UK Network Rail Map

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

SamMacca
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

UK Network Rail Map

Post by SamMacca »

Morning all..

I was having a browse earlier on and after reading through welshdragon's topic about the Franchised Network (http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=47993) I thought about a save game that would have all the Network Rail tracks in the UK, laid already.
The original scenario I was going to use is the 'England and Wales Scenario'. Credits to Brickie and Wasila for making that, its awesome. I understand that theres no Scotland on there but I think that map is the right size for it, the scale seems right.

Now I've searched for it and, correct me if I'm wrong, no-one seems to have made one before. So.. I was thinking about doing it myself.
The only problem being I'm not very good at the whole junction, signals, multiple track stuff. Don't get me wrong I'm quite happy to make one myself, just the quality wouldn't be as good as say, someone who actually knew what they were doing :]

The map I've found is this one; http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/passenger ... plarge.pdf
It shows all the tracks, stations etc. If you look at it then you'll be thinking 'daaammnn thats alotta track' but I don't think it would be that much of a problem.

Don't slate me saying 'oh, do it yourself if its not a problem' and all that jazz because I will do it myself. Its just that it'll be about as good as a finger in eye. Which is why I'm putting the idea forward for other people to do it, aswell as saying 'Hey, I'm gunna do this'..

So, let me know what you all think. Any suggestions etc.
Cause if no-ones too bothered then I'll keep it for myself, muahahahaaha :]

Cheers y'all..
ImageImageImage

James Hetfield.. God..
EXTspotter
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: UK Network Rail Map

Post by EXTspotter »