[OTTD] Central European Towns - Development Thread

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

super_dan
Engineer
Engineer

[OTTD] Central European Towns - Development Thread

Post by super_dan »

Central European Towns - Development Thread

cet_collage_dev_thread_721x400.png
cet_collage_dev_thread_721x400.png (351.95 KiB) Viewed 7122 times

Chataigne, Fraenklie and me have joined forces to build a full town replacement set. News and updates about it will be posted here.

This is a combined continuation of our formerly seperate projects:
Chataigne's European Building Set: viewtopic.php?t=87346
My Southwest German Houses Set: viewtopic.php?t=73137

The set is under development with a first playable version which we currently play-test. If I was an actual programmer, i'd say it's in alpha state close to a first beta. But as I'm not, I'll just say that lots of sprites have been drawn and many lines of NML are written. ?(
What's currently missing are modern house sprites, but we're at it...

So, what's in this set?
Central European Towns is not just cosmetics, though. It aims at simulating the most common architectural and structural features of European urban agglomerations between the 19th century and... Tomorrow? However, it is also aimed at affecting gameplay, for example via the creation of functional town areas such as old town or bussiness districts.

Features planned for the initial release include (most likely):
  • More than 380 individual buildings (including churches, stadiums, parks and plazas) of Central European Style