Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Kamnet's Sprite Sandbox
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
So, in the spirit of trying to be a more productive member of this community, I've had a lot of ideas floating around in my head about what I'd like to see, particularly with the graphics. I'd like to see them come to light, but truth of the matter is that I don't have any talent as a pixel artist. I'd love to inspire those who can draw to flesh out my ideas, but there's plenty of people who can talk up ideas, few people who can draw, and those artists are generally tied up in massive projects of their own that will leave their legacy on this project and they have no time for sleep, family life or work let alone finishing their own project. If you can't finish it yourself, abandon all hope.

Well, maybe not all hope. So I'll throw this out here and see if anybody wants to run with it. If I can start getting some basic pixels, would anybody be interested in fleshing them out to a finished product? I'd be very happy if we could keep this all public domain so that everybody can benefit, put them into NewGRFs (which I can't code, because I suck at that too! But I'm trying!), or use it to make something better.

SPRITES IN DEVELOPMENT
  • Lift-Gate Dam / Hydroelectric Dam v1 | v2 | v3
  • Heljan Container Terminal sprites

SPRITES RELEASED

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Last edited by kamnet on Tue Feb 04, 2014 2:27 pm, edited 9 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
My first sprite I've started working on is a one-tile dam or hydroelectric dam. This is inspired by some of the locks and dams I've recently seen placed on the Ohio River. These dams are roughly 25-50 feet high and are used to create long stretches of navigable river deep enough to accommodate commercial traffic.

Here's my version sofar. And, yes, it sucks. :D No real attempt at shading, I can't draw a straight line to save my life, but I think it kinda-sorta represents what I'd like to see. As-drawn it looks more like a lift-gate dam, but maybe if it can be animated with some water running over the top it can look like a hydroelectric dam? Hopefully this will complement the in-game river lock graphic.


Attachments:
hydrodam.png
hydrodam.png [ 2.57 KiB | Viewed 11205 times ]
hydrodam.pcx [2.58 KiB]
Downloaded 239 times

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:48 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9006
Location: Sol d
Hm, interesting. I just recently thought about making use of all those un-used features which concern rivers and canals in OpenTTD:
http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... ion0Canals
http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... ion2Canals

I've no idea so far how all those action0 are to be understood and interpreted, but it'd be interesting to see. On the other hand it'd make IMHO sense to re-work this whole thing slightly to a kind of river types (which just over-draws the ground) before it starts to become utilized...

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2325
Location: Alberta, Canada
For a starter.. that's a good image Kamnet. Keep it up :)

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
It is nice thing but where it is supposed to be placed?

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
Kogut wrote:
It is nice thing but where it is supposed to be placed?


Attachment:
hydrodam-screen.png
hydrodam-screen.png [ 39.93 KiB | Viewed 11149 times ]


Photoshopped. Actually, that's a pretty good guesstimate on the scale considering I didn't even bring up the lock to compare it to when I created it. Top of the dams probably need to be several pixels higher. And with that much space available, you could create this as a lift-gate dam with space at the top for the support structures for the gate.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
LOL Excellent work! :))

I'm just wondering how many of us are working - or intend to work - on dams... :mrgreen:

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2325
Location: Alberta, Canada
When SAC says she may intend to work on dams, does this mean that in the future a screenshot will appear in your thread of a land filled with various dams, waterfalls, springs ? :P

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:23 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
I actually made the suggestion to SAC a few months ago about creating a dam. She said she'd consider it but couldn't fit it into her current development schedule. Originally when I was thinking of dams I was thinking of large gravity dams such as Hoover Dam. These smaller damns just happened to catch my attention today and I figured I'd give it a go.

Speaking of which, here's another revision. I realized why I was so frustrated the first time around, it's because I was trying to use Paint.Net for pixel editing and it really isn't suited for that at all. I dug up good 'ol MS Paint and gave that a spin, I think that resolved most of my issues. Gave a little follow-up in Paint.Net to add the water graphics.

Attachment:
hydrodam-screen2.png
hydrodam-screen2.png [ 18.33 KiB | Viewed 11104 times ]


Attachments:
hydrodam-2.png
hydrodam-2.png [ 1.55 KiB | Viewed 11104 times ]
hydrodam-2.pcx [2.04 KiB]
Downloaded 149 times

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
I wonder is it possible to put it into openttd :? Not as railway station tile, eyecandy objects are impossible (yet?)...

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:17 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Hey, those sprites aren't bad at all. You got the scale and isometric view correct, which is a very important base =P
Detailing and shading is just the next step :) Keep up the good work!

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
After some sleep here's a third try at it (thanks for the encouragement. BTW feel free to jump in and just finish this off if you get the urge 8) )

Attachment:
hydrodam-screen3.png
hydrodam-screen3.png [ 18.56 KiB | Viewed 11023 times ]


Attachments:
hydrodam-3.png
hydrodam-3.png [ 1.57 KiB | Viewed 11021 times ]
hydrodam-3.pcx [2.17 KiB]
Downloaded 169 times

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:45 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 454
Time to change your thread title, I'd say. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
Kogut wrote:
I wonder is it possible to put it into openttd :? Not as railway station tile, eyecandy objects are impossible (yet?)...


I don't see how you could put it into OTTD right now. Station tiles can only be placed on flat ground, this sprite covers a slope instead. And it would have to be tied to the water tiles for it to look correct, otherwise you'll get the concrete edges from the water tiles appearing. It could probably be added into TTDX's NewObjects.

el koeno wrote:
Time to change your thread title, I'd say. :)


Kamnet's Graphics that Suck, But Less!

:?:

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5024
kamnet wrote:
Station tiles can only be placed on flat ground

Nope. Since ages in TTDPatch (and since somewhere in january in OTTD) it´s possible to place them on slopes as well (track and slope in parallel, o/c). See e.g. this thread for screenshots

Apart from this, "objects" shouldn´t be coded as railway stations from obvious reasons.

kamnet wrote:
It could probably be added into TTDX's NewObjects.

NewObjects would be the best choice, indeed.

I´ve already been working on a collection of newobjects in the past, and I´m currently reviving it now that TTDPatch development of newobjects got a new impetus. Weirs (height level difference = 1) and dams (height level difference = 2) will be included (there were already single tile weirs for rivers), among other things. I´ll show some screenshots when implemented (soon).

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
el koeno wrote:
Time to change your thread title, I'd say. :)


Yeah, couldn't agree more! This are professional work indeed... :))

kamnet wrote:
Kogut wrote:
I wonder is it possible to put it into openttd :? Not as railway station tile, eyecandy objects are impossible (yet?)...


I don't see how you could put it into OTTD right now. Station tiles can only be placed on flat ground, this sprite covers a slope instead. And it would have to be tied to the water tiles for it to look correct, otherwise you'll get the concrete edges from the water tiles appearing. It could probably be added into TTDX's NewObjects.


They certainly can! Into TTDP's New Objects feature I mean!

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Or replace the sloped river tiles with this dam.

A larger dam could work fine as Object. Or maybe even as industry. Imagine a hydro-electric dam accepting water :P

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 12:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5024
FooBar wrote:
Or replace the sloped river tiles with this dam.

I had such tiles for rivers, though they never got released. IIRC, this was due to lacking randomisation for river water tiles back then.

W/r to newobjects, I´ve been thinking about "integration" of special newobject water tiles with river/canal tiles. Unfortunately, it didn´t seem possible to overbuild e.g. a river slope with a newobject tile. I´ll have to see what´s possible now.

FooBar wrote:
Imagine a hydro-electric dam accepting water :P

Delivered by tank waggons ... good thing is that we don´t need electricity in game. :P

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
michael blunck wrote:
...delivered by tank waggons ... good thing is that we don´t need electricity in game. :P

regards
Michael


But it would have been a nice challenge, making sure everything is powered up... :mrgreen:

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5024
[OT]

SAC wrote:
it would have been a nice challenge, making sure everything is powered up... :mrgreen:

Simutrans has this feature.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.