The NewHouses branch has now been merged into trunk

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
Maedhros
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 603
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 18:24
Location: Durham, UK

The NewHouses branch has now been merged into trunk

Post by Maedhros »

As the title says, the NewHouses branch is now being compiled by the compile farm, and you can find the files here: http://nightly.openttd.org/newhouses/files/. :D

Merging the branch is still a little way off, but it's mostly complete and works for all the newhouse grfs I've tried - TTRS2 (modified by Aegir) and the North American Building Set (not officially released yet) which can both be found in Aegir's projects thread, and the JapanSet buildings which can be found here: http://www.as-st.com/ttd/japan/index.html.

So, have fun with it (and with TTRS3 when that's released :D) and if you find any bugs, or have any comments, please post them in this thread.
Last edited by Maedhros on 19 Mar 2007 11:32, edited 1 time in total.
No-one's more important than the earthworm.

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit »

Whoaaaaah. :bow:

My virtual £10 says that by tomorrow there'll be 5 screenshots showing it off in this thread alone, nevermind the Screenshots forum. :P
Last edited by White Rabbit on 05 Dec 2006 00:05, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
mart3p
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1032
Joined: 31 Oct 2005 21:00
Location: UK

Post by mart3p »

Good to see NewHouses almost done. :)

I started a test game using TTRS2. I found a small bug, a "hanging" office building appeared in 1952. I don't think this is supposed to appear until about 2000.
Attachments
Sudtown Transport, 3rd Apr 1952.png
Sudtown Transport, 3rd Apr 1952.png (93.44 KiB) Viewed 13408 times
Image

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit »

I get that office building in the 50s too. It came up when I tried NABS, so I don't think it's related to TTRS2.

EDIT: Will someone please post the parameters for TTRS2? I only remember using 1 1 0 to get the default TTD airports (I recommend using the default airports for OTTD unless you're not planning on going beyond City size ;)). The last 0 determines the airport, while the two 1s before it are default values.

I'd like the parameter that replaces all default buildings with those of TTRS2. The ones on Zimmlock's site don't seem to work. It could be a bug, or it could be because they're for TTRS3. :P
Last edited by White Rabbit on 05 Dec 2006 18:13, edited 2 times in total.
Image

User avatar
belugas
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1507
Joined: 05 Apr 2005 01:48
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Contact:

Post by belugas »

Corrected. A lot of data has been moved... thus the errors.
I'm checking if there are any other alike.
Gotta wait for next compile...
Thbaks for first reports ;)

As for the params... checking it too
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones

User avatar
gkirilov
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 696
Joined: 03 May 2005 09:32
Location: Othala

Post by gkirilov »

Will the sprites in TTRSx be used for ALL airports in OTTD?
OTTDCoop NewGRF Pack|Different sets of GRFs for TTDPatch (some of them work in OTTD) - 1|- 2|GRF sets for OTTD|OTTD nightly
Image
I hooked up my accelerator to my brake lights. I hit the gas, people behind me stop, and I'm gone.
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car. Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you take the wall with you. Spoilers and bodykits are how much of the wall you take with you. Rollcages and windownets are how much of a mess you leave on the wall.

peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1646
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Post by peter1138 »

gkirilov wrote:Will the sprites in TTRSx be used for ALL airports in OTTD?
Only for those bits of airports that use the replaced sprites... (obviously)
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.

User avatar
mart3p
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1032
Joined: 31 Oct 2005 21:00
Location: UK

Post by mart3p »

White Rabbit wrote:Will someone please post the parameters for TTRS2?
If you download TTRS2 from here, the parameter info is in the readme. But I've attached it anyway...
belugas wrote:Corrected. A lot of data has been moved... thus the errors.
Thanks for fixing it so quickly :)
belugas wrote:Gotta wait for next compile...
I'll just have to compile it myself... ;)
Attachments
readme-v2.txt
TTRS2 Readme
(7.25 KiB) Downloaded 306 times
Image

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit »

Thanks mart3p, I thought TTRS2 downloads were gone forever when Zimmlock updated his TTRS website. :)

EDIT: I found a bug with one of the Tall Office Blocks. It's just a black square. I don't know if it's a TTRS2 building, or a default building.

Also, has anyone witnessed the demolition animations in OTTD? I might be wrong, but I think the Stock Exchange makes a 'boom' sound when it goes down, so we should check for the sound as well (that's what I heard in TTDP). The construction stages appear to be fine.
Attachments
tall office block 2.png
tall office block 2.png (72.55 KiB) Viewed 13271 times
tall office block.png
tall office block.png (28.11 KiB) Viewed 13274 times
Image

User avatar
Maedhros
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 603
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 18:24
Location: Durham, UK

Post by Maedhros »

White Rabbit wrote:EDIT: I found a bug with one of the Tall Office Blocks. It's just a black square. I don't know if it's a TTRS2 building, or a default building.
Hmm. Please could you attach your savegame?
White Rabbit wrote:Also, has anyone witnessed the demolition animations in OTTD? I might be wrong, but I think the Stock Exchange makes a 'boom' sound when it goes down, so we should check for the sound as well (that's what I heard in TTDP). The construction stages appear to be fine.
Oh yeah, I'd forgotten about sounds. Sound support hasn't been added yet. ^_^
No-one's more important than the earthworm.

User avatar
Telekoman
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 844
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 19:01
Location: Madrid (spain)

Post by Telekoman »

that looks really nice!! Good work!
Due to cutbacks, the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit »

I encountered those black squares in the scenario editor, but I forgot to save the scenario. :oops: Now I'm unable to reproduce the bug. I can only find two tall office blocks that cost that much to demolish and accept that much cargo, and neither are black squares.

By the way, how often is the Newhouses branch compiled?
Image

User avatar
belugas
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1507
Joined: 05 Apr 2005 01:48
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Contact:

Post by belugas »

White Rabbit wrote:By the way, how often is the Newhouses branch compiled?
Should be every monday at 22:00 CET
Or everytime you wish if you have a compiler :mrgreen:
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit »

Has anyone noticed how extinct buildings "resurrect" on 2070? I've attached a savegame of a game that started on 2070. Among many 50s commercial buildings, you can find stock exchanges (they're supposed to be gone by 2000) and old hospitals.

Also, something seems wrong with the hospital generation. There's so many of them, sometimes 2 in each town (one modern and one old). That can't be right.
Attachments
old houses.sav
(82.08 KiB) Downloaded 265 times
Image

User avatar
Maedhros
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 603
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 18:24
Location: Durham, UK

Post by Maedhros »

White Rabbit wrote:Has anyone noticed how extinct buildings "resurrect" on 2070? I've attached a savegame of a game that started on 2070. Among many 50s commercial buildings, you can find stock exchanges (they're supposed to be gone by 2000) and old hospitals.

Also, something seems wrong with the hospital generation. There's so many of them, sometimes 2 in each town (one modern and one old). That can't be right.
Yeah, I messed up the date handling a bit past 2070 - that should be fixed now. :)
No-one's more important than the earthworm.

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit »

There seems to be an industry bug with my revision (7364) of the newhouses branch. Just load my savegame and wait a few seconds. A new coal seam will be found at the top corner of the map, at a non-existant coal mine.
Attachments
Bad Effort Transport, 18th Aug 1923.sav
(216.73 KiB) Downloaded 287 times
Image

User avatar
belugas
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1507
Joined: 05 Apr 2005 01:48
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Contact:

Post by belugas »

Good news :
The branch will now be compiled twice a week, each Monday and Friday at 22:00h CET
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones

User avatar
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 704
Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!

Post by Digitalfox »

Using clean instalation of OpenTTD 0.4.8 and last windows nightly of branch newhouses 7364..

Using the new TTRS-3 released today:

http://users.skynet.be/florisjan/ttd/ttrs.html

No other newgrf is loaded, just TTRS-3

Gives this error when i try to use land area information about some building..
Attachments
Land Area Error 7364
Land Area Error 7364
OpenTTD newhouses.JPG (93.28 KiB) Viewed 12695 times
Last edited by Digitalfox on 08 Dec 2006 16:13, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 704
Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!

Post by Digitalfox »

Another error with TTRS-3..

Black buildings..
Attachments
Black buildings
Black buildings
OpenTTD newhouses2.JPG (152.97 KiB) Viewed 12679 times

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit »

Yep, I get those black squares too.

I also get the invalid string error when I try to use land information.
And I get those buggy transparent sprites as well (those beds aren't supposed to show up until you make buildings transparent).

You've got to admit the set still looks cool with the black squares... :lol:
Image

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests