Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:32 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 448 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 523 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 6:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
[EDIT]

Download from: viewtopic.php?p=203935#203935

[/EDIT]

Original message:


Someone asked me to draw some bridges, and I did that last weekend. But I couldn't stop, so I've drawn a total of 12 :mrgreen: different bridges. Here they are! Hopefully someone can use them. I can't make .nfo files so that needs to be done by someone else. I've included all necessary parts (I hope :mrgreen: ) of the brigdes in each bridge's .png file.

Each bridge has it's own min and max length. I've made some suggestions of how a bridge could look like when it has a specific length. (Some bridges are just normal, and so the suggested length wouldn't be more than logical.)

Those roads are just for example. I think (and hope) the rail, monorail and maglev graphics have the same size as the road graphics, so it shouldn't be a problem to replace those roads.

I didn't draw any pillars (except for bridge 7 and 11) because I think the original can be used. Besides that I only drew one direction because I think these graphics can be mirrored without any bad result.

:arrow: Bridge 1 is based on a photo I saw at this forum. Someone (I forgot who) asked me to draw this bridge, so here it is! :mrgreen: (I thought he/she promised to use it :mrgreen: )

:arrow: Bridge 2 is based on bridge 1 and on a Dutch Motorway Bridge (I forgot the name).

:arrow: Bridge 3 is based on a viaduct over a motorway in the neighbourhood of where I live.

:arrow: Brige 4 is based on a brige I drew a long time ago on paper, during a vacation, in Germany I thought.

:arrow: Brige 5 is based on an aqueduct over a highway somewhere in the Netherlands. Although it's now filled up with some road, it should be filled up with water :mrgreen: , but I don't know if aqueducts already are implemented in any TT game (TTD Patch, OTTD, FreeTT, TTU, etc.)

:arrow: Bridge 6 is based on a highway-viaduct in the Netherlands. Although it doesn't look very special, it's something different.

:arrow: Bridge 7 is based on a concrete fly-over and a concrete modern railway viaduct.

:arrow: Bridge 8 is based on nothing :mrgreen: . I just hadn't any realistic inspiration. But we need a futuristic bridge too, don't we?

:arrow: Bridge 9 is based on bridge 1. I thought I could use another variation on that bridge, and I thought I could use another brown bridge as well.

:arrow: Bridge 10 is based on a bridge I drew during a vacation a while ago.

:arrow: Bridge 11 is based on nothing. I just had a crazy idea of putting flashing lights on a bridge. This bridge might be used as a very futuristic bridge.

:arrow: Bridge 12 is based on the wish of my brother: A glass bridge.


Attachments:
File comment: New Bridges sprites
NewBridges.zip [69 KiB]
Downloaded 2555 times
File comment: New Bridges overview
NewBridges.png
NewBridges.png [ 23.17 KiB | Viewed 32367 times ]

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Last edited by Purno on Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 6:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13158
Location: The Netherlands
/me wonders, can I include some in my roadset?

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 6:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Hyronymus wrote:
/me wonders, can I include some in my roadset?


/me wanna know, which one would you like to include?

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 6:57 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13158
Location: The Netherlands
oh, does it depend on which one :p? Lemme see, maybe I want to include them all :shock: .

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 7:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Hyronymus wrote:
oh, does it depend on which one :p? Lemme see, maybe I want to include them all :shock: .


:shock: All of them? Do you like them all? Oh, okay, why not including them all?

Hyronymus, you may use them all! (But of course, I want some credit :wink: )



BTW: Some don't have 'ramps' like this:

Code:
 ___
/   \


Hope you don't mind :wink:

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 7:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13158
Location: The Netherlands
Of course you'll get credit, that's only more then fair. I'm gonna take a closer look at them this afternoon (after work). Then I'll check if something can be done about the / and \ ramps. There aren't that many ramps available (that's why the supsension bridges are so diverse).

Edit: adding them is gonna be hard. You didn't use the way bridges are stored in grf's. I haven't got a clue how to tackle this now :cry: .

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 8:10 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
I'm at work now, but my gues is you have to disasemble them, or wait till a patcher ads some funky new code in adition to eis_os his higher bridges :o
Trouble is all the bridges share parts of eachother, so I think there could be some trouble getting them all in ttd. Ah well hyronymus can look at it :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:08 pm
Posts: 8684
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Hey that's pretty nice :D

( *hopes he got the pallete right this time* :wink: )

_________________
GoneWacko. Making #tycoon sexy and exciting since 1784.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:34 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
that doesn't matter anymore tanks to korren his colour converion tool :D

But yes those bridges do look nice, and A lot better as that red, making everything behind it invisable, monster bridge that comes ith ttd.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13158
Location: The Netherlands
Disassembling sounds like the solution but I'm not gonna do that. It's an immense job + I feel we will fall short on ramps. I think we should ask patchman to start looking into additional bridge graphics.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:44 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
another thing on his todo list :o. I must admid I realy like those bridges, so I might try disasembling one of them to replace that ugly red thing we call a bridge now :)
or ofcourse I can send the parts that should be replaced to purno and let him do all the work (muhahahahah) :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
broodje wrote:
or ofcourse I can send the parts that should be replaced to purno and let him do all the work (muhahahahah) :wink:


I think I like the first idea more :wink:


BTW: Which bridge is your favourite?

EDIT: BTW 2: Which red bridge, you don't mean the concrete one, do you? :shock:

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:52 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
bridge 7, 2 and 10. But all of them aren't realy compitable with the curent ttd format, especialy the pillars could be a problem. But i'm at work atm (and yes bored to death :D) so I can't look into the matter atm. I will see what I can do when I get home, and send you the details, becouse it could be you have to change some litle things to get it working properly.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
broodje wrote:
But all of them aren't realy compitable with the curent ttd format,


Bridge 3 should be compatible with the concrete bridge's system.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:59 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
yeah, I was thinking more about bridge 7 for that, but bridge 3 could work, but I'm not sure about the format becouse I can't look at it atm.
I think bridge 10 could replace that yelow thing? hmm would also be nice if it could :D.

/me likes the bridges more and more, I wish I could go home soon :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 10:36 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Hello!

Purno, it was me who asked for those graphics, and I really like them, the problem is the incompatibility stated earlier.

For some time, I've been thinking about writing a guide to replace the bridge graphics, but I hoped(until now) that someone will come up with an elegant solution to simplify this process. This does not seem to be happening, so if you are interested, I will try to assemble something about that topic... Maybe I (or anyone else) could contact Andrex, he has managed to do some very nice bridges, so he must understand it. Perharps he's the one who could do this guide properly.
(You see I do understand the workings, but I'm not an graphic artist, so his explanation should be better...)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 11:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
I am really suprised ... those bridges looks great but I am missing some 'glass' there :wink:

I cannot wait when someone will made GRF file 8)

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 11:52 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
These bridges are absolutely the best bridges for ttd.
:bow:

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 11:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
SHADOW-XIII wrote:
but I am missing some 'glass' there :wink:


Glass??? What do you mean?

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 12:57 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23785
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Could these perhaps be used in OpenTTD? Of course, you will get full credit if we decide to use them. :)

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 448 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 523 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Auge, superdrive1, willsym22 and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.