert-airport.png [ 54.75 KiB | Viewed 22386 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:05 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 7:30 pm
Posts: 896
Location: West Sussex, England
Looks really good

_________________
The TT forums trivia tournament! Come along and join in the fun
http://www.funtrivia.com/private/main.cfm?tid=90722


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:36 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 688
Yexo wrote:
If someone wants to create 32bpp (extra zoom level) graphics then I'm willing to code these too, but in that case only if all graphics for one airport in all climates are completed.

we are trying to complete them too but latter its will be only a matter of few seconds changing the texture to a "snowy" ones :D

btw i hope you working on this doesnt mean you abandoning the newgrf airports project as i had big hopes for it :bow:

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:38 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 3008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Yexo wrote:
you need at least nightly 19206 to use it

What's in r19206 that is necessary to use the GRF?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 6908
support for newgrf airporttiles, which will not be part of 1.0.0 [major new feature]

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:48 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 688
Eddi wrote:
support for newgrf airporttiles

finally :P

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
neob wrote:
Yexo wrote:
If someone wants to create 32bpp (extra zoom level) graphics then I'm willing to code these too, but in that case only if all graphics for one airport in all climates are completed.

we are trying to complete them too but latter its will be only a matter of few seconds changing the texture to a "snowy" ones :D
That's good to know, as i said before I'm willing to code (=pngencode) those sprites and rename them so they work correctly with this grf, just let me know when you have a complete airport done, preferable in multiple climates.

Quote:
btw i hope you working on this doesnt mean you abandoning the newgrf airports project as i had big hopes for it :bow:
Not at all.

neob wrote:
Eddi wrote:
support for newgrf airporttiles

finally :P
Airporttiles are not airports, support for newgrf airports is not yet in trunk.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:37 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 688
neob wrote:
Eddi wrote:
support for newgrf airporttiles

finally :P
Airporttiles are not airports, support for newgrf airports is not yet in trunk.[/quote]
ahha Airport-tiles... not airporties, like i read it last night...


Yexo wrote:
just let me know when you have a complete airport done, preferable in multiple climates.

we have still some time ahead of us

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 5:03 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:14 am
Posts: 128
Too bright perhaps?


Attachments:
airportTiles.png
airportTiles.png [ 119.57 KiB | Viewed 22075 times ]

_________________
OpenTTD: VAST - station tiles and objects | MICS - urban monorail graphical conversion | Universal Rail Type - easier train replacement


Last edited by zero.eight on Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:51 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Maybe you can make the snow a bit darker indeed but it's an awesome start! :)

If you agree to publish those grahpics under GPL v2 I'd be very happy to include them, but if you prefer to improve them first I'll wait for that.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:22 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 688
no sure if its going to be any help at all but iirc in photoshop there is a color select option
so creating a simple task and applying it to all the building sprites might save some time.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:12 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Trondheim, Norway
zero.eight wrote:
Too bright perhaps?

Warning: there is yellow snow on top of the hangar, please do not eat it.

_________________
Try my modular airports minigame!

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:34 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:14 am
Posts: 128
Yexo wrote:
Maybe you can make the snow a bit darker indeed but it's an awesome start! :)

If you agree to publish those grahpics under GPL v2 I'd be very happy to include them, but if you prefer to improve them first I'll wait for that.

These sprites are slightly darker with a bit of blue to match the recoloured small airport and (most of) the arctic OpenGFX roofs. I'm happy with them as they are, but I don't mind if someone else improves them. Yep, I'm happy to release them under GPL v2.

neob wrote:
no sure if its going to be any help at all but iirc in photoshop there is a color select option
so creating a simple task and applying it to all the building sprites might save some time.

Need Photoshop to do that :P

EDIT: Do you want the offsets for these sprites? It would not be a problem to provide them.
EDIT2: I should mention that the sprites are derived from OpenGFX.


Attachments:
airportTiles2.png
airportTiles2.png [ 69.68 KiB | Viewed 21901 times ]
File comment: License: GPL v2
airportTiles.pcx [19.88 KiB]
Downloaded 153 times

_________________
OpenTTD: VAST - station tiles and objects | MICS - urban monorail graphical conversion | Universal Rail Type - easier train replacement
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Thanks to zero.eight all buildings now have snow on them above the snowline. Some of the bigger airports are somewhat inconsistent with the placement of the fences. See the attached image and let me know what you think. I'm especially unsure on how to work with the intercontinental airport.


Attachments:
airport-fences.png
airport-fences.png [ 168.36 KiB | Viewed 21765 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
yellow lines - why, I think it looks better with fences.

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Kogut wrote:
yellow lines - why, I think it looks better with fences.

Because the intercontinental airport is the only airport with fences before/after the landing strip. Another option is of course to also include fences in those spots for all other airports.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
But why it is wrong to have temperate airport without fences and arctic with? Maybe arctic airports are slippery. :P

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2326
Location: Alberta, Canada
I agree with Yexo, there shouldn't be fences at the end of runways. Full stop.

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 3:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Kogut wrote:
But why it is wrong to have temperate airport without fences and arctic with? Maybe arctic airports are slippery. :P

Those fences have nothing to do with the climate. If I remove or add some fences I'll do that for all climates.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 224 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 512 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Helmar15 and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.