European Roadset - discontinued

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os » 04 Feb 2004 16:39

I am only curious, did you use grdtogrf while creating the grf files?
(Haven't anyone heared that the tool is used anymore and there is only a reference that you used GRFWizard in your text file. )
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 04 Mar 2004 15:11

Here it is, version 1.20. I hope you all enjoy it.

Edit: check for version 1.21 a litte below.
Attachments
Preview.png
(175.38 KiB) Downloaded 857 times
Last edited by Hyronymus on 21 Apr 2004 14:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Darkvater
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3053
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 18:45
Location: Hong Kong

Post by Darkvater » 04 Mar 2004 22:58

That roadset looks pretty sweet :D

I'm gonna give it a try for sure. Great job Hyronymus!!
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."

ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3610
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Post by ChrisCF » 05 Mar 2004 02:51

Nice work, definitely better than the earlier versions :)

On the other side, the lines look a little too well-defined, and there's no sign of the camber of the road (the edges are lower than the middle) - trust me, you can see it from high up - I've worked on the 10th floor before now :)

Of course, if you were to license the set in such a way that I could have presented some changes myself, I would have done already ...
Another thing - before I download them, are there separate sprites for "road", "road with pavement", "tree-lined road" and "road with streetlights"? If so, possibly add yellow lines similar to the original white ones at the edge of the road in the lit areas, to reflect the "thou shalt not park within the city limits" mentality of most local authorities (at least that's the colour they are here - not sure about elsewhere - also, it looks nice and different) :)

User avatar
Arathorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6939
Joined: 30 Nov 2002 17:10

Post by Arathorn » 05 Mar 2004 07:11

I hardly see those yellow lines nowadays. Parking lots make more profit, and most often a road sign is used to declare a non-parking area.

User avatar
Saiyan
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 81
Joined: 09 May 2003 12:16
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by Saiyan » 05 Mar 2004 08:50

Wow! I didn't like pthe previous versions, but this one's simply great!
GREAT WORK!
I think a :bow: is in order...
Saiyan
(TTDPatch Hungarian translator)

"By all means marry. If you get a good wife, you'll be happy. If you get a bad one, you'll become a philosopher." - Socrates

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 05 Mar 2004 16:12

Stop adoring me, it feels funny :lol: .

User avatar
Killer 11
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2451
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 18:38
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Contact:

Post by Killer 11 » 06 Mar 2004 13:39

You say stop i will stop. There's a little graphics glitch in the tropic climate.

WIN version.
Attachments
glitch.PNG
glitch.PNG (7.35 KiB) Viewed 9303 times
Glich2.PNG
Glich2.PNG (5.83 KiB) Viewed 9296 times

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 06 Mar 2004 16:01

Thanks, Killer11. This glitch was known to me, I honestly thought I fixed it already. It's on the todo-list for the first update.

User avatar
Killer 11
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2451
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 18:38
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Contact:

Post by Killer 11 » 06 Mar 2004 16:13

and there's one in the rodveh tunnel in arctic too. "/" direction

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 06 Mar 2004 16:49

Thanks, I'll check the entire sub-tropical climate before submitting the update.

BTW: a glitch in T-junctions with sidewalks is already on my list.

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 08 Apr 2004 09:09

Hyronymus in 'Busses got stuck on exiting the station' topic wrote:A bit OT but don't you think it's time for the newest European Roadset?
Well, It's good BUT:
The base color is much too close to the tileset color in temperate, so hardy distinguishable. Please publish the old version as well, with lines along the roadside. Or make it darker, like Andexx's trafficset.
The other problem is, that it seems to contain half bridges, and overwrites the upgraded cantilever (dowloaded from somwhere here, I don't remember exactly where). Is there a way to correct this?

squishycube
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 329
Joined: 05 Oct 2003 14:51
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Post by squishycube » 11 Apr 2004 07:36

The new version is indeed nice, but I like the cartoonish look of the older versions :)
I heard the stories that they tell of how they labored for this company which sold it's soul to hell

It's my alter ego in my avatar, not me!

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 21 Apr 2004 14:38

Szappy wrote:Well, It's good BUT:
The base color is much too close to the tileset color in temperate, so hardy distinguishable. Please publish the old version as well, with lines along the roadside.
I don't find the base colour hard to distinguish from the tileset in temperate. Old versions can still be downloaded however in the download topic for finished graphics.
Szappy wrote:The other problem is, that it seems to contain half bridges, and overwrites the upgraded cantilever (dowloaded from somwhere here, I don't remember exactly where). Is there a way to correct this?
Not again: that's not my problem that is your problem. I bet you didn't read the readme.txt, otherwise you would've known.

But anyhow, I edited the readme.txt. With some developments in the TTD-cloning world I felt I had to expand the readme.txt. To be clear: there have been no bugfixes yet, but I just wanted the new readme.txt to be included.

Edit: new version released below!
Last edited by Hyronymus on 23 Apr 2004 09:05, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 22 Apr 2004 12:03

Hyronymus wrote:
Szappy wrote:The other problem is, that it seems to contain half bridges, and overwrites the upgraded cantilever (dowloaded from somwhere here, I don't remember exactly where). Is there a way to correct this?
Not again: that's not my problem that is your problem. I bet you didn't read the readme.txt, otherwise you would've known.
Yes, of course it's my problem, but that's why I asked if there is a way to correct this.

'scuse me, but where exacty is anything in the readme about my problem??
I _always_ start by reading the readmes to any file I use (to be clear, I'm not using tempenh, or andrexx's roadset, well at least not until now anyway...)

[edit] in response to Marcel (below):
I don't think I deserve a personal update in the readme file, just a sidenote how to correct this
Last edited by Szappy on 22 Apr 2004 13:09, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Marcel
President
President
Posts: 917
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 15:36
Location: Bochum, Germany

Post by Marcel » 22 Apr 2004 12:14

The best way to avoid further problems like this the roadset should contain also the front part of the bridges, even if there are no changes.

And Szappy is right, his special problem is not listed in the readme, maybe Hyronymus should update his readme file again :lol:

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 23 Apr 2004 09:04

I've just finished version 1.22 of the European Roadset. Here's what has been improved:
  • - Removed all known glitches
    - Added all bridge parts to ensure full bridge drawing
    - Recoded Action 8 + new GRF ID
    - Checked readme.txt's for DOS/Windows confusion
I hope you enjoy it!
Attachments
euroadstw_v1.22.zip
European Roadset for Windows v1.22
(169.85 KiB) Downloaded 547 times
euroadst_v1.22.zip
European Roadset for DOS v1.22
(168.61 KiB) Downloaded 213 times

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 23 Apr 2004 10:45

Thanks! :bow:
I've downloaded it, be back with the results on monday...

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 23 Apr 2004 10:50

My pleasure. Sorry if I ever sounded rude, that wasn't meant that way. I had a bad temper day :evil: .

User avatar
Endre
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1645
Joined: 20 May 2003 17:11
Location: Budapest - Theresienstadt, Hungary

Post by Endre » 25 Apr 2004 11:35

A bug: some bridges don't have pillars...(No pix yet, if you need it, I'll make some next month, when I'll have more time to upload files.)
Indivisibiliter ac inseparabiliter

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests