JGR's Patch Pack

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6591
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Redirect Left » 02 Nov 2019 21:20

JGR wrote:
02 Nov 2019 20:37
Redirect Left wrote:
02 Nov 2019 13:06
No crash log was generated, here is the last autosave produced before the crash. (sadly, a huge rail jam had occured whilst i was AFK ;__;)
Thanks, that is an impressive level of gridlock. :)
Always the case with my stuff, when it goes wrong, it gridlocks half if not more as its all intertwined ratherly... poorly at best.
JGR wrote:
02 Nov 2019 20:37
Edit: Fixed, this will be in the next release.
Nice and speedy as always, I am guessing every time a water based industry shut down in the background there was a chance of it crashing OTTD silently, given i was never given a warning by Windows or OpenTTD, i just alt-tabbed and "oh no!" it wasn't there and had to load it again.
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

Towa Shina
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Jun 2019 01:45

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Towa Shina » 04 Nov 2019 02:22

Towa Shina wrote:
26 Oct 2019 00:37
I guess my English is so terrible that you can't understand...

Image
Image
Attachments
bug1.png
(336.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet
bug2.png
(292.78 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
vincentkoevoets
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 24
Joined: 14 Nov 2014 10:49
Location: Assen, Netherlands

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by vincentkoevoets » 07 Nov 2019 17:17

Thanks JGR for the latest update! Everything is working now on Catalina, I installed it on a seperate partition :lol: and compiled 0.32.2. It now runs fine on Catalina. Thanks for the continuing efforts man!
I attached the zipfile for 0.32.2 for Mac OS for anyone who wants it.
openttd-custom-jgrpp-0.32.2-MacOS.zip
openttd-custom-jgrpp-0.32.2-MacOS
(8.09 MiB) Downloaded 9 times

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4986
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by andythenorth » 07 Nov 2019 18:09

vincentkoevoets wrote:
07 Nov 2019 17:17
Everything is working now on Catalina, I installed it on a seperate partition :lol: and compiled 0.32.2. It now runs fine on Catalina.
I don't want to derail the JGR thread, but what's the performance like on Catalina? https://github.com/OpenTTD/OpenTTD/issu ... -550555295

User avatar
vincentkoevoets
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 24
Joined: 14 Nov 2014 10:49
Location: Assen, Netherlands

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by vincentkoevoets » 07 Nov 2019 18:23

andythenorth wrote:
07 Nov 2019 18:09
vincentkoevoets wrote:
07 Nov 2019 17:17
Everything is working now on Catalina, I installed it on a seperate partition :lol: and compiled 0.32.2. It now runs fine on Catalina.
I don't want to derail the JGR thread, but what's the performance like on Catalina? https://github.com/OpenTTD/OpenTTD/issu ... -550555295
Well, you tell me.. I'd say it's pretty good. Certainly it runs smooth and I haven't had any problems so far. The screenshot shows a pretty good frame rate, although it's a game I just started on with not very many vehicles in it yet. But everything looks fine to me.
Schermafbeelding 2019-11-07 om 19.20.27.png
(1.66 MiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
JGR
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1984
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 13:46
Location: Ipswich

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by JGR » 08 Nov 2019 00:26

vincentkoevoets wrote:
07 Nov 2019 18:23
andythenorth wrote:
07 Nov 2019 18:09
vincentkoevoets wrote:
07 Nov 2019 17:17
Everything is working now on Catalina, I installed it on a seperate partition :lol: and compiled 0.32.2. It now runs fine on Catalina.
I don't want to derail the JGR thread, but what's the performance like on Catalina? https://github.com/OpenTTD/OpenTTD/issu ... -550555295
Well, you tell me.. I'd say it's pretty good. Certainly it runs smooth and I haven't had any problems so far. The screenshot shows a pretty good frame rate, although it's a game I just started on with not very many vehicles in it yet. But everything looks fine to me.
Schermafbeelding 2019-11-07 om 19.20.27.png
I haven't made any attempt to fix the Mac-specific performance issues. I don't really have any insight/ideas as to how to address those.

The issues that I recently fixed was (as far as I can ascertain without doing any testing on MacOS myself) due to stack misalignment related to a recent xcode issue.
https://github.com/JGRennison/OpenTTD-p ... 132d30be85
Towa Shina wrote:
04 Nov 2019 02:22
Towa Shina wrote:
26 Oct 2019 00:37
I guess my English is so terrible that you can't understand...
I understand what you are saying.
This is just how the cost estimation mechanism works.
It is per-tile and there isn't any tracking of operations which affect adjacent tiles to avoid double accounting.
Ex TTDPatch Coder, Grumpy Greymuzzle
Avatar by MoonsongWolf.
Patch Pack, Github
Dad-Coder since April 2018

