Airport infrastructure costs

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
Joubarbe
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Dec 2019 16:14

Airport infrastructure costs

Post by Joubarbe »

Hi,

I play with infrastructure costs on, and I saw old messages about that problem. With 2 airports, in 1945, I'm at about 800,000 dollars per year. The AI has no chance, and me neither. I just bought an AI company for 2$ and resell the whole airport infrastructure.

Some will say "download the base costs thing". Yeah, well, sorry, but I can't believe this game design choice has been willingly made. This makes no sense; without the 2 airports, I'm at 60k of infrastructure costs. This makes the airplane sector unplayable.

User avatar
jfs
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 652
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: Airport infrastructure costs

Post by jfs »

It's intentional that infrastructure costs for airports is massive, simply because jet planes can move large amounts of passengers very far at a very high rate, making it by far the easiest way to make huge amounts of cash. The high infrastructure cost of running airlines is a way to offset this.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9357
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Airport infrastructure costs

Post by planetmaker »

Additionally, you can easily adjust all costs types relative to eachother by using a base cost NewGRF (just search bananans for base cost mod)

odalman
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 22
Joined: 07 Jan 2020 01:46

Re: Airport infrastructure costs

Post by odalman »

Start a game with infrastructure costs when the first airplane becomes available, build 2 airports (only smallest type is yet available) in good locations and buy as many planes as the airports can handle. Since the locations are good, there will be more than enough passengers. I do not think that it is even possible to make a profit.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5446
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Airport infrastructure costs

Post by PikkaBird »

Joubarbe wrote:
08 Dec 2019 18:49
Some will say "download the base costs thing". Yeah, well, sorry, but I can't believe this game design choice has been willingly made.
Infrastructure costs are not active by default. If you've made the (imo bad) choice to turn them on, it's on you to adjust them to your liking.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests