Patch: Build UNDER Slopes

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

How?

Cool :)
112
96%
Crap :)
5
4%
 
Total votes: 117

Ev
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 18:59

Patch: Build UNDER Slopes

Post by Ev »

Obsolete.
Last edited by Ev on 27 Jun 2007 21:55, edited 26 times in total.

Ev
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 18:59

Post by Ev »

----------
Last edited by Ev on 27 Jun 2007 21:54, edited 2 times in total.

Ev
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 18:59

Post by Ev »

----------
Last edited by Ev on 27 Jun 2007 21:55, edited 14 times in total.

Chicago Rail Authority
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 134
Joined: 09 Nov 2006 23:38

Post by Chicago Rail Authority »

Wow... nicely done.

[EDIT] Is it possible to achieve the 'drop' as seen in '4' anywhere on the map, or only when next to existing structures? E.g., can you just drop a hillside where you want a 'cliff' look for your rail line? [/EDIT]
Many thanks to those who make OTTD and TTDP possible.

Ev
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 18:59

Post by Ev »

----------
Last edited by Ev on 27 Jun 2007 21:56, edited 1 time in total.

kaan
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 399
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 20:13
Location: Nørup, Denmark

Post by kaan »

I'm impressed :)

I didn't read the diff but the screenies are showing a lot of promise :)

Code: Select all

if (YouAreHappyAndYouKnowIt) {
    ClapYourHands();
}

griffin71
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 142
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 13:11
Location: Amsterdam

Post by griffin71 »

Great! This gives the game another realistic aspect. I like constructional realism :-)
(If it were up to me, it should also be possible to build bridges over more than 1 level of height difference. Bridges like these are found much in Switserland and the hilly regions of Germany, where they are aquaducts at the same time.)

I guess that a properly programmed AI might benefit from this patch as well. My first impression is that it might be easier to develop an AI with this patch than without. But then again, patches usually become optional. :-(
A game worth playing is a game worth modding :-)

User avatar
Juhl
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 26
Joined: 27 Jan 2007 23:20
Location: Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark

Post by Juhl »

Looks promising, did you try to patch it against trunk or nightly?

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC »

Ah nice, as I've said on IRC earlier today :).
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2013
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

great!
i hope for your patch to find its way to trunk very easy :D

leviathan400
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Jun 2007 22:40

Post by leviathan400 »

Sweet work. Thanks for this :)

I wanna see this in OpenTTD.

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Post by athanasios »

This deserves to be into the trunk, remindes me of Locomotion.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

User avatar
belugas
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1507
Joined: 05 Apr 2005 01:48
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Contact:

Post by belugas »

It really amuses me...
Everyone is begging for this patch to be included in trunk, only one person noticed that the patch is done against 0.5.2 (aprat from EV), which was still done in C, while trunk is in C++ (ok, not entirely C++, but still).

In other words, it cannot go in trunk as it is.

As for the patch itself, I like it very much :) Very well done
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones

User avatar
dev|ant
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 140
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 11:26
Location: melbourne.au

Post by dev|ant »

Very nice, top work Ev. :D

Now, as belugas said, if you could just update it to C++ so it can be considered for inclusion into trunk. :twisted:

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5459
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird »

This is essentially the same thing as autoslope in TTDP? :)

I would like to call the honorable gentleman (either Ev or belugas, whichever is the more honorable ;))'s attention to callback 3C.

User avatar
Mr. X
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11501
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 22:45
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
Contact:

Post by Mr. X »

Nifty! It would make plowing trough cities a lot easier! :D
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote (TT-Forums member)

doghousedean
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 141
Joined: 30 Apr 2007 10:26

Post by doghousedean »

I've wanted the ability to tunnel down and accross, the opposite to making a bridge from a slope to ground, with a tunnel so you dont have to landscape the area for the tunnel to dodge an industry city or station etc.

Could this be adopted for that use?

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5459
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird »

doghousedean wrote:Could this be adopted for that use?
If you mean something like this, then yes. If you mean can you put a tunnel entrance on a flat piece of ground, then no.
Attachments
autoslopetunnel.png
autoslopetunnel.png (13.28 KiB) Viewed 6141 times

doghousedean
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 141
Joined: 30 Apr 2007 10:26

Post by doghousedean »

I think i can live with the above example, does the same job i suppose.


Cool patch by the way.

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC »

People seem to forget that we once had this feature in trunk, although it was somewhat buggy, it only worked for raising land IIRC and it didn't work on some tile configurations. I think that is why it was removed, and it was Darkvater who did that IIRC, he also said that he would re-implement the feature but without the bugs IIRC.
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Locked

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests