2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Get help, info, news and advice about the Transport Tycoon Deluxe patch.

Moderator: TTDPatch Moderators

User avatar
OzTrans
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1508
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 01:07

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by OzTrans » 02 Apr 2009 04:21

We have hit a little snag ...

NEWGRF specifications for Action-00, property 09 for stations ... sprite number to draw in spritedata says : ... “With bit 31 set, this sprite will refer to a TTD sprite, not the action 1 sprite.” So far so good, it works with normal rail ...

Example :

Code: Select all

... F4 03 00 00   00 00 00 0A 0A 00   24 00 00 80 ...
here we refer to a station sprite, implemented via a TTD sprite; number 36 (0x0024) in this case, to this will be added (via an action-6) the sprite number GRM returns.

This all works as long as we don't try to build a monorail, maglev or narrow gauge station. With monorail stations the Patch adds an offset of 82 (with maglev, it's an offset of 164).

That makes a big mess of any station built from a non-normal rail station construction menu.

Now, is that a feature or a bug ?

peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1646
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by peter1138 » 02 Apr 2009 07:00

I believe it is intended. The offset of 82 corresponds to the number of sprites for each rail type, so you can specify a rail sprite, or a station building sprite, and the game will automatically use the correct graphic for the rail type in use. For this purpose electrified rail and plain rail are considered the same.
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.

User avatar
OzTrans
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1508
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 01:07

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by OzTrans » 03 Apr 2009 00:34

I was afraid, that this was behind the implementation of using TTD sprites. But for practical purposes, this limits the use of TTD sprites to the 'original' TTD sprites 1005 to 1086 inclusive; something the wiki does not mention. Or, we have to load our own 'TTD' sprites 3 times in batches of 82. What a waste !!

PeterB
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 12:19
Location: Lovely Banks

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by PeterB » 17 Aug 2009 07:15

Woops, 2180 didn't compile.
from the log:
make: *** No rule to make target `dest.inc', needed by `patches/cargodest.wpo'. Stop.
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make: *** No rule to make target `dest.inc', needed by `patches/cargodest.dpo'. Stop.
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
zip warning: name not matched: ttdpatchw.exe

zip error: Nothing to do! (TTDPatch-nightly-r2180-win32.zip)
zip warning: name not matched: ttdpatch.exe

zip error: Nothing to do! (TTDPatch-nightly-r2180-dos.zip)
cp: cannot stat `TTDPatch*.zip': No such file or directory
If I knew what it all meant I might try to fix it myself, but probably best left for the experts.

User avatar
Lakie
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 1804
Joined: 26 May 2004 16:37
Location: Britain
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Lakie » 17 Aug 2009 14:48

Probably a file JGR forgot to upload, that said he did say that change was experimental and highly a work in progress.

~ Lakie
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."

User avatar
JGR
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1951
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 13:46
Location: Ipswich

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by JGR » 17 Aug 2009 23:11

My apologies for that PeterB and indeed to everyone else who's build I broke...
I should really svn add my files earlier instead of leaving them unversionned til the last minute...

Sorry for the delay too, I've been preoccupied since shortly after that commit with tech troubles of the malware kind, sadly...

Experimental commit isn't really a justification for leaving half of it out Lakie...
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6543
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Redirect Left » 21 Sep 2009 11:41

Just a quick question, but lately i've noticed A LOT of work on the 2.6 nightlies (which is great!) but whatever happened to the 2.5 branch?


The latest 2.5 is from 2006. I think it'd look better for TTDP if you tried releasing a new official 2.5 beta, or something :? (Or perhaps scrapping 2.5 altogether, and making a 2.6 alpha 1, or something?)
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
Pookey
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Nov 2005 02:39
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Pookey » 08 Dec 2009 04:15

Yes, I agree with you Jolteon. The logical step is to create a 2.5 Beta 10 Version, however, seeing as development is now almost exclusively for the 2.6 Branch, it would probably be better to add all the fixes that the devs currently have to 2.5b9 (but NOT the new stuff added to the 2.6 branch) and then advertise a week long bug hunt for 2.5b9 to get rid of any as yet unfound bugs. This would then allow for a 2.5 Stable and an official 2.6 Alpha 1 could also be released. At least if there is a new stable on the homepage, it will make people see that it is still being developed.
Posted by Pookey...

For Information on TTD Patch Click Here
For Information on Building a Network (FAST) Click Here
For Information on Building a Network as a Challenge (SLOW) Click Here
For Help on the Different Signalling Types Click Here
Before Asking a Question, Please use the Forums Search Function Here and if you do Ask a Question, Please Provide as much Detail as Possible.
If you do not get a Crash Log when TTDPatch Crashes, Follow the Olly Debug Instructions Here and Post the Resulting Screenshot with your Problem.

Image

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5383
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by PikkaBird » 08 Dec 2009 08:26

Jolteon wrote:Just a quick question, but lately i've noticed A LOT of work on the 2.6 nightlies (which is great!) but whatever happened to the 2.5 branch?


The latest 2.5 is from 2006. I think it'd look better for TTDP if you tried releasing a new official 2.5 beta, or something :? (Or perhaps scrapping 2.5 altogether, and making a 2.6 alpha 1, or something?)
Only Patchman can make beta or release versions, and Patchman is not currently active.

User avatar
Wile E. Coyote
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8515
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 22:14
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Wile E. Coyote » 08 Dec 2009 09:13

He's not active long time ago. Is there anybody in contact with him?
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!

