How can I make towns accept goods?

General talk about Transport Tycoon that isn't specific to TTD, TTDPatch or OpenTTD.
Post Reply
-runar-
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Mar 2004 10:15

How can I make towns accept goods?

Post by -runar- »

Hi.

How can I make towns accept goods?
Do I need a railroad station?
Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

Post by Prof. Frink »

Only towns above a certain size will accept goods.

Stimulate growth by transporting passengers and mail.
User avatar
ThorRune
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5762
Joined: 09 Oct 2003 14:00
Location: Nordland, Norway
Contact:

Post by ThorRune »

In temperate there should be a big enough town from the start. In desert, there should be some big towns in the jungle soon enough, tho in quite siome time. Could be hard to get into. Arctic i havent played.
Alcohol is not the answer, it just makes you forget the question.
SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 14278
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII »

Zetor2003 wrote:In temperate there should be a big enough town from the start. In desert, there should be some big towns in the jungle soon enough, tho in quite siome time. Could be hard to get into. Arctic i havent played.
don't listen to Zetor ... everything depends on towns and buildings in it (that makes also depending on year since in future there will be better and bigger buildings) ... towns are growing if you servicing them (transporting passengers, mail, etc) ... it is good way to allow exists AI because it usually creates buses or trains and towns grow faster

btw. Zetor you are saying that you are great TT fan but you never played artcic ? it's somthing opposite
what are you looking at? it's a signature!
-runar-
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Mar 2004 10:15

Post by -runar- »

Thanks, but how i make towns grow faster? I have many trains, airplanes, buses and more but just one of the towns at the map is growing. Im in 1977 and I started in 1930. I dont need money.
Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

Post by Prof. Frink »

Just run bus services in small towns and they'll expand.
When they're larger, connect different towns by trains.
User avatar
Speed Wheels Inc.
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Mar 2004 13:54
Location: Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands

Post by Speed Wheels Inc. »

-runar- wrote:Thanks, but how i make towns grow faster? I have many trains, airplanes, buses and more but just one of the towns at the map is growing. Im in 1977 and I started in 1930. I dont need money.
Go to the local authority and fund new buildings... It's gonna cost you some money, but you will make a lot more...
User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

-runar- wrote:Thanks, but how i make towns grow faster?
Try the settings for the towngrowth in my config file
I copied them from someone else and this makes my towns grow much faster (true !!!)
Attachments
ttdpatch.cfg
(23.27 KiB) Downloaded 85 times
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future
User avatar
Steve
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2085
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 20:19
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Steve »

Make sure you can build close to the city center too. The buildings that allow goods often disspear, making your station lose the goods thingy. If that does happen though, funding new buildings usually brings it back.
Post Reply

Return to “General Transport Tycoon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests