Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:30 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 209 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 711 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5380
Location: Canada
Excellent work. I highly recommend this product for your standard gauge railroad construction projects.
As an added benefit, the readme alone is well worth the download.

The Wallyweb Railroad Construction Company has a special request. We have undertaken a project to lay some additional track for The White Pass & Yukon Railway. We have shown them your fine product and they were quite impressed to say the least. Unfortunately, they are committed to narrow gauge construction due to their heavy investment in narrow gauge rolling stock. Apparently your product does not accommodate narrow gauge railbeds. Perhaps your engineering department would consider taking up the challenge. It is our understanding that several other rail set providers also support narrow gauge, so once available, your marketing group should find the demand well worth the investment.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:52 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:27 pm
Posts: 143
Location: Netherlands
I have already use this one in my grf set. I like it very much. A real benefit is that you can build on top of the entrance. With the possebilaty to build on slopes next of it its really a practical set!!! I like that very much :bow:


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
wallyweb wrote:
... White Pass & Yukon [narrow gauge] Railway ...

If I have my way, narrow gauge track will be in v0.4 ...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
Re: Narrow guage...
Yeah, I'll try and get permission for narrow guage sprites and will try and sort them for 0.4 as OzTransLtd has mentioned. :) That is just a 'hopefully' at the moment though!

Im glad you liked the readme Wally. I was trying to make it a bit more interesting :)
And Rendall, Im glad you like this set 8)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:46 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 1:13 am
Posts: 119
Location: Eindhoven - Netherlands Ottawa - Canada
Is there a signaling post within the tunnels?!
My trains keep crashing.
Check the save game below (r10641 +use GRF v0.3a)
Check the Traindepot and let both trains go and see what happens! (dont need to use the ignore signals, the tunnels will make this happen ;))


Attachments:
BKtunnelbug.sav [11.7 KiB]
Downloaded 87 times

_________________
To express moral judgments about good and evil, you must posit that good and evil exist
If good and evil exist, you must posit a moral law by which we can distinguish between good and evil
If a moral law exists, a moral law giver must exist.
--Ravi Zacharias
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
shampie wrote:
Is there a signaling post within the tunnels?!
My trains keep crashing.
Check the save game below (r10641 +use GRF v0.3a)
Check the Traindepot and let both trains go and see what happens! (dont need to use the ignore signals, the tunnels will make this happen ;))

Ok, I will try it later, unless OzTransLtd gets here first.

Have you tried that same savegame without the Tunnel GRF loaded as well. Does it do the same with BK Tunnels and with standard tunnels (And no GRF)?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
shampie wrote:
Is there a signalling post within the tunnels?! My trains keep crashing. ...

This tunnel set should definitely not crash your game. It simply replaces tunnel sprites.

In TTDPatch, there are no signals inside tunnels and trains do not crash if they (having been forced into the tunnel with another train already inside) pass each other while completely inside the tunnel. I don't know about OpenTTD.

If that game you are playing is OpenTTD, then there might just be a problem with trains crashing in tunnels. Get r10737 (which fixed such a problem) and try again.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:56 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 1:13 am
Posts: 119
Location: Eindhoven - Netherlands Ottawa - Canada
OzTransLtd wrote:
shampie wrote:
Is there a signalling post within the tunnels?! My trains keep crashing. ...

This tunnel set should definitely not crash your game. It simply replaces tunnel sprites.

In TTDPatch, there are no signals inside tunnels and trains do not crash if they (having been forced into the tunnel with another train already inside) pass each other while completely inside the tunnel. I don't know about OpenTTD.

If that game you are playing is OpenTTD, then there might just be a problem with trains crashing in tunnels. Get r10737 (which fixed such a problem) and try again.


>>should definitely not crash your game,
it doesnt >> My trains keep crashing.

Problem does not occure while using normal tunnel grf. (standard)

_________________
To express moral judgments about good and evil, you must posit that good and evil exist
If good and evil exist, you must posit a moral law by which we can distinguish between good and evil
If a moral law exists, a moral law giver must exist.
--Ravi Zacharias


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:56 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
There is no way that grf could be causing trains to crash. Go complain to the Open devs.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
now, how about tunnels that change over time parameter?
starting with brick/wood then mooving onto concretes/steel(infra, ask sacrro though)

and/or some matching foundations

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
shampie wrote:
Is there a signaling post within the tunnels?!
My trains keep crashing.
Check the save game below (r10641 +use GRF v0.3a)

It is a problem that has been in the last few hundred nightly revisions, I think it was fixed in yesterday's nightly, or possibly today's nightly which should have been compiled about an hour ago.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
Henry, thanks for your suggestions!

m3henry wrote:
...change over time parameter...
Ive thought about this. I will discuss it with OzTransLtd. One problem I can see is that with many construction materials it may lead to complicated parameter settings, but we'll see.
Of course, if you are are an OTTD user, you can change parameters in game, but I know thats not the same.

m3henry wrote:
...steel...(infra, ask sacrro though)
Infra's foundations are on the list. I will try and get permission at some point soon.

m3henry wrote:
...and/or some matching foundations
Have you tried the arctic and tropical ones? :)
I will try and do some foundations to match the concrete and brick portals and all subsequent materials will hopefully all come in pairs too. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
oh, and some stone portals!
if there are stone ones and steel ones, you will need:
P=CxE with 6 options each P=parameters C=climates E=eras

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
m3henry wrote:
... how about tunnels that change over time ...

Possible of course ... but the tunnels already look very modern, then we should have more historic looking ones.

As for parameter settings; we would have 1 for era (e.g. 0-change over time, 1-era 1, 2-era 2 ...), then the 3 parameters for the 3 climates.

Just in case there is a bit of confusion, currently in v0.3a there are 4 different looks, i.e. red brick, wood, white concrete and beige concrete. Each of these is available in all climates, although some of them do not look good in every climate (e.g. white concrete above the snowline). It is your choice what you want to play with.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11890
Location: MK UK
Apologies for the very long delay with the update of the website been a bit busy* Anyway, the new updated page can be found here

Any problems with the webpage pester me, not Ben.

Ben, if you want anything changing/adding/removing you know what to do ;)

*ok, I forgot :oops:

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
Thanks Ameecher, don't worry about it. Looks good! :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 10:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
The following dialogue was not based on real events:

BK Tunnel Client: We are bored...
BK Tunnels team: Why is that?
BK Tunnel Client: Because you haven't updated anything here for a while!
BK Tunnels team: Hmmm... well, what would you like?
BK Tunnel Client: We love the original concrete beige tunnels but they just dont match the foundations. It looks a bit daft sometimes!
BK Tunnels team: Ok, so you'd like some matching foundations?
BK Tunnel Client: Maybe....

BK Construction would like to conduct some market research on our latest development, beige concrete matching foundations for use with our original BK Tunnel portal.
Attachment:
ConFound.png
ConFound.png [ 11.86 KiB | Viewed 2458 times ]
Any initial opinions, please post them here.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:42 pm
Posts: 94
Location: Estonia
I quite like it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11890
Location: MK UK
They look a bit too much like baked mud in my opinion and they don't quite match the tunnel colour. ;)

Also, since when has my name been "BK Tunnel Client" :P

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 4:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
now where did you get those fences, I would really like those, especially if they start off being hedge/stone and then change to stone/hedge and then to fence

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 209 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 711 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.