Sub-tropical cost of living crisis?

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Shifty_Girl
Engineer
Engineer

Sub-tropical cost of living crisis?

Post by Shifty_Girl »

Hi all,

Sorry for being dumb, but am I missing something with the sub-tropical maps, can you fill me in please. The vehicle purchase and running costs are astronomical, compared to the temperate maps that I've played so far (where I can waste money without a care). I haven't changed any of the Economy settings (inflation 2%, smooth economy, low running costs). Though I notice that the loan max is different between them, without my input. Much higher limit in sub-tropical, which makes sense. Is this a thing, or have I somehow killed the game already? ?(

Disclaimer: I'm new to openTTD, I'm surprised I even got it going. Played TT and a little bit of TTD as a kid, the whole family loved playing it. I don't understand anything beyond pointing and clicking :oops:
kamnet

Re: Sub-tropical cost of living crisis?

Post by kamnet »

Can you start a new game which shows this behavior and then upload a copy of the save file for someone to look at?
Shifty_Girl
Engineer
Engineer

Post by Shifty_Girl »

kamnet wrote: 17 Jan 2023 16:05 Can you start a new game which shows this behavior and then upload a copy of the save file for someone to look at?
Hi, thanks for your response! Yes, please see attached. I started a new game and got carried away lol...only one saved copy! :oops: started in 1988.

(Also please don't judge my ugly game, I know I'm basic AF, I just play for fun)
Attachments
Tocopilla Transport, 25th Jan 1996.sav
(290.09 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
skc
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Post by skc »

As you have inflation turned on, and with a start date of 1988... IF I'm not mistaken, prices have been pre-inflated (kamnet can correct or confirm).