Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Purno wrote:
Speaking of train sets... any chance of a typical Dutch railroad crossing, or should that be something for a roadset?

FooBar wrote:
Railroad crossings are part of track sets. So if we're doing a complementary (to the trainset) track set then we can have those. However we can add some level crossing sprites to the trainset for the case no track set is loaded.

Purno wrote:
Hm, I guess we could do a Dutch Rail Furniture set including Catenary, Signals and the Level Crossings perhaps?

Since it'd be silly to make a Dutch track set just for the level crossings, and placing Dutch level crossings in a Generic or European track set makes no sense either.

FooBar wrote:
That's quite the good idea you have there! I'm all for that. :D


So, here we are.

Dutch Rail Furniture
DevZone: http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/dutchrailfurniture

The set is intended to include at least;
  • The Dutch Catenary
  • The Dutch Signals
  • A brand new Dutch level crossing

And suggestions are welcome. Note that there's already a Dutch Stationset, a Dutch trainset and a Dutch Road Furniture set, so we won't add stations, trains and road furniture in this one :mrgreen:

Since the Catenary is also popular amongst non-Dutchies, it's probably a good idea to have the option to use the Catenary without the signals and level crossing.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2332
Location: Alberta, Canada
Waypoints? Any additions to a bridge set with famous Dutch bridges?

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Waypoints should IMO be part of a stations set, but that's debatable.
But what I would like to see as waypoints are these yellow and green triangular signs that indicate an increase or decrease in speed limit. That would be nice combined with the new OpenTTD feature that allows to speed limits with orders.

Bridges are a bit tricky, as road and rail bridges cannot be separated. Also, NML doesn't support bridges yet. So I'd say bridges is something for the future.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2539
Purno wrote:
The set is intended to include at least;
  • The Dutch Catenary
  • The Dutch Signals
  • A brand new Dutch level crossing

And suggestions are welcome. Note that there's already a Dutch Stationset, a Dutch trainset and a Dutch Road Furniture set, so we won't add stations, trains and road furniture in this one :mrgreen:

Since the Catenary is also popular amongst non-Dutchies, it's probably a good idea to have the option to use the Catenary without the signals and level crossing.


Maybe a parameter setting for each? I personally find the Dutch signals a bit unclear in OpenTTD, visibility is not that great when looking from the back/sides, but I would be very interested in the level crossings and catenary.

Maybe also include some fences? I know OpenTTD can only have one fence set loaded at a time, but it would be nice to have the possibility to have some Dutch fences along the railroad.

Small off topic: And what about a Dutch Building/Object set?

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Yes, there will be parameters to disable each part individually.

I can already see the headline: "Dutch to take over the world of OpenTTD" :P

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 4:04 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:36 am
Posts: 590
Location: Netherlands
FooBar wrote:
Waypoints should IMO be part of a stations set, but that's debatable.
But what I would like to see as waypoints are these yellow and green triangular signs that indicate an increase or decrease in speed limit. That would be nice combined with the new OpenTTD feature that allows to speed limits with orders.

Bridges are a bit tricky, as road and rail bridges cannot be separated. Also, NML doesn't support bridges yet. So I'd say bridges is something for the future.


Like the idea of speed signs. Maybe in combination with relais boxes.

Just like in this picture, funny I found a picture with exact the way i think the sprites must look like. (except the graffity
Image
Rotterdam, 21-07-2010 by Mcn_Martijn, on Flickr

Edit: I don't see a reason why stations aren't include din this set?

A idea just came to my mind. Add dutch looking railway tunnels as well, i know they are hard to find...
But something concrete like this will do i think, older railway tunnel the "velser tunnel" may be an example.
Image

_________________
View my (train)pictures on Flickr


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
Nice!! And not only for what may come in this set, but also that it combines the dutch catenary and signals, one more free spot in my GRF list! 8)

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
I've tried some quick work on a level crossing, but how do I need to temple these sprites?

Also, is it possible to have two different types of level crossings? Either time-dependant or track-dependant?


Attachments:
overweg.png
overweg.png [ 6.07 KiB | Viewed 9492 times ]

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 6:59 pm
Posts: 1879
Location: Netherlands
Looking good! May I suggest adding a level crossing sort of thing for stations as well? Just like ISR has, it's not actually usable but it's nice to look at and could be made for central platforms (inbetween the tracks), such as here (Vlaardingen Centrum): http://www.groenlinks.vlaardingen.nl/im ... ks_103.jpg

Couldn't really find a better photo lol, fortunatly we have Google Maps: http://g.co/maps/phs2n

_________________
Je suis le patron et je vous emmerde!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Sure, but that would belong in the station set, wouldn't it? :)

EDIT: And I don't know if we can make level crossings operational on station tiles.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 6909
Purno wrote:
Also, is it possible to have two different types of level crossings? Either time-dependant or track-dependant?

each tracktype can have its own level crossing, and you can additionally check the town zone (paved/unpaved) for further variation

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Different graphics: as we're doing simple ActionA replacement here, we can only have different graphics in town and outside town (i.e. with pavement or without pavement).

As for the templating this means that we need to make sprites with the road tiles underneath. Ideally the sprites should be templated so that they can be pasted on top of any road tile. Working with layers in a graphics editor will help significantly with that.

As for a station with level crossings it's possible to detect if a train has reserved the tile. So it will work in a station with path signals. Basically the same behaviour as in some of the stations in ISR, with a shed on top of the track which opens the doors automatically.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 6909
FooBar wrote:
As for a station with level crossings it's possible to detect if a train has reserved the tile. So it will work in a station with path signals.

in OpenTTD, a train (almost) always reserves the trackbits it is currently on, even without path signals, so the effect might work there as well.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
FooBar wrote:
Different graphics: as we're doing simple ActionA replacement here, we can only have different graphics in town and outside town (i.e. with pavement or without pavement).


Why do we use this "simple ActionA" if Eddi knows a way to have different graphics per tracktype?

Quote:
As for the templating this means that we need to make sprites with the road tiles underneath. Ideally the sprites should be templated so that they can be pasted on top of any road tile. Working with layers in a graphics editor will help significantly with that.


Hmpf, layers...
Will attached imagine suffice? If so, any chance you could do a quick simple ActionA replacement so I can see if the animation turns out well ingame? :mrgreen:


Attachments:
overweg.png [29.86 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:00 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:04 pm
Posts: 258
Location: Finland
FooBar wrote:
As for a station with level crossings it's possible to detect if a train has reserved the tile. So it will work in a station with path signals. Basically the same behaviour as in some of the stations in ISR, with a shed on top of the track which opens the doors automatically.


Hey, that's very nice to know! :) I'll do just that in Finnish Infrastructure and Stations Set, that will be very nice feature. :)

_________________
Projects in progress: Finnish Trainset (DevZone)| Finnish Rail Infrastructure and Stations Set (DevZone)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2384
Location: Kent
Purno wrote:
Also, is it possible to have two different types of level crossings? Either time-dependant or track-dependant?


NuTracks has different crossings depending on what track is used, so yes you can have different crossings track-dependant.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 2:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Purno wrote:
Why do we use this "simple ActionA" if Eddi knows a way to have different graphics per tracktype?

What Eddi suggests only works for railtypes, so that must be included in a railtype grf.
It may be worth seeing if I can modify the original railtypes this way.
Either way, "simple ActionA" makes it static-compatible, so you can put this grf as static and have it applied to all games automatically, even savegames.

Purno wrote:
Will attached imagine suffice?

Yes, that will do fine. I can easily do the layers bit from this :)
Thanks! I'll put a link in the issue tracker so we can easily find this back whenever I can start coding this.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:52 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:58 pm
Posts: 4
I understand that everybody going to tell Purno, "WHERE"S THE DOWNLOAD!!!".


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
roadsignordeals wrote:
I understand that everybody going to tell Purno, "WHERE"S THE DOWNLOAD!!!".


Ah yes, thanks for the reminder.

Though I guess we kinda need to make a download first :P

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 7:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
most of the netherlands have both-way beams (blocking both lanes with either 2 beams or 1 beam stretching both)

security reasons...

any chance that works in ottd as well?

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.