Ideas, volume 2

Discuss a Transport Tycoon-like game being programmed by forum users.

Moderator: Transport Empire Moderators

Post Reply
ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3610
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Ideas, volume 2

Post by ChrisCF » 25 Jul 2004 00:52

Here is another thread in which to post ideas. The old list is locked, since all ideas have been plucked from it for some people to write up some design docs. You can see the old list here.

Same old rules apply - every little helps, but do keep the ideas reasonable.
Bugzilla available for use - PM for details.

Indraunt
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 07:57
Location: Canberra

Post by Indraunt » 14 Aug 2004 08:13

I apologise if I repeat anything said before - I'm buggered if I'm reading through 35 pages of suggestions.
Here's my two cents worth.
There should be many options which constitute a difficulty setting, including things like:
-Map size
-Number of cities/industries etc
-Hills/rivers/ocean/etc
-Nations - this would make things trickier. Selecting this option would split the map into several to lots of small nations (Set limits for nations, bigger maps would have quite a few, but smaller maps would only have some). Different nations would have different attitudes towards your company, some could be communist/empirical/etc. Each one would have varying preferences for the type of company they want building on their land. The system would be a bit like that in Railroad Tycoon 2, but more complex.
You could even go as far as having periods of war, where you would get contracts for the transport of arms, governments could take over your rail network and such like.
Little details like different architecture in different nations would make things pretty!
Oh, and different nations may produce different types of engines and the like, accepting supply contracts from one would prevent purchasing vehicles made by some others.
Keep in mind that this all would make for a HARD difficulty setting!
Aside from that, I think industries should have limits to ho much they can produce, and how much raw materials they can accept per month.
Cheers,
Indraunt

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 15 Sep 2004 21:50

Let's pump some oil into this dried-up topic. I think I came across a solution for servicing vehicles in quite a realistic way. I think this would be very doable for all type of vehicles.

User avatar
uzurpator
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
Posts: 2134
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 12:21
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland

Post by uzurpator » 15 Sep 2004 21:58

introduce 'service shack' that is added to the station. If a train needs to be serviced then loading stops - service ensues. Simple, no 'magic depots' etc.
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 16 Sep 2004 06:34

That's what I mean, no magic depots anymore. Just servic the vehicle when it needs to be serviced at the first station it reaches.

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Post by Zuu » 16 Sep 2004 10:17

uzurpator wrote:introduce 'service shack' that is added to the station. If a train needs to be serviced then loading stops - service ensues. Simple, no 'magic depots' etc.
Will the train stay some extra time at the platform for service? And block that platform.

I was not sure what you meant.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

Hellfire
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 699
Joined: 03 Feb 2003 09:30
Location: Back at the office

Post by Hellfire » 16 Sep 2004 10:47

I have some doubts against not having "magic depots." I think they are necessary to keep the game playable.

Imagine having a deadlock in your rail network. Usually, they can be resolved by letting some train ignore the signals. But sometimes, depots are necessary to "store" all exces trains before the conflict is resolved.

Of course, this implies that you have a really bad network, and could be the result of Chris Sawyer's "Great" network search algorithm, but still.
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)

Code: Select all

+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+
[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]
Under construction...

User avatar
Arathorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6939
Joined: 30 Nov 2002 17:10

Post by Arathorn » 16 Sep 2004 10:54

If we implement waypoints, you can make temporary pieces of track an store trains there.

Hellfire
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 699
Joined: 03 Feb 2003 09:30
Location: Back at the office

Post by Hellfire » 16 Sep 2004 11:14

Actually, we're planning to have a routing algorithm that will never make trains lost, which makes waypoints unnecessary.
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)

Code: Select all

+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+
[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]
Under construction...

Mek
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 417
Joined: 13 Apr 2004 13:35
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Mek » 16 Sep 2004 12:06

Hellfire wrote:Actually, we're planning to have a routing algorithm that will never make trains lost, which makes waypoints unnecessary.
but it would of course stille be possible to create a temporary station to send all the trains to...

User avatar
uzurpator
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
Posts: 2134
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 12:21
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland

Post by uzurpator » 16 Sep 2004 12:10

Waypoints are also required to guide traffic on trackage player wants.

Anyway - I want to get rid of magic depots. And if there is a deadlock - maybe train 'ghost' mode for the player to turn on and ease traffic. Other trains would travel at - let us say - 20 km/h over ghosted trains.
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Post by Zuu » 16 Sep 2004 13:59

I sugest that there shuld be checkpoints that you can place in the terain, and IMPORTANT move a checkpoint, and all trains will go to the new location.

maby this can be done lik this: You tell Train A to go via 44,67. A mark will apear at that tile. You now what that Train B shuld share that waipoint. Just tell it to go via 44,67 (which is marked in terain now).

Here we have two options either that they both have one checkpoint each at same location, or they use a single common checkpoint. Either we might use Ctrl + click / Click or popup a menu, so that the user can choose if he want to place a new waypoint or merge with an existing.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 16 Sep 2004 22:13

Maybe smart to impose a grid with coordinates?!

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Post by Zuu » 17 Sep 2004 11:17

Internly it will likely have cordinates, but whether we shall display them or not in the final version is open.

This is not true for all datarepresentations avilable, but many.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

User avatar
Arathorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6939
Joined: 30 Nov 2002 17:10

Post by Arathorn » 17 Sep 2004 11:23

I suggest a grid you can toggle on/off.

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Post by Zuu » 15 Oct 2004 08:30

If we are going to use a system where every thing that the user or AI can do is actions, It would be nice to store these actions in a sorted list. A list that contain a string with the name, and a pointer/int or whatever type used to identify the actions.

Then there shuld be a console window where you can write these actions. The console can be useful to test new actions before making the user interface for that feature. Also it can be used for micro management scripts. There might also be users that like to use the keybord more than the mouse, eaven thoght these is probably in minority.

I suggest that we shuld not use lua or simular, instead creating an own system since existing scriplanguages is far to complex, (slow) for our task.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

User avatar
Greyfur
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 36
Joined: 31 Oct 2004 12:43
Location: Slovakia - Bratislava
Contact:

Post by Greyfur » 31 Oct 2004 13:13

Ok... ideas :

1) adding and releasing vagons - a locomotive should have the ability to leave the vagons in the station... that would make the stations more real.... No "magic" turning of trains - the locomotive will have to release the vagons and get through the other track on the other side... The track should be awailable for the vagons to be placed by the locomotive, or a "magic" bigger depot can be made, where a max. number of vagons/locomotives can be stored. There should be some more buildings in the depot for example a water tower for adding water for steam locomotives... etc

2) Public transport - making trams, trolleybuses awailable, within the cities

3) easy form of adding and creating new vehicles so that users themselves can contribute
Woof !

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Post by Zuu » 31 Oct 2004 17:30

1. Intresting idea that I have thoght a bit about my self. But I think it will make the game to complicated. It will move the focus from bigger scale to smaler scale I think.

2 and 3 is allready sugested.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

User avatar
Lilman424
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2743
Joined: 20 Oct 2002 14:55
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lilman424 » 01 Nov 2004 02:45

You know what would be interesting? If you could, say, shift from general management of your whole network to micromanagement of a line or two. Probably be ridiculously hard, but still cool> :P
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction. - Albert Einstein

Kyaputen Harokku
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 75
Joined: 12 Sep 2004 09:36
Location: Germany

Post by Kyaputen Harokku » 10 Nov 2004 12:40

If you use a real 3D engine, implement a "ride" option so you can take a seat in a passenger car or in the locomotive's driving cab. I think it won't be much of a deal - simply put the camera to another place and let it move with the train/car.
Thanks to the cheaters, Multiplayer in ottd sucks.

Post Reply

Return to “General Transport Empire Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest