Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:26 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 2:13 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 429
This issue keeps popping up in several threads, and as far as I know, we haven't agreed on anything yet.

So, the question is, how "freeform" do we want this game to go?

btw, if I talk about track, I mean track, road and canals.

Cell-based
  • landscape cells = building units
  • each building has a footprint which is a collection of a few complete cells (eg: 1 house = 1 cell)
  • each building can be rotated in 4 orientations (if we use squares) or 6 orientations (if we use triangles)
  • track also have 8 orientations in square systems and 6 in triangle systems (maybe 12?)
  • Each tracksection either goes border-to-border or center-to-center, but is essetially always 1 cell long.
  • tunnels / bridges are cell-based (1 cell = start & 1 cell = end), some kind or Rollercoaster Tycoon / Locomotion system.
  • cargo is transported between those cells
  • clearly visible grid, players will calculate in grid-units

freeform
  • the landscape cells are not = building units
  • each building has a footprint which is a collection of a lot of such units (eg: 1 house = 8*8 units).
  • buildings can be rotated in any direction
  • tracks can also be rotated in any direction
  • tracksections are treated as normal buildings, they have a certain footprint (eg 8*4) and can be rotated in any direction.
  • tunnels/bridges are not restricted to cells. They start/stop like any other track.
  • cargo is transported between ???
  • most players won't care about the grid, but it can be turned on for more control.



The biggest advantage of a cell-based system = less memory used. If we compare equal size of maps (eg: 1 K houses²), the cell based one uses 1024*1024 cells, where the freeform one would need a building unit grid of 8192*8192. The later uses 64 times more memory.

The biggest advantage of a freeform system = you are not restricted to 4 orientations for buildings and 8 orientations for tracks + it looks more realistic.

Another thing, if we use a cell-based system, we can use sprites because of the limited number of orientations. If we use the freeform system, everything has to be fully rotatable 3D model. Usually sprites look better and use less resources.

I haven't made my mind up yet...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 2:25 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
One of the constants during the development of this game was that it's going to be 3D!

I've seen what your track laying prototype can do. I strongly believe that this is the best way to go. Have a tile map (triangle/quad/whatever. Doesn't matter in this post), divide each tile into a small grid and allow track section ends to snap to this small grid.

So I guess I'm for a semi-freeform cell based approach ;)

PJayTycy wrote:
track also have 8 orientations in square systems and 6 in triangle systems (maybe 12?)

Track can have 4 orientations in square systems and 6 in triangle systems.
It can have 8 directions in square systems and 12 directions in triangle systems. :)

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)
Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+

[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]
Under construction...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 2:31 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2125
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
How much memory does it going to eat?

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
As mentioned in another thread by someone, having different scales of units may be the best approach. Track uses the small units, for the most flexibilty whilst buildings may use the bigger scales as they don't need to be precisely places.
Ultimately, the landscape is going to be the most memory. I'd love to see a freeform landscape using smaller units, but that may be unreasonable. I'd hate to see it be as bad as TTD though. In cases like TTD and Loco, Iso is the way to go, not 3D.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:07 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4532
Location: /home/sweden
In the cellbased way, as we are in 3D, cant we allow construction of tracks between any two cell midpoints that is resonable close to eachother using your 360 degree of freedome.

Steve and others:
I remember one of the arguments for 3D was that creating content will be esier, as the computer will take care of rendering. While using a 2D iso engine with sprites you have to work more to create content. This does not favor non iso like landscape. Just a note.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
Meeting Decisions:

- Choices between:
- Tile based solution
- Complete freeform
- Limited freeform with smaller grid
- To be continued on forum.

Status: Continue discussion on forum.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
I would go for something between full or maybe a little restricted freeform.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:57 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4532
Location: /home/sweden
We decided to have 5 snap points on each side of a tile. But after some thoghts I cant agree with that, becuse we have decided that 4 lanes or 4 tracks should fit side by side on one tile.

I suggest that we use 4 snap points per side. Optionally we can add a fift in the center, if there is a need to place biggger things in the center of the tile. Or just only ine extra in the middle.


The dark blue line is the tile border, and the light blue lines are just help lines that I used to know where to put the red dots. And I thoght that you might have use of them too, so I didn't hide them. The red spots are snap points.


Attachments:
snappoints.png
snappoints.png [ 377 Bytes | Viewed 18671 times ]

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 12:19 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:30 am
Posts: 699
Location: Back at the office
I vote:
Steve wrote:
- Limited freeform with smaller grid

_________________
Feel free to contact me over Email! My current timezone: Europe/Amsterdam (GMT+1 or GMT+2)

Code:
+------------Oo.------+
| Transport Empire -> |
+---------------------+


[ General TE Discussion ] [ TE Development ] [ TE Coding ]

Under construction...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 12:23 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4532
Location: /home/sweden
Hellfire wrote:
I vote:
Steve wrote:
- Limited freeform with smaller grid

That was the result of the voting at the meeting.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 2:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
I vote for a limited freeform with smaller grid too, I think it will be able to serve our demands well.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 8:19 pm
Posts: 2085
Location: London
zuu wrote:
We decided to have 5 snap points on each side of a tile. But after some thoghts I cant agree with that, becuse we have decided that 4 lanes or 4 tracks should fit side by side on one tile.


That just depends on how you build them. If you build them as 2 sets of 2 lanes, then they'll fit. See attached. Your method seems a strange pattern rather than a regular pattern that will work more fluently.


Attachments:
roads.png
roads.png [ 3.16 KiB | Viewed 18645 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:15 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 429
Zuu, your pattern is strange... It's a 9*9 pattern with half of the points removed. Although it's strange, I think it would work, but wouldn't it be easier to just use a "normal" rectangular grid inside cells too (like Steve's example).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:13 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4532
Location: /home/sweden
Maybe, but how to you place a single track or a single lane on the 5x5 variant in Stevs post?

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 12:38 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:22 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Like this.


Attachments:
File comment: Like this.
road_5x5_onelane.png
road_5x5_onelane.png [ 2.84 KiB | Viewed 18607 times ]

_________________
Grunt
(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 1:26 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
zuu's grid suggestion is not an option at all, for the simple reason that rotating it 90 degrees gives a different grid, so the restrictions on building are different on each axis.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 1:58 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 8:30 pm
Posts: 429
jfs wrote:
zuu's grid suggestion is not an option at all, for the simple reason that rotating it 90 degrees gives a different grid, so the restrictions on building are different on each axis.


nope, rotating it 90° gives the exact same grid.

SGrunt : if you build your single lane like that, you won't fit 4 lanes onto 1 tile.


After all, I don't really care if the cell is divided into 9*9 or 5*5 or 4*4 points. The first important issue is if we will have snappoints inside a cell or only on the edges (see other thread, in discussion with uzurpator).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 2:03 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
PJayTycy wrote:
jfs wrote:
zuu's grid suggestion is not an option at all, for the