Automatic station names & duplicate station names

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

GGa
Engineer
Engineer

Automatic station names & duplicate station names

Post by GGa »

It's actually two suggestions, but they are so mixed that I think they fit well in one topic.

Because I'm not good at explaining, I made some pictures (see in the "spoilers")...

1) A random station renamed "ABC", and a station with automatic name
The automatic name is "Chur Mines":
[+] Spoiler
fig_1.png
fig_1.png (968.85 KiB) Viewed 1416 times

2) Rename the second station
Rename the second station from "Chur Mines" to "Chur":
[+] Spoiler
fig_2.png
fig_2.png (942.41 KiB) Viewed 1416 times
Please note that, if I try to further rename this station to "ABC", I get red message saying that the names must be unique (see: picture 5)

3) Add another station in the middle of the town
The station gets the automatic name "Chur".
So, two stations (out of three) are exactly homonymous.
[+] Spoiler
fig_3.png
fig_3.png (986.98 KiB) Viewed 1416 times

*Continues on the next post because I appear not to be able to insert more than three pictures.*
Last edited by GGa on 20 Aug 2023 18:02, edited 1 time in total.
GGa
Engineer
Engineer

Re: Automatic station names & duplicate station names

Post by GGa »

4) Add some roads and a vehicle
The truck's second order is to go to the (chronologically) third station (the one in the middle of the town, with automatic name "Chur").
And it knows it can't reach it.
It can reach a truck station with matching name, but it doesn't get fooled: it knows which "Chur" it wants to go to.
[+] Spoiler
fig_4.png
fig_4.png (919.34 KiB) Viewed 1412 times

5) I can't manually assign a duplicate name to a station
Not easy to see, but I tried to re-rename the (chronologically) second station to "ABC", and...
[+] Spoiler
fig_5.png
fig_5.png (951.74 KiB) Viewed 1412 times

6) A station name is lost forever