Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 518 posts ]  Go to page Previous 122 23 24 25 26
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 3:17 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
clarklawson wrote:
I've seen in other peoples saved games that their wagons have a hold capacity of three times the usual load.


What you're describing sounds like the freight weight multiplier option. It doesn't increase the wagons' capacity, just the weight of the freight, so that you need to use the more powerful locomotives for hill climbing and longer trains.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 37
Ah yes that's right, need to figure out how to haul things at different speeds.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Multiple tracks combined with waypoints to point trains on the correct track. Ideally a track is used for one specific speed only, but that's not always very useful in case of low traffic volumes.

Start with one track per direction. When that gets congested, add an extra track and split the trains in two groups, one for the group of slower trains, one for faster trains. As traffic volumes grow, you can add even more tracks. In one of my recent games I have an 8-track (four in each direction) backbone straight across the map. I'm now at a point where even that isn't sufficient so I started to make my trains even longer (14 squares).

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 9:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:59 am
Posts: 37
Location: Dickens Heath, West Midlands, United Kingdom
Hi,

I've played a couple of games with UKRS, and I'd like to start off by saying this is a fantastic set: my heart fluttered when an InterCity 225 left the depot for the first time!

I have a few suggestions below for additional vehicles to reflect the UK rail timeline, and also which I think would enhance the playability for the set. I'd be interested to hear what PikkaBird and others think. Maybe some ideas for things which could go into Project 1000?


1. There is a disparity in the set between diesel and electric until the Class 91 comes out, which partly reflects UK railway history.
How about adding the Class 87 to the set, introduced in the early 1970s, and giving it 110mph speed? Although 110mph running only started in the 1980s, this would close the speed gap between diesel and electric and give another locomotive to play with until the Class 91.

I'd say the same about the Class 90, although it's great to see this proposed for Project 1000.


2. I think a couple of new generation DMUs and EMUs would enhance the set, as the SuperSprinter and Class 321 do get a bit tired. How about Class 170 or Class 172 (either late 1990s or 2009 introduction date?) for diesel, and Class 350 for EMU (c. 2004/5), as examples? Perhaps these could have slightly lower running costs.


Cheers,

Olly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:11 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 260
Location: Sheffield, SY.. Ing-er-land.
Great job on the set, well good.. just a slight problem.. when I fund a new industry, well just a brewery.. its under contruction for years, then it just disapears?

Attachment:
Windhill Railways, 7th Apr 1900.png
Windhill Railways, 7th Apr 1900.png [ 267.67 KiB | Viewed 1966 times ]


Then a year later;

Attachment:
Windhill Railways, 9th Feb 1901.png
Windhill Railways, 9th Feb 1901.png [ 267.05 KiB | Viewed 1966 times ]


There was a brewery there before and I was using it to produce goods, hence the station and trains. Then it shut down for no apparent reason when it was getting good service and producing goods at a high rate. I built another one and its same old.. under construction, vanishes, build another.. etc.

Is there any way to solve this?

_________________
ImageImageImage

James Hetfield.. God..


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:44 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
I seem to remember discussing this somewhere else... possibly earlier in the thread... anyway...

The currently released version of the set can't handle industries built before 1920 (and not built in the scenario editor or by the map generator).

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 12:27 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:27 pm
Posts: 260
Location: Sheffield, SY.. Ing-er-land.
Quote:
I seem to remember discussing this somewhere else... possibly earlier in the thread... anyway...

The currently released version of the set can't handle industries built before 1920 (and not built in the scenario editor or by the map generator).


Ahh that explains it then. Guess I'll be waiting 20 years then and build it again, cheers :)

_________________
ImageImageImage

James Hetfield.. God..


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 11:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:56 am
Posts: 69
Location: Belgium
Hi,

I noticed when running code to get rail engines that can carry mail
the resulting list will contain a few engines less then it should.

Code:
         
local engine_list = AIEngineList(AIVehicle.VT_RAIL);
engine_list.Valuate(AIEngine.CanPullCargo,AICargo.CC_MAIL);
engine_list.KeepValue(1);


Engines missing in the returned engine_list when checking in the year 1945
and only those over reliability of 80% at the time are
- NER 'EF1' (electric) freight
- NER 'EE1' (electric) passengers or freight
- 2-6-4 Tank Engine (steam) express passengers or freight

Those engines are listed as being able to carry freight and if I build them
manually they cause no problems, it's only the CanPullCargo that acts up.


By the way, when looking for this thread I discovered UKRS2 so I'll have
a look at that soon. Looking forward to it! :)

_________________
--------------------------------------------------
MailAI, a casual postal service for openTTD.
--------------------------------------------------


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:50 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
How is "CanPullCargo" defined? I don't see how it can have anything to do with the text hints.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:38 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
It is defined by newgrf. And 2cc had the same problem: viewtopic.php?f=65&t=49096&p=887465&hilit=canpullcargo#p887465

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 8:34 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
How is "CanPullCargo" defined by newgrf?

How does the AI system work out if "the engine can pull wagons carrying this cargo"?

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:06 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9209
Location: Sol d
PikkaBird wrote:
How is "CanPullCargo" defined by newgrf?

How does the AI system work out if "the engine can pull wagons carrying this cargo"?

You have the property 08 AI special flag which allows you to define an engine only suitable for passenger transport. You have no special means to make further distinction, the AIs will have to figure it out themselves by building, and testing a refit, just like human players have to do it, too (except that AIs cannot read any text in the purchase view, thus might need to experiment a bit more). AIs will have a problem with features like the caboose as they have no means to figure out what it does or how to deal with it - unless the author explicitly adds support for that vehicle with that specific newgrf.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:00 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:56 am
Posts: 69
Location: Belgium
I thought it was just a flag you had to set in the grf file but I guess I was wrong.

My current solution involves hardcoding which is not optimal but it works.
in my main.nut
Code:
   good_engines = ["2-6-4 Tank Engine (Steam)","NER 'EE1' (Electric)","NER 'EF1' (Electric)",
      "AEI 'AL1' (Electric)","Sulzer 'Type 2' (Diesel)","Wardale '5AT' (Steam)",
      "EE 'AL6' (Electric)","EMD 'Class 67' (Diesel)"];   


I did include CanRefitCargo as I'm planning on moving mail and this gets those engines in the list as well.
in my RouteManager.nut
Code:
function RouteManager::CanPullCargo(engine,cargo)
{
   if(AIEngine.CanPullCargo(engine,cargo))
   {
      return 1;   
   }
   if(AIEngine.CanRefitCargo(engine,cargo))
   {
      return 1;   
   }
   foreach(name in MailAI.good_engines)
   {
      if(name == AIEngine.GetName(engine))
      {
         return 1;   
      }   
   }
   return 0;
}


So now I just call
Code:
         
engine_list.Valuate(RouteManager.CanPullCargo,AICargo.CC_MAIL);
engine_list.KeepValue(1);



Results are good so far. This does not mean checking to see if wagons can get attached to the
engine is not necessary. A Costar 'Century' (Fuel Cell) will refuse to pull a Covered Carriage Truck
for example (and he's right because it will slow him down from 150mph to 80mph :))

_________________
--------------------------------------------------
MailAI, a casual postal service for openTTD.
--------------------------------------------------


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:18 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:49 am
Posts: 6
Hello Pikka, i tried your links on the first page but both are broken. Can you advise on working links please? Id really like to try your UKRS v3

P.s. on the "check online content" in game there is UK Revival Set (UKRS3) which i presumed wasnt the same so didnt install

Best regards


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:19 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
UKRS1 v3.04 is "UK Renewal Set" in the in-game content download. Do try the UK Revival Set though, it's in active development and I'd welcome feedback. :)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:52 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:49 am
Posts: 6
Oh yes i see it on the online content now thanks, i'll give it a try and also the revival set

Cheers, i already know its going to be great since i enjoyed the two previous versions you released. Great work in advance!! (im proper nostalgic over UK trains since my youth)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 11:01 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:49 am
Posts: 6
Daft question but how come the train names are slightly different from reality? e.g. the SH 125 instead of InterCity 125 etc..


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 11:38 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
sadsack5000 wrote:
Daft question but how come the train names are slightly different from reality? e.g. the SH 125 instead of InterCity 125 etc..


The "SH 125" is an original TTD vehicle, or comes from some other newgrf. Said vehicle is called "BR HST" in UKRS1 and 2, and "InterCity 125" in UKRS3.

Quote:
i enjoyed the two previous versions you released.


This post is about v3.04 of UKRS1. The post and the grf are over 12 years old.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 518 posts ]  Go to page Previous 122 23 24 25 26

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.