Suburbs grow instead of urban core

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

codycodes1234
Engineer
Engineer

Suburbs grow instead of urban core

Post by codycodes1234 »

Hello i am new to the game and i just wanted to know how to promote growth of the urbanized portions of the city instead of having suburbs covering most of the landscapeImage
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: Suburbs grow instead of urban core

Post by Eddi »

towns in this game have "zones", rings around the town center, which define which houses get built. the relative sizes of each zone are somewhat fixed, the only thing you can do is preventing towns from building roads by themselves, so they don't sprawl outwards as much.
Argus
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by Argus »

This seems to me like the influence of ITL houses graphics or something similar. I've never seen it without this graphic before. :shock:
In addition to banning cities from building roads, you can also reduce their growth rate, although this won't matter for a city this big, especially if it's a large city.
odisseus
Director
Director

Post by odisseus »

No, this doesn't look like the effect of ITL houses. The town grows in a perfectly standard way, i. e. around its origin tile rather than around the stations.

This particular town has a relatively large degree of sprawl due to its inefficient road layout. At a quick glance, there seems to be 2 to 3 road tiles per each house tile. You can try tweaking the town layout setting, or indeed just disallow road building by towns altogether.
jfs
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by jfs »

Seconding the road layout thing. If you destroy several of the unneeded roads in the town, it will hopefully fill those spaces out with buildings instead, which should result in an overall denser town before it starts expanding outwards again.
ebla71
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Post by ebla71 »