Euro Truck Simulator 2 and American Truck Simulator

This is the place to talk about anything not related to Transport Tycoon itself.
Post Reply
User avatar
Zhall
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jul 2007 01:36
Skype: moonray_zdo
Location: Teh matrix, duh.
Contact:

Euro Truck Simulator 2 and American Truck Simulator

Post by Zhall » 10 Feb 2013 23:42

Has anyone played this game yet?

It seems ok, but i dunno if its worth doing a lets play on..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oIrZYqBd ... TQ&index=2

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15283
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Chrill » 10 Feb 2013 23:52

Several of us have, in fact we've posted pictures of the game in the Screenshot topic. I've played it a little bit, I know Purno has played it some more. It's indeed worth getting, it's a lovely way to spend some time. Almost all manufacturers are fully licensed in the game now (Scania, Volvo, MAN, Iveco, DAF) which does provide an extra point towards credibility. A new patch was released mere days ago and it does polish the game rather well. All in all, if you're into that type of game, ETS2 is by far the most refined and by far the most detailed truck simulator out there. Definitely worth it.

ChrillTruck (still looks similar to this, albeit rather modified and a proper Volvo instead of a weird Valiant)
PurnoTrucks 1 (I'm assuming this is an old shot, because he said so in that post
PurnoTrucks 2

And some new ones, because I am bored:
Attachments
ets2_00057.png
(1.13 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
ets2_00058.png
(1.37 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
ets2_00059.png
(1.16 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Purno » 11 Feb 2013 06:59

I still occasionally play ETS2, though it usually limits itself by only doing one trip. Once you built up a decent company, the game can get a tad boring. Still, it's an epic game, and I quite enjoyed my little trip from München to Calais this weekend :]
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Zhall
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jul 2007 01:36
Skype: moonray_zdo
Location: Teh matrix, duh.
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Zhall » 12 Feb 2013 23:49


User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Purno » 23 Feb 2013 12:59

Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17204
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Dave » 23 Feb 2013 13:53

Where can I get it from? Seems fairly interesting. Can I drive past my house?
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by SwissFan91 » 23 Feb 2013 15:01

Dave W wrote:Where can I get it from? Seems fairly interesting. Can I drive past my house?
I can't remember which ETS I played but on it the routes weren't that detailed. Maybe one of the seasoned players could post some sort of ingame map to show what scale they use?
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Purno » 23 Feb 2013 15:14

Dave W wrote:Where can I get it from? Seems fairly interesting. Can I drive past my house?
http://www.eurotrucksimulator2.com/ has a demo. They did get the game on Steam not too long ago too, not sure Steam offers a demo as well.

As for the map; http://blog.scssoft.com/2012/04/map-is- ... nough.html

Scale seems to be quite similar to German Truck Simulator. I never played UK Truck Simulator, but I guess that might be the same scale as well? It takes several hours to get from one end of the map to the other end :P
SwissFan91 wrote:I can't remember which ETS I played but on it the routes weren't that detailed. Maybe one of the seasoned players could post some sort of ingame map to show what scale they use?
There's only ETS1 and ETS2. ETS1 is pretty old, so the differences are quite large.

EDIT: There's also youtube videos, which may give an indication of scale.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15283
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Chrill » 23 Feb 2013 19:54

The scale is 1/20 or 1/10 I believe. So a drive which should take 10 hours IRL would take somewhere around 30-60 minutes
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17204
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Dave » 23 Feb 2013 20:07

I've just played the demo. Lost the plot with it really.

I've only got a keyboard. Can I get an indicator of how the wheel is positioned? How do I know if it is straight if I can't see it!? (playing on chase view).
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Purno » 23 Feb 2013 20:53

Yeah, I used to struggle with that too. There's some keyboard settings and steering sensitivity which may help. If I remember correctly there's a setting which makes the steer go to neutral more quickly, kinda like most driving games.

The easiest solution for me was just to take the camera view inside the truck, where you can see the steer. That also helps seeing what happens on the road ahead of you. I was surprised how quickly I got used to it, who knows it may work for you too?

Also, I remember that steering with the mouse had showed some kind of indicator of how the steer was positioned. Perhaps that helps. I remember there's quite a few control options in the menus, so might want to fiddle with those a bit?
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17204
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Dave » 23 Feb 2013 21:17

Thanks - very interesting.

I've enjoyed what I've done with it - but don't think it's for me. I might dip in and out.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15283
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Chrill » 23 Feb 2013 22:00

I never struggle with chase view, I find it rather easy to drive that way. Then again, I've played the game enough to learn the way the trucks handle I suppose.
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
SkeedR
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2244
Joined: 11 Jul 2004 14:55
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by SkeedR » 23 Feb 2013 22:29

You can control steering with your mouse. Takes a while to get used to but can prove more than capable as an indicator is provided to show you where the wheel is at.
Last known as: Weirdy

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17204
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Dave » 24 Feb 2013 01:20

I have a laptop - no mouse here.

Started to get it when I turned up Linear Steering. Works nearly like a GTA model now.

Still can't drive from one to another without p***ing it up a ditch haha.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5385
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by PikkaBird » 24 Feb 2013 01:46

I am playing the demo. Just finished my first "proper" mission (Southampton to Dover) driving with the keyboard, haven't dinged the truck yet. I guess my heavy vehicle experience is showing. :) I might have to dig out a gamepad or something, I don't know how well a yoke will work as a steering wheel.

I have a question; do people in the UK and Europe really merge at the end of the lane by all stopping, waiting until a heavy truck is coming, and then pulling out in front of it one at a time? :P

Edit, got the gamepad out. I can't steer in a straight line if I have the throttle on the same stick as the steering (I have this problem in every game), so I put the throttle on the shoulder buttons and it's all good. :)

Time to plug my TrackIR in too, hmm :)

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Purno » 24 Feb 2013 06:12

Dave W wrote:Still can't drive from one to another without p***ing it up a ditch haha.
What exactly is going wrong?
PikkaBird wrote:I have a question; do people in the UK and Europe really merge at the end of the lane by all stopping, waiting until a heavy truck is coming, and then pulling out in front of it one at a time? :P
Some prefab road parts still don't make sense to me. If there's lane merge in the Netherlands, it's the most left lane, not the most right lane. I can't make sense of why you'd let the slow-lane merge, instead of the fast-lane. I guess their traffic AI can't detect incoming vehicles from a large distance, so they stop. Traffic AI also drives extremely carefully at railway crossings, while in real life, we just drive full speed over those, since we rely on the lights and barriers. Things might be different in the country the development studio is coming from though. They may have based those things on their real life experiences :P

Overall, their traffic AI improved a lot. The AI itself will barely make any collisions, and when being 'blocked off' by a collision, even realizes it's good to drive reversed a few meters to 'unblock' stuff :P
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5385
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by PikkaBird » 24 Feb 2013 06:44

Purno wrote:Some prefab road parts still don't make sense to me. If there's lane merge in the Netherlands, it's the most left lane, not the most right lane. I can't make sense of why you'd let the slow-lane merge, instead of the fast-lane.
Really? How odd. :)
I guess their traffic AI can't detect incoming vehicles from a large distance, so they stop. Traffic AI also drives extremely carefully at railway crossings, while in real life, we just drive full speed over those, since we rely on the lights and barriers. Things might be different in the country the development studio is coming from though.
Your railway crossings must be very nicely made. In my experience, one slows down for railway crossings because they're very bumpy to drive over. :)

I've had a go at traffic AI myself in the past, so I understand it's often a choice between "dumb" and "unpredictable", and "dumb" is usually the better option. ;) Driving in reality - especially a heavy vehicle! - is very much a cooperative effort, with a lot of communication between drivers. I can see why merging two lanes of traffic is one place it would be hard to get AI to behave realistically, and reliably.

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Purno » 24 Feb 2013 14:45

Did a few more trips;

Calais --> Brussels
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00091.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00092.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00093.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00094.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00095.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00096.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00097.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00098.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00099.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00100.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00101.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00102.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00103.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00104.png

Milano --> Zürich
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00104.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00105.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00106.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00107.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00108.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00109.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00110.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00111.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00112.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00113.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00114.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00115.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00116.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00117.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00118.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00119.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00120.png
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Purno/ET ... _00121.png
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17204
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Euro Truck Simulator 2

Post by Dave » 24 Feb 2013 18:21

PikkaBird wrote:I am playing the demo. Just finished my first "proper" mission (Southampton to Dover) driving with the keyboard, haven't dinged the truck yet. I guess my heavy vehicle experience is showing. :)
Show off :lol:
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests