[OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7297
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by kamnet »

Which versions of the NewGRFs are you using? Are you using any other NewGRFs? What version of OpenTTD are you using as well?

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3982
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by NekoMaster »

Usually attempt to use invalid ID sprite errors happen when you try to mix different rail/track grfs. NuTracks and Finescale/UK rails arent compatible. Only use one "new track" grf at a time. NuTracks is compatible with UKRS 2.0 though, but finescale standard gauge looks better for UKRS
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
Maddog45353
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 93
Joined: 26 Jun 2013 09:00

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by Maddog45353 »

I think it's clear UKRS2 and UKRS are dead/obsolete and no longer are maintained.
LoneBlackWolf

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by PikkaBird »

Maddog45353 wrote:I think it's clear UKRS2 and UKRS are dead/obsolete and no longer are maintained.
Why? Who are you replying to? :)

User avatar
Maddog45353
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 93
Joined: 26 Jun 2013 09:00

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by Maddog45353 »

I am only stating the facts cause people are still commenting and not one dev or owner has see or cared for the posts.
LoneBlackWolf

alistairgrew
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Sep 2015 08:06

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by alistairgrew »

Well the dev just replied to your post. Pikka posted a topic a while ago stating he was planning to change direction in regards to his sets. Whilst I (and no doubt others) would love an update to this set. Pikka has kindly provided this set (and therefore his time) for free. Perhaps you could encourage him by writing him a very generous cheque.

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
Last edited by alistairgrew on 15 Nov 2015 10:10, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by PikkaBird »

Maddog45353 wrote:I am only stating the facts cause people are still commenting and not one dev or owner has see or cared for the posts.
The error BW89 reported is not the fault of the set; it's more likely caused by whatever strange version of OpenTTD he's using. Every other recent post just reflects the age of the set, or is idle musing.

The impression I get is that an "update" of the set wouldn't really be appreciated; in any case, for a more recent gameplay-oriented UK set there's Andy's Iron Horse.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7297
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by kamnet »

I don't know what update you could provide other than providing more trains, which is the opposite direction of where your most current set is going. I'm sure many would appreciate more, but I don't think how much more is truly quantifiable.


slaca
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 14 Feb 2010 10:31

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by slaca »

I don't know it's a bug or not but I found it a years ago and nobody had a solution. Trains cannot go faster than 160km/h on Japanese track set. For example Eurostar on high speed rail tracks (3xx km/h)(newest Japanese track set) goes with 160km/h. That's my favourite track set and this is my fav train set but they are not compatible with each other. :(

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7479
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by Eddi »

that is basically impossible to solve, as it requires knowing all track sets in advance. so every time someone makes a new track set, this set will have the problem that either trains choose the lower limit on tracks that should have the higher limit, or the other way around.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17247
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: North London

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by Dave »

Wot Andy said...

That all being true... I'd quite like a v1.05.0.0.0.1 with corrected gravel and clay graphics for the 5 plank wagons :p

But other than that this set is unbeatable. Gimme all Dem Jintys
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

alistairgrew
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Sep 2015 08:06

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by alistairgrew »

The only change that would make this set complete for me would be to change the Hitachi A Train to reflect the final spec of the class 800. But I couldn't figure out how the grf was programmed to make the change myself.

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2393
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by SwissFan91 »

The only change I would make to this set is to include all the UK trains ever made. People pls draw them soon.

But seriously the set is great.
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7479
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by Eddi »

maybe you confuse this with the BROS thread? :p
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2393
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by SwissFan91 »

Eddi wrote:maybe you confuse this with the BROS thread? :p
Steady on Eddi, we don't want to go there!
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects

slaca
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 14 Feb 2010 10:31

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by slaca »

Why are the wagons much higher in curves? Trains look weird in curves.

Image

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7479
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by Eddi »

that's an artifact from the way the game handles curves.

wagons are much longer in curves, so they either must have gaps between them, be generally larger, or be out of proportion.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6691
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by Redirect Left »

alistairgrew wrote:The only change that would make this set complete for me would be to change the Hitachi A Train to reflect the final spec of the class 800. But I couldn't figure out how the grf was programmed to make the change myself.
I'd just like to see some Pacers, 142 and 144 preferably.

Shame I can't draw to save my life, else i'd do some and donate them incase the original author ever decided to do an update.
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 422
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: [OTTD] UKRS2 - Latest version 1.05 (02/01/2013)

Post by arikover »

slaca wrote:Why are the wagons much higher in curves? Trains look weird in curves.

Image
Actually, the trains are not higher in curves, they are lower in straight lines (which incidentally in TTD are diagonal). This is a general drawing habit: most authors draw their diagonal sprites 1 px smaller (sometimes more) than the corresponding horizontal sprites.

From Pikka's blog
Image

Pikka pointed that on his blog, he even showed that doing same height sprites was prettier.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 13 guests