"Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators


User avatar
trainman1432
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 306
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 02:34
Location: at home

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by trainman1432 » 10 Aug 2019 16:15

I'd say just making a checklist of materials and cargoes and their corresponding (open) wagons to double-check before packaging?

I'd assume the 2.x versions should largely be for the new rosters right?
Jetrain
YATTC

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4924
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 10 Aug 2019 17:23

trainman1432 wrote:
10 Aug 2019 16:15
I'd say just making a checklist of materials and cargoes and their corresponding (open) wagons to double-check before packaging?
I do actually need to finish cargo support before releasing 2.0.0 :twisted:

Meanwhile, 2.0.0 Beta 2 now on Bananas. Mostly improvements to steam, diesel smoke etc :wink:
  • improved position of vehicle visual effects for many vehicles
  • tweaks to Bean Feast sprites
  • updated translations from web translators

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4924
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 11 Aug 2019 08:26

Does this buy menu text for Very High Speed trains make sense?

These trains have distributed power, attaching dedicated middle units to the correct cab increases the total power of the train. Easy to do in-game, hard to explain in short words.

distributed_power_text.png
distributed_power_text.png (287.16 KiB) Viewed 658 times

Diesel Power
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 146
Joined: 18 Jun 2016 19:05

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Diesel Power » 11 Aug 2019 11:55

Makes sense to me.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4924
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 11 Aug 2019 21:48

Iron Horse 2.0.0 Beta 3 now on Bananas.

All wagons should now show either specific or generic sprites for all cargos. I also fixed a silly bug with engine smoke, plus a few other things. Give it a go :)

Unless new bugs are found, this is the last beta before a 2.0.0 release :twisted:

Changes from 2.0.0 Beta 2
  • show distributed power values in buy menu for cab and middle units of very high speed trains
  • add dedicated mail livery for gen 3 mail cars
  • update Ares livery to match gen 3 passenger and mail cars
  • update Gowsty mail livery to match gen 3 passenger and mail cars
  • cargo sprites complete for
    • alloy steel
    • carbon steel
    • copper
    • coffee
    • fruit
    • logs
    • lumber
    • nuts
    • paper
    • stainless steel
    • steel
  • generic cargo sprites complete for
    • barrels
    • crates
    • tarps
  • tweaks to multiple sprites
  • fix steam engine tenders showing smoke
  • updated translations from web translators

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4924
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth » 13 Aug 2019 15:22

Arikover discovered a bug in 2.0.0 Beta 3 :twisted:

Iron Horse earliest start date is given as 1860, but due to randomisation of intro dates, some vehicles might not be available in 1860. This can cause the situation where there are engines but no suitable wagons, or similar situations. The missing vehicles will become available over time, the 1860 trains should all be introduced by June 1861 or so.

This won't be fixed for Iron Horse 2.0.0, but I will fix it in a later release. The workaround for 2.0.0 is just to let the game run a bit, or start later than 1860. :)


SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 621
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by SimYouLater » 16 Aug 2019 00:52

I could test it. What's the most likely thing to have a bug?
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

Lionic
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 166
Joined: 02 Jun 2014 09:13

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Lionic » 16 Aug 2019 09:49

andythenorth wrote:
15 Aug 2019 21:02
No more bugs then? :shock:
Actually I've got one minor issue, do not know if you are going to fix it. Sometimes tender overlaps the Spinner engine, sometimes not. I have attached screenshot, hopefully you'll understand what I mean.
Attachments
spinner.png
spinner.png (10.33 KiB) Viewed 225 times


Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], wallyweb and 11 guests