User avatar
Pookey
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Nov 2005 02:39
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Pookey » 08 Dec 2009 10:12

PikkaBird wrote:
Jolteon wrote:Just a quick question, but lately i've noticed A LOT of work on the 2.6 nightlies (which is great!) but whatever happened to the 2.5 branch?


The latest 2.5 is from 2006. I think it'd look better for TTDP if you tried releasing a new official 2.5 beta, or something :? (Or perhaps scrapping 2.5 altogether, and making a 2.6 alpha 1, or something?)
Only Patchman can make beta or release versions, and Patchman is not currently active.
Surely there is somebody else who has an account that can create at least an updated Beta? Is it not possible for Dalestan or Lakie to create a stable and release it on the forums, or are they also unable to give the executable the appropriate version numbers?
Posted by Pookey...

For Information on TTD Patch Click Here
For Information on Building a Network (FAST) Click Here
For Information on Building a Network as a Challenge (SLOW) Click Here
For Help on the Different Signalling Types Click Here
Before Asking a Question, Please use the Forums Search Function Here and if you do Ask a Question, Please Provide as much Detail as Possible.
If you do not get a Crash Log when TTDPatch Crashes, Follow the Olly Debug Instructions Here and Post the Resulting Screenshot with your Problem.

Image

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by DaleStan » 08 Dec 2009 17:42

Version numbers aren't an issue. The issue is the TTD executables. As far as I know, only Patchman has all 10. (I know I don't have all of them.) Without all 10, we cannot generate the version information that a proper release requires.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
Gremnon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1517
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 12:23
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Gremnon » 08 Dec 2009 18:05

There's 10 of them? I thought it was just 4, Windows English, Windows German, DOS English and DOS German.
Those are the only ones I knew about.

User avatar
Lakie
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 1804
Joined: 26 May 2004 16:37
Location: Britain
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Lakie » 08 Dec 2009 18:13

I once received all 10 executables from Josef, unfortunately, I only appear to have the 5 windows executables.
It appears that the DOS executables and original archive have since been lost.

[Edit]
Gremnon, there are versions for English (UK), German, French, Spanish and American.
I presume that there are Windows and DOS variants of each, hence 10 overall.

~ Lakie
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."

User avatar
Pookey
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Nov 2005 02:39
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Pookey » 08 Dec 2009 23:39

Lakie wrote:I once received all 10 executables from Josef, unfortunately, I only appear to have the 5 windows executables.
It appears that the DOS executables and original archive have since been lost.

~ Lakie
So it would be possible for someone to create a valid Windows version then...

If we were to obtain the missing DOS executables, is anyone currently able to contact Josef and find out if he would approve of the Patch Devs creating a new Beta and/or Stable?
Posted by Pookey...

For Information on TTD Patch Click Here
For Information on Building a Network (FAST) Click Here
For Information on Building a Network as a Challenge (SLOW) Click Here
For Help on the Different Signalling Types Click Here
Before Asking a Question, Please use the Forums Search Function Here and if you do Ask a Question, Please Provide as much Detail as Possible.
If you do not get a Crash Log when TTDPatch Crashes, Follow the Olly Debug Instructions Here and Post the Resulting Screenshot with your Problem.

Image

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by George » 09 Dec 2009 06:07

Pookey wrote:
Lakie wrote:I once received all 10 executables from Josef, unfortunately, I only appear to have the 5 windows executables.
It appears that the DOS executables and original archive have since been lost.
~ Lakie
So it would be possible for someone to create a valid Windows version then...
If we were to obtain the missing DOS executables, is anyone currently able to contact Josef and find out if he would approve of the Patch Devs creating a new Beta and/or Stable?
Do anyone know the size of the dos executables?
Image Image Image Image

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by DaleStan » 10 Dec 2009 17:33

In the range of 400 KB, I believe.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by George » 10 Dec 2009 18:14

DaleStan wrote:In the range of 400 KB, I believe.
I meant the exact size in bytes
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Pookey
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Nov 2005 02:39
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by Pookey » 11 Dec 2009 03:59

I have four of them I think:

English: 496,601 Bytes
French: 505,759 Bytes
German: 505,759 Bytes
Spanish: 505,759 Bytes

I haven't been able to find anywhere to compare the sizes though :?
Posted by Pookey...

For Information on TTD Patch Click Here
For Information on Building a Network (FAST) Click Here
For Information on Building a Network as a Challenge (SLOW) Click Here
For Help on the Different Signalling Types Click Here
Before Asking a Question, Please use the Forums Search Function Here and if you do Ask a Question, Please Provide as much Detail as Possible.
If you do not get a Crash Log when TTDPatch Crashes, Follow the Olly Debug Instructions Here and Post the Resulting Screenshot with your Problem.

Image

AYE
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Oct 2003 09:17
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: 2.6 nightly/alpha discussion

Post by AYE » 11 Dec 2009 11:40

Pookey wrote:I have four of them I think:

English: 496,601 Bytes
French: 505,759 Bytes
German: 505,759 Bytes
Spanish: 505,759 Bytes

I haven't been able to find anywhere to compare the sizes though :?
I have found some ancient installation of TTD on an ancient backup drive. The exe contains text "Transport Tycoon (Deluxe) V2.01.119", and the file size (tycoon.exe) is 496 543 bytes. The overlay (tycoon.ovl) size is 207 316 bytes. Don't know if it helps anybody :roll:

Post Reply

Return to “General TTDPatch”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests