Algorithms for NoAI (Railroads)

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

lhrios
Engineer
Engineer

Algorithms for NoAI (Railroads)

Post by lhrios »

Hi. My name is Luis and I am a Computer Science student. Since 06/2008 I have been working in my graduation project that is related to OpenTDD AI. The main goal was the improvement of two activities: railroad station construction and railroad tracks deployment. This improvement consists of implementing in these functions a behavior similar to expert human player’s behavior.

The results were algorithms that can help AI programmers. Four main functions were created: IndustryLandAllocation, CityLandAllocation, IndustryRailroadStationConstruction and RailroadConstruction.

The first two are very similar. Their parameters are:
  • Height
  • Width
  • Validate Land: a function that receives the land position and return a number from 0 to 1 (float) representing the evaluation. If 0 then the land won’t be allocated.
  • Maximum cost: the maximum value that can be expended doing terraforming.
  • Coverage maximum distance: the maximum distance coverage by the station. It is just used on IndustryLandAllocation.
  • Swap Height and Width: indicates that Height and Width can be swapped.
  • Allocated land: output the dimensions and location of allocated land.
  • Cost priority: a number from 0 to 1 (float) representing the importance of the cost during the process of allocation. If 0 then cost has no importance. The cost is used together with the value returned by Validate Land function.
  • Purchase land: say to the function if the land must be purchased.
  • Industry / City: the industry or city near where the land must be allocated.