Compiling Source in VS 2022

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Carolusclen
Engineer
Engineer

Compiling Source in VS 2022

Post by Carolusclen »

Hey everyone

I would like some assistance with compiling the source code for OpenTTD 12.2 please

So to start, im pretty new to C++ but I am no stranger to coding and scripting so I know my way around a fare bit
I have gone through the tutorials and guides, gone through the forums to check for some of the issues and what not and got an understanding but I am at the point now where I am a little lost

So I have VS 2022, I went to the GIT for TTD and downloaded it into VS via https://github.com/OpenTTD/OpenTTD.git
VS pulled it and opened it. I compiled it right away and it works fine. compiling has no issues.

I noticed that the revision version was "norev0000" which I discovered means that something is not set up correctly and that multiplayer is disabled
I require MP as the changes I made are for myself and a friend to play around on

The output in VS has a part that says

CMake Warning at cmake/scripts/FindVersion.cmake:118 (message):
No version detected; this build will NOT be network compatible

After doing some more digging I found that there are some requirements too, so I followed the documents on how to set everything up, none of which helped me, mostly because of links leading to dead pages and nothing really pertaining to VS
I tried doing things through GIT for windows, installing CMAKE and vcpkg and then pulling down the libraries like zlib and such, but then I just cant get that to function as intended or know how to link it back to the VS for compiling.

As much as I enjoy mucking around with stuff like this, I have come to a point where I dont know what else to try or what I am doing :P

Is someone able to tell me how to get a working modified variation of the source, with a working revision number and the required libraries loaded please.