Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Well, makes no difference to me. Maybe we can "round up" the rest of the tiles, too - is it possible to use the arctic / jungle tile, somehow? There's groundtype_snow and groundtype_desert, but the others I think are just groundtype_normal and use the same sprite ID, which makes me suspect the answer is "no", but maybe there is a way?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:24 pm
Posts: 123
Pyoro wrote:
Sucks.
Attachment:
The attachment grfs.png is no longer available

That's the full GRF list for that game in the original screenshot. Don't forget that some of those GRFs have parameters.

Whatever it is, it's definitely not Canadian ;)


As a remote PS: on the topic: I haven't forgotten about my promise for trees. I simply got hit with a severe case of real-life. I suspect I'll get over it at some point though ^^;


to use the TBRS Bridges:
->>>>
Image

By the way...thanks for the snowtile !!!!


Attachments:
ttrsprobs.PNG [78.89 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 5:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
I just can't leave this alone, can I? I noticed a small consistency problem when using the GRF with Japanese landscape and dynamic snow (whatever precisely the feature is called). Basically, since the original TTD baseset only has a "snow" and no "snowy rocks" or anything you'd normally just place a snow tile, so there was no specific need to make rock tiles or anything snow-sensitive; it'd just end up being a boring snow tile anyway - might as well use the standard ground tiles. But if you use Japanese landscape (or a similar GRF I suppose) then you might want some rocks in summer, and them not sticking out in winter, so, of course, something had to be done.
This version (sort of) corrects that oversight.
Attachment:
snowy_rocks.png
snowy_rocks.png [ 72.87 KiB | Viewed 1225 times ]

There's no other changes, so it's really only of interest for this rather specific case.


Attachments:
emptygrf.7z [7.35 KiB]
Downloaded 27 times
emptygrf_source.7z [11.52 KiB]
Downloaded 25 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 4:34 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
Thanks for the continued updates Pyoro :bow:

There's nothing wrong with not leaving it along... Changes and fixes are always welcome

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Heh. Well, there's always something more to do ... which is usually the reason why I don't update the Bananas version, but looking back at my track record at then actually doing anything extra this time I updated the upload (the farm objects, too).

Attachment:
snowtile.png
snowtile.png [ 1.14 KiB | Viewed 1127 times ]

I'm nonetheless thinking about adding snowy-rocks, maybe like this. Not entirely sure whether I like them better fully covered in snow (but still sort-of visible below) or exposed like in that example. I'll have to mediate on that a bit more. ^^


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2531
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Like the idea of some rock showing .. otherwise if all white with snow never be able to see it .. be like trying to find a polar bear in a snow storm :)

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:48 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 168
Your empty.grf is one of my favourite NewGRFs. However, I notice with your update v10 (from v7) the forest tiles are no longer available. Is this right, please, or might I myself be doing something wrong?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
That's WAD.
Trees are here now:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=71786

I unfortunately never got around to finishing that, but it's everything that was in EmptyGRF + a bit exta, I think. Maybe I'll get back to it, otherwise, the source is there, so anyone should feel free to add as objects as wanted ;)

€: also, thanks for appreciating this little GRF ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
"Again"?! Yeahyeah, I'm getting tired of this, too ...

Anyway, this is a super-small update that changes how snow/desert transitions are handled a tiny bit (if you look at that screenshot up there it just replaced a rock tile with a "full" snow tile, now transition tiles matter, too), and keeps showing the type of "real" type of terrain in transparency mode, which is kinda useful when playing with a dynamic snowline. Also some small code improvements I think. Clean-up, basically (look how the source file is now 3 KiB smaller! Amazing ^^)

No sreenshots since the only thing to see is that there's not much to see :mrgreen:


Attachments:
emptygrf.7z [7.42 KiB]
Downloaded 35 times
EmptyGRF_Source.7z [8 KiB]
Downloaded 22 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:04 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
Hi Pyoro, thanks for the continued updates to these GRFs.

One quick request is to consider merging all four GRFs back into one (Empty, Forest, Farm, Parking); since you've split the GRFs up, i've reached the 59 GRF limit - and I'm sure I'm not alone.

If you've split them up for easier maintenance i can appreciate that; but if splitting simply to allow more control over selection of which graphics a user wants would this not better be served with a parameter?
E.g Parameter value of 1 is Just Empty Tiles, Parameter of 1+2 (Value of 3) is Empty + Forest Tiles, Parameter of 1+2+3+4 (Value of 10) is All three sets, with other mixtures set according to value; for example 1+3 (Value of 4) would give Empty + Farm Tiles and so on...

This would allow users to select the tile sets that they want but mean that everything is done using just one GRFID instead of four.

Many thanks

Jacob

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
JacobD88 wrote:
If you've split them up for easier maintenance i can appreciate that; but if splitting simply to allow more control over selection of which graphics a user wants would this not better be served with a parameter?

It's true that it's mostly to keep things simple. Even a does-nothing-much-at-all GRF like this one easily has a few hundred lines. I'll think about it, though. Again ^^;

If you want to do it yourself, all you need to do is stick to one grf { } block and otherwise just c&p the nml and language files into each other. and compile a GRF. It's really no large amount of work, shouldn't require any extra work or anything.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Empty Tile GRF
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Still aiming for 100 versions :mrgreen:

Hell water tile objects now freeze over when placed above snowline:
Attachment:
frozen_lake.png
frozen_lake.png [ 26.34 KiB | Viewed 145 times ]

A-mazing!

Nothing else to say about it. Well, it now contains 1 file of graphics so the empty-ness has become a lie, I guess ... :shock:

Attachment:
emptygrf.7z [1.85 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times

Attachment:
emptygrf_source.7z [9.49 KiB]
Downloaded 7 times


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rowdog and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.