AI API How to detect a house on a tile.

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

crs
Engineer
Engineer

AI API How to detect a house on a tile.

Post by crs »

Hello,

First time post here. Played on and off since childhood. Mighty props to the dev community of OpenTTD.

Im also a professional developer and turned some free time to writing an AI for fun.

I have though quite a problem which is either my lack of knowledge of the AI API or an oversight of its development, which is...

How do I detect if a tile contains a house/building, specifically one that generates passengers.

I am currently using this code, which has more than a minor code-smell feel to it.

Code: Select all

static function DoesTileHaveHouse(tileIndex)
	{
		if (AITile.IsBuildable(tileIndex)) { return false; }

if (AIRoad.IsRoadTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AIRoad.IsRoadDepotTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AITile.IsSeaTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AITile.IsWaterTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AITile.IsStationTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AITile.HasTreeOnTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AITile.IsFarmTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AITile.IsRockTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AITile.IsRoughTile(tileIndex)) { return false; }
		if (AIIndustry.GetIndustryID(tileIndex) != 65535) { return false; }

return true;
	}
It essentially tests if the tile is not buildable (has something on it), and then excludes all other reasons (that I can think of) for the tile to not be buildable, so left with only the last possibility that is has a house on it.

What is the correct way to detect if a tile has a house?

If one does not exist, how can I escalate to the dev team to implement this?

V13.0
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: AI API How to detect a house on a tile.

Post by jfs »