Motivation after years of playing

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

gogo214
Engineer
Engineer

Motivation after years of playing

Post by gogo214 »

hey guys,

I have been playing ottd for many years now tried different grf, climates, ai-s. I even made a couple of scenarios. This game is awesome I even have it on my mobile phone. This game is too great for me to stop playing but I just feel theres nothing more to be played.

Do you ever feel like it? Do you have any suggestions to make the game attractive again.

I wanted to post screenshot of my last game but it was 90 MB which I guess nobody will bother do download. Maybe I will post it later in case anyone wants to see it.
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: Motivation after years of playing

Post by FooBar »

I tend to make NewGRFs when I don't feel like playing :P

But you can set yourself different challenges:
- very mountainous terrain, and then build with the terrain, terraforming as little as possible
- use a base cost grf to make things more expensive
- enable inflation together with ukrs2, start the game in 1850 or something: in later years it will get very difficult to make a profit due to inflation
- try one of the cargo destination patches: cargodist or yacd
just to name a few :)
gogo214
Engineer
Engineer

Post by gogo214 »

yeah I've tried all of that already I've been playing this game for over 10 years now. I finished a scenario that I have created and I've been playing it for past 4 months and now that there's nothing more to build there I just feel like this game has nothing left to offer and thats just disappointing
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Post by Zuu »

(in 1.2 or recent nightly) Play with the game script "neighbours are important" and select a town to grow. You will then need to supply an increasing amount of cargo each month for it to continue to grow.