Open TTD

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Jibb01
Engineer
Engineer

Open TTD

Post by Jibb01 »

Hi

I just joined this fourm and i was wondering what OTTD is?
Is it a prepatched version of TTD with many benifits, How do i get this OTTD?....

ive been playing TTD for about 10 years now i spose and have proberly done everything and anything possible, but now want to go further :wink: .

Thanks, Jack 8)
Griff
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by Griff »

OpenTTD is an open source port of the Chris Sawyer game Transport Tycoon Deluxe to C using a disassembly of the original game binaries. Originally closed source, the conversion process from assembly language to C was performed single handedly by Ludvig Strigeus between mid-2002 and March 2004. Since then, the game has seen much development and has even reached the top ten most active projects on SourceForge. Thanks to the OpenTTD developers and patch submitters, OpenTTD has become arguably the best Transport Tycoon Deluxe spin-off. Thanks to its use of the SDL cross platform graphics and sound layer, it works on virtually any operating system in common usage, including Microsoft Windows, Mac OS X, BeOS, Linux, OS/2, FreeBSD,Palm OS,Pocket PC, MorphOS officially supported, with SkyOS and RISC OS supported through unofficial ports. However, it does not officially run on DOS, despite DOS being the primary platform on which Transport Tycoon ran.

OpenTTD duplicates the original game feature-wise but also has numerous additions, including canals, revised rail station construction and additional airports. Perhaps the most significant feature compared to the original game is its multiplayer capability. It offers LAN and Internet play via public, world-wide servers for up to ten players.