Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:07 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 120 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

How?
Cool :) 96%  96%  [ 112 ]
Crap :) 4%  4%  [ 5 ]
Total votes: 117
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:59 pm
Posts: 21
Obsolete.


Last edited by Ev on Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:55 pm, edited 26 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:40 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:59 pm
Posts: 21
----------


Last edited by Ev on Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:59 pm
Posts: 21
----------


Last edited by Ev on Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:55 pm, edited 14 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:44 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:38 pm
Posts: 134
Wow... nicely done.

[EDIT] Is it possible to achieve the 'drop' as seen in '4' anywhere on the map, or only when next to existing structures? E.g., can you just drop a hillside where you want a 'cliff' look for your rail line? [/EDIT]

_________________
Many thanks to those who make OTTD and TTDP possible.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:05 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:59 pm
Posts: 21
----------


Last edited by Ev on Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:54 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:13 pm
Posts: 399
Location: Nørup, Denmark
I'm impressed :)

I didn't read the diff but the screenies are showing a lot of promise :)

_________________
Code:
if (YouAreHappyAndYouKnowIt) {
    ClapYourHands();
}


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:12 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:11 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Amsterdam
Great! This gives the game another realistic aspect. I like constructional realism :-)
(If it were up to me, it should also be possible to build bridges over more than 1 level of height difference. Bridges like these are found much in Switserland and the hilly regions of Germany, where they are aquaducts at the same time.)

I guess that a properly programmed AI might benefit from this patch as well. My first impression is that it might be easier to develop an AI with this patch than without. But then again, patches usually become optional. :-(

_________________
A game worth playing is a game worth modding :-)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark
Looks promising, did you try to patch it against trunk or nightly?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Ah nice, as I've said on IRC earlier today :).

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
great!
i hope for your patch to find its way to trunk very easy :D

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:40 pm
Posts: 1
Sweet work. Thanks for this :)

I wanna see this in OpenTTD.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
This deserves to be into the trunk, remindes me of Locomotion.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:57 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:48 am
Posts: 1507
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
It really amuses me...
Everyone is begging for this patch to be included in trunk, only one person noticed that the patch is done against 0.5.2 (aprat from EV), which was still done in C, while trunk is in C++ (ok, not entirely C++, but still).

In other words, it cannot go in trunk as it is.

As for the patch itself, I like it very much :) Very well done

_________________
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:00 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 140
Location: melbourne.au
Very nice, top work Ev. :D

Now, as belugas said, if you could just update it to C++ so it can be considered for inclusion into trunk. :twisted:


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:36 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
This is essentially the same thing as autoslope in TTDP? :)

I would like to call the honorable gentleman (either Ev or belugas, whichever is the more honorable ;))'s attention to callback 3C.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:01 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 11491
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
Nifty! It would make plowing trough cities a lot easier! :D

_________________
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote (TT-Forums member)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:54 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:26 am
Posts: 141
I've wanted the ability to tunnel down and accross, the opposite to making a bridge from a slope to ground, with a tunnel so you dont have to landscape the area for the tunnel to dodge an industry city or station etc.

Could this be adopted for that use?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:52 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5349
Location: The Moon
doghousedean wrote:
Could this be adopted for that use?


If you mean something like this, then yes. If you mean can you put a tunnel entrance on a flat piece of ground, then no.


Attachments:
autoslopetunnel.png
autoslopetunnel.png [ 13.28 KiB | Viewed 5798 times ]

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Current development: UKRS3 - Av9.8 - TaI32 - CivilAI
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAI API - NoGo API
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:15 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:26 am
Posts: 141
I think i can live with the above example, does the same job i suppose.


Cool patch by the way.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
People seem to forget that we once had this feature in trunk, although it was somewhat buggy, it only worked for raising land IIRC and it didn't work on some tile configurations. I think that is why it was removed, and it was Darkvater who did that IIRC, he also said that he would re-implement the feature but without the bugs IIRC.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 120 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.