Manage List - Replace vehicles

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
sootynz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 175
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 02:07

Manage List - Replace vehicles

Post by sootynz » 05 Jan 2019 04:36

Is there any chance of adding another option to the Manage Vehicles function, so that under Start replacing vehicles one can
Replace only vehicles with reliability less than x%
where x% is user specified, (even if only once in the Settings, constant thereafter).

This should be in addition to Replace only old vehicles
sometimes the reliability of a type goes dramatically down and stays down despite frequent servicing long before a vehicle gets old

:D

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5382
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Manage List - Replace vehicles

Post by PikkaBird » 05 Jan 2019 12:32

sootynz wrote:sometimes the reliability of a type goes dramatically down and stays down despite frequent servicing long before a vehicle gets old
'
That's bad design on the part of the vehicle coder, imo, and should be reported as a bug. In any case, it should be affecting all vehicles of that model equally, so why not just replace the entire fleet?

sootynz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 175
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 02:07

Re: Manage List - Replace vehicles

Post by sootynz » 07 Jan 2019 08:33

Er, not quite bad design. I'm using one of yours, the UKRS, which is rather good, I think.

by dramatically down, I mean between 40 and 50 % but which can stuff up a busy line no end.

Replacing all of them isnt all that good, as I've built the vehicles over a longish period and the best are still at 80% reliability.
Also I dont have the money to replace all in a short period of time.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9267
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Manage List - Replace vehicles

Post by planetmaker » 07 Jan 2019 09:15

sootynz wrote:Is there any chance of adding another option to the Manage Vehicles function, so that under Start replacing vehicles one can
Replace only vehicles with reliability less than x%
where x% is user specified, (even if only once in the Settings, constant thereafter).
You have the option of conditional orders. So far you could use the current reliability as a condition (e.g. send unreliable vehicles for maintenance to a depot). A few days ago also the maximum reliability was added as a possible condition (e.g. send permanently to depot vehicles which will never get a decent reiability again).

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7366
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Manage List - Replace vehicles

Post by Eddi » 07 Jan 2019 17:08

PikkaBird wrote:That's bad design on the part of the vehicle coder, imo
i'm pretty sure that's the behaviour of the original vehicle set.

not that that's a contradiction... :p

also, not a lot of coders know how to use the early retirement and model life properties properly.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5269
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: Manage List - Replace vehicles

Post by michael blunck » 08 Jan 2019 07:39

Eddi wrote: also, not a lot of coders know how to use the early retirement and model life properties properly.
That's why m4nfo offers function

lifecycle(<introduction-date>, <last-building-year>, <withdrawal-year>)

incorporating said properties in a useful way.

regards
Michael
Image

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest