Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:22 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 321 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 517 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 7:54 am 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
N E W . . . I N D U S T R I E S

Latest versions here and here

NFO Coded entirely by Dalestan and drawn by me. Thanks go to orudge for kickstarting the project and epsilon for starting it

(if pics don't show try a refresh or visit its url)
Image
The Water Desalinisation plant is found only in tropical. It produces water. It replaces nothing
Image
This Oil fired Power plant is found in all three climates, and requires Oil. It replaces nothing
Image
This is a graphics replace for the TTD factory.

Dos and Win versions below


Attachments:
new_industriesw.zip [25.23 KiB]
Downloaded 1820 times
new_industries.zip [24.38 KiB]
Downloaded 927 times

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Last edited by Born Acorn on Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:09 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Neato Born. Good to see the oil plant finally released. They're definatly going into my five TTDPatch newgrf setups.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:35 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 1:58 pm
Posts: 373
Location: Munich area, Bavaria, Germany, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
really nice!
now i can improve all my coal power plant to more modern oil power plant ;-)

_________________
zero1000


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 9:28 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
Very nice indeed !
If I have this grf loaded, will these industries be placed on a randomly generated map (I guess not) ? Or do I have to buy them from the "fund new industry" window?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 10:06 am 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
jacke wrote:
Very nice indeed !
If I have this grf loaded, will these industries be placed on a randomly generated map (I guess not) ? Or do I have to buy them from the "fund new industry" window?


They will be randomly generated, yes :wink:

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 10:22 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
Ok, nice :) Have to try this later when I'm on windows
Btw, how many total "slots" are there for (new) industries ?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
jacke wrote:
Ok, nice :) Have to try this later when I'm on windows
Btw, how many total "slots" are there for (new) industries ?


Jacke, Wine 20041201 will run TTDPatch quite nicely. All you have to do is add the reg settings manually to ~/.wine/system.reg

Code:
[Software\\FISH Technology Group\\Transport Tycoon Deluxe] 1115452306
"DisplayModeNumber"=dword:00000003
"ForceDIBSection"=dword:00000000
"FullScreen"=dword:00000001
"HDPath"="C:\\MPS\\TTWin95\\"
"Installed"=dword:00000003
"Language"=dword:00000000
"MidiType"=dword:00000001
"MousePointer"=dword:00000000
"RetraceSync"=dword:00000000
"SafeMode"=dword:00000000
"UpdateMode"=dword:00000001


Make sure that in your fake C drive that you use the same directory path listed above. Or atleast change the reg settings.[/code]

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:36 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
Thanks for the info Aegir ! :)
I once had ttd+patch running in wine, after following a ttd-in-linux guide written by Sordid(or what was his name?). I think I'm gonna set it up in linux again now.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:47 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Yes, just make sure that you compile Wine from source. And DONT use a build from 2005. None of them work. 20041201 is the last working version.

Look in Ibiblio's Linux software archives (Under ALPHA) for the tarballs of source.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 12:00 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
jacke wrote:
Btw, how many total "slots" are there for (new) industries?

There are a total of 37 industry slots. Each slot can have a different definition in each climate.

I am perfectly willing to code more industries, though at some point we may want to start doing this correctly: discussing which industries we want, getting them drawn, and then coding them all into the same GRF file.

Those GRF files don't really show the full power of the new industry feature:
- The same industry can have multiple shapes/sizes
- Industry tiles (like houses) have 4 construction states
- Industry tile appearance can change depending the industry's construction date, the current date, ground type, randomly, &c.
- Industries can be coded to only appear at certain times in the game.

We cannot animate new industries yet, but Csaboka is working on that.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 1:08 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 7:25 am
Posts: 348
could you get an oil power plant that runs on oil from refineries (of course you will need a new refinery) because it would be more real then running on crude oil :P :P


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 1:45 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 8:05 pm
Posts: 733
I think new industries need a co-ordinated approach, else we will create chaos. Can new caargo types be added? I think we should completely plan a new industry structure, then different people can go away and draw different sets (like with the trainsets) but the basic structures and cargo types remain constant, else it will get too confusing

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 3:31 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
We cannot add cargo types (except possibly one in artic where there are only 11) and I would prefer not to touch the cargo types anyway, except in conjunction with a vehicle replacement set. Changing the cargo names (the only thing that can be changed, AFAICT) won't break anything, but changing eg "Livestock" to "Wine" may cause some confusion.

I do not intend to code anything that does not use the current cargo types, but I am willing to remove/replace the old industries.

@lost: No. That would require a new cargo type.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 3:50 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Its not possible to add new cargo types but i did hear somone was working on that.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 4:14 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:40 pm
Posts: 429
can i hack this thread for more general questions about the new industries ?


a bug: the twelfth cargo type in the temperate is available in refit only with the more-industries-per-climate switch on. with no doubt the 'or' cargo, disabled in the alpine, should be unavailable in refit in that climate (here i have no prob because i have vehicles set to that cargo by default).


a bug: the chemney of electric plant dosn't fume if the new grf is activated when it becomes complete... ie. it's ok if you found it with the grf on and then turn it off and wait till its construction is terminated.


a bug: farm's building (barns -- the tiles 23 and 24) becomes the coal mine's wheel tower when the farm is served...


a question: is there the table of colour code for the property 19 of the action 0 feature 0A ?


a question: is there any way to put the smoke that's from the chemney of electric plant on other tiles ?


a question: is there any way to limit the apparition of certain industry to tiles near the water (water everywhere, not only near the edge of the map) ? and similarly, to prohibit certain industries on the desert and the snow ?


a question: is there any way of linking the production amount of an industriy type to the town population nearby ? or alternatively, to keep the production per industry the same, and the number of the industries in question proportional to the town population ?



i'll post more as find more problems. thanks for reading

_________________
------------------------
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 4:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: Ontario, Canada
I was discussing with Csaboka on IRC the possibility of splitting the factory into 3 separate industries...

1. Factory - Receives Steel, produces goods
2. Brewery - Receives Grain/Wheat, Produces goods (or food)
3. Packing Plant - Receives Livestock, produces goods (or food)

I've doodled up a basic structure for the packing plant, obviously it's far from don. (I'm adding another bit of building behind it so it'll be 3X4)

I've also started a brewery


Attachments:
File comment: Beginnings of packing plant
Packingplantstart.png
Packingplantstart.png [ 6.37 KiB | Viewed 30844 times ]

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 5:03 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
For the bugs, post a demonstrating savegame, cfgs, &c.

hovering teacup wrote:
a question: is there the table of colour code for the property 19 of the action 0 feature 0A ?

Yes. It is, of course, on the action 2 feature 7/9 page (about halfway down), so the fact that you couldn't find it is understandable.

hovering teacup wrote:
a question: is there any way to put the smoke that's from the chemney of electric plant on other tiles?

Not per se. Once animation is added, it can be done that way, though.

hovering teacup wrote:
a question: is there any way to limit the apparition of certain industry to tiles near the water (water everywhere, not only near the edge of the map) ? and similarly, to prohibit certain industries on the desert and the snow ?

No on the first; I think so, but it's not pretty on the second.

hovering teacup wrote:
a question: is there any way of linking the production amount of an industriy type to the town population nearby ? or alternatively, to keep the production per industry the same, and the number of the industries in question proportional to the town population ?

No.

Of course, these "no"s don't preclude the possiblility of someone adding that feature.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 6:00 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
New fenced versions here soon.

Thats a cool Packing plant DanMacK

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 6:25 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
DanMacK: Nice :)

Aegir: I got it working by using the 2004-12-01 version of wine(versions from 2005 didn't work, like you said), and it runs quite well :) The only issue is that the KDE panel is shown in the lower right part of the screen, and I can't get rid of it.


Attachments:
ttdlinux.png
ttdlinux.png [ 252.03 KiB | Viewed 30832 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 7:34 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 4:28 pm
Posts: 868
Location: Bjärred, Skåne (Scania), Sweden
Cool new industries! :)

Do they work for all languages?

_________________
G-Klav

Note: my avatar is best viewed with the 'silver' scheme on the forums.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 321 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 517 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Doorslammer, Quast65 and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.