Ragin1_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 05:58

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Ragin1_ » 08 Nov 2019 03:27

Not sure if this has been mentioned before but the template train replacement window is massive when you use 2x gfx and font size

https://gyazo.com/2b7805db7ecc4780294f5ea75d2b0ed3

https://gyazo.com/f24a24368a5d863a52fdcc9a55549aa7

I think it might be something to do with the 2x font size as it doesnt have the same issue in jokers patch pack which is missing it

https://gyazo.com/631cc701a2bcf8a2b22d00df16cefc51

https://gyazo.com/33912c23139283dcb702e61574c7d79d

I saw something about resizing the template based train replacement window in the patch notes for 0.32.1 but upgrading to 0.32.2 didnt do anything

User avatar
vincentkoevoets
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 24
Joined: 14 Nov 2014 10:49
Location: Assen, Netherlands

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by vincentkoevoets » 08 Nov 2019 07:39

JGR wrote:
08 Nov 2019 00:26
I haven't made any attempt to fix the Mac-specific performance issues. I don't really have any insight/ideas as to how to address those.
Well I'd say everything runs just fine! I wasn't expecting a fix or anything (and I don't think @andythenorth was either), in fact I don't expect anything at all :)
JGR wrote:
08 Nov 2019 00:26
The issues that I recently fixed was (as far as I can ascertain without doing any testing on MacOS myself) due to stack misalignment related to a recent xcode issue.
https://github.com/JGRennison/OpenTTD-p ... 132d30be85
Well, it worked! Incredible how we are (again) able to play a game this old on our new machines :D

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 591
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by jfs » 08 Nov 2019 13:09

Ragin1_ wrote:
08 Nov 2019 03:27
Not sure if this has been mentioned before but the template train replacement window is massive when you use 2x gfx and font size
Might be related to the change that went into official 1.9.2 (and master a bit before that) which makes specified window/control minimum sizes scaled by the UI scale factor as well. It makes the default UI look much better, especially newspapers, vehicle/station info news, and the red error/question popups. But since TBTR isn't in the official version, its UI was naturally not tested with that change.

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6591
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by Redirect Left » 08 Nov 2019 21:06

This train has been stuck at this station for quite some time, it it stuck at "100%" loading, and has been stuck there long enough for the town rating to bomb down to 'Appalling'. This is running the recent 0.32.2 update, though i dunno if the 'stuck' issue is related to this.

I've saved the game as it is, and i've checked, if you reload the game from this save, it continues to be 'stuck' there. If you skip the train to the next station, it sets off fine, however the next train will arrive and also get stuck on 100%, they will also get stuck at the next station down the line after that, Corwen, which is north west up the track.

Image
Attachments
JUNE2019.sav
(6.31 MiB) Downloaded 9 times
OTTD.png
(322.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
vincentkoevoets
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 24
Joined: 14 Nov 2014 10:49
Location: Assen, Netherlands

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by vincentkoevoets » 09 Nov 2019 21:40

Redirect Left wrote:
08 Nov 2019 21:06
This train has been stuck at this station for quite some time, it it stuck at "100%" loading, and has been stuck there long enough for the town rating to bomb down to 'Appalling'. This is running the recent 0.32.2 update, though i dunno if the 'stuck' issue is related to this.

I've saved the game as it is, and i've checked, if you reload the game from this save, it continues to be 'stuck' there. If you skip the train to the next station, it sets off fine, however the next train will arrive and also get stuck on 100%, they will also get stuck at the next station down the line after that, Corwen, which is north west up the track.

Image
+1

User avatar
einsteinyh
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 36
Joined: 15 Feb 2016 01:22
Location: Bogotá

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by einsteinyh » 11 Nov 2019 00:37

Redirect Left wrote:
08 Nov 2019 21:06
...
Image
It is due to the autotimetable function, at some point you got a wrong time reading that lengthened the timetable (7th stop shows a travel time of 27.000 days). To solve it, reset the automate option to force them to correct timetabling, however, very probably you will have some trains waiting too long until it synchronizes again, maybe it's better for you to organize timings manually and then start the timetable. I do'nt know if the scheduled dispatch might help as I don't know how to use it.
Image
Attachments
Captura.PNG
(131.53 KiB) Not downloaded yet

cmhbob
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 56
Joined: 29 May 2010 06:06
Contact:

Re: JGR's Patch Pack

Post by cmhbob » 12 Nov 2019 01:11

Green Cartage, Dec 28th, 2013.png
(431.05 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Having a problem that may or may not be due to the PP.

I've recently run into trains not being replaced, with a message of "Vehicle is not available." I'm trying to replace an EMD E9 with a GE P42DC Genesis. Both are regular old diesel engines.

If I force the old train to the depot, then sell the engine and buy a new one, it doesn't carry the info over. It just shows up as "Train 123" instead of "Pax MPS-CMH 4" and I have to redo the orders as well.

This does not seem to happen with RV (894 of 900), ships (88 of 500), or aircraft (39 of 200). Train limit is 500.

I currently have 144 trains, running JGRPP 0.31.2. Savegame and screenie attached.
Attachments
Green Cartage, Dec 28th, 2013.sav
(4.14 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
--
Bob
The wrinkles only go where the smiles have been...
Me, elsewhere

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest