Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:42 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 1024
Location: Bath, England
Start Date: 1965
Objective: Transport 500,000 units of goods
Difficulty: Medium
Competitors: None
Mods needed: None


Background: A wealth of oil has just been tapped offshore and an oil refinery has been constructed in this fictional Canadian setting. You must transport the oil to the refinery and the resulting goods to the cities.

The Twist: To transport the goods to the cities you must cross or more likely, go round a large mountain range. The engineering for this is expensive, and the ships carrying the oil are unlikely to be very profitable. Building other routes to subsidise construction costs and to promote town growth is therefore essential.

Notes: The updated US Set is perfectly suited to this scenario. I designed this scenario with the use of the big Canadian locomotives in mind. I disabled trams, so you'll have to find some otherway of expanding cities.


Attachments:
File comment: the docks area in my game
Screenshot10.gif [419.73 KiB]
Downloaded 904 times
File comment: the scenario file
Offshore Oil Scenario.zip [270.48 KiB]
Downloaded 918 times
File comment: The Map. The oil rigs can be seen in the sea on the right. The refinery is on the waterfront . To the north is a power station. The coal mines are in the north east area of the map.
Screenshot11.gif [184.11 KiB]
Downloaded 763 times


Last edited by andysine on Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:56 pm
Posts: 2838
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Looks good. I plan on trying it out shortly (I still need to finish my project, the Island of Sodor), but I will download it.

P.S. Once you've placed your trains for scenery, you no longer need to have signals.

_________________
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 1024
Location: Bath, England
train-a-mania wrote:
P.S. Once you've placed your trains for scenery, you no longer need to have signals.

Oh yeah - didn't think of that.

Just a note. When I was trying this scenario out, it took me ages to get the towns to grow as they were so small (largest town size was 3 i think). I've since expanded the towns for the released version - so I hope it won't take people until 1989 to deliver some goods!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
oooh... looks intresting. i think i have a date with lomo tonight....

~puts down the C&C controler~
~downloads this map~

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 5:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
ok, I finnished this. took 40 years. (sort of read on.) I started moving the oil by tanker to the ports then made a RDC/passenger line between the 2 biggest towns in the valley. I then wrapped a train line along the coast to the river and along the river to the highway.. followed the highway to the biggest town in the back corner for max profit. watched that for a bit..


I saw i was only getting 70% of the goods made. so i made a second station that took the good the the main goods depot... that was sort of a failure do to how many goods sprung up and the small amount i could move. i thin looked at my $$ and saw i had billions... so i delted the second station and and made a new second station right through the mountain straight to town... (cheating but i was bored) by now it i was only 18% done and the clock was counting. so i had 2 main lines, one around the mountain and one through it (that is so not me to tunnel)

I was finally way ahead of the oil so i decided to start collecting from rigs 3 and 4... bad idea. for some reason i lost prodcuction... i had over 40 ships working 4 rigs, i was collectiong 1250 tons of oil a year, after 3 & 4 opened i was only getting 750 tons.... no idea why, there was no jam up of ships... at that point i was frustrated and clicked super fast forward and watched a movie... just as i was done with the movie the "oooooh" from finnishing the scenerio hit... there was way to much money and nothing to spend it on... i almost started hauling coal for sh**s and grins....

anyways... very pretty map, i can see you have been picking ideas from other discusssions about maps and put the to use... i like the highway. it would have been cool of you put electric lines from the power plans.. the mountains were well done.. the main valley was .. ehh flat and un-scenic
idk. it was deffinatly a chalenge at first, but for some reason my oil fizzled out and ruined the scenario for me... also i had a wierd glitch. my oil refinery started producing passengers and mail... maybe they are related.

maybe i'll post my sceenshots once my internet is back up...

is this your first map? if so great job.. i would definatly change a few things(mostly just sceanery details, little things like power towers and a lighthouse)... but that is just me... i dunno i just got bored once my oil production died. i could not bring it back to life even with multi port tricks and stuff. ...

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 1024
Location: Bath, England
Cheers for the feedback Plastikman, this is my first published map so it was nice to have such a postitive response.

It is my first map using the map generator program, though I have previously created loads using the standard scenario editor.
I have just released a beta version of a new map "Imports and Exports" which follows a similar theme, but should have a longer lifespan so it doesn't get so boring so quickly - please see the other thread for details.

Thanks for the feedback.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 1129
Location: Liverpool
what train pack is on this map as i only have the br sets?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 1024
Location: Bath, England
It uses the standard locomotion pack, but you can add the BR Set or US Set in the scenario editor if you want.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 12:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 1129
Location: Liverpool
thats what i did thanks for the map its great


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 1:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 1721
Location: Warrington UK
I would recomend using my supertanker avalible from here http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=12321


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:56 pm
Posts: 2838
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Great scenario.

I didn't know that tunneling was cheating, but it's still a challenge.

I love the highway idea. However, I wish there could be more reasons to use it (industries, towns, etc).

Great map.

_________________
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Posts: 1024
Location: Bath, England
I'm glad people liked the map.

So I thought I'd just plug my other map 'Imports and Exports.'
It follows a similar theme, but I think you'll agree there is more to do on it. There are more options available when choosing what to transport and a less rigid way to complete the task, so it is a bit less one-dimensional (hopefully).

Imports and Exports - viewtopic.php?t=24590


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
train-a-mania wrote:
Great scenario.

I didn't know that tunneling was cheating, but it's still a challenge.

I love the highway idea. However, I wish there could be more reasons to use it (industries, towns, etc).

Great map.
lol. i just a bunch of the US semi trucks on the highway and let them drive about with no orders just for scenery.

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 10:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 2:46 am
Posts: 39
Location: New York
12 years 8 months. Took me a while to finish. Dame real life.
The key is too replace tankers by trains asap. I failed to do so on the remote platforms and lost a solid year of high throughput.
12 platforms was not enough to deal with the goods output. A better design would have helped from that perspective. I didn't realize the factory would eventually spit 8k crates a month.
You will notice a coal loop on the right side which is a very good cash cow for the early years.
Thanks for the scenario. Have fun.
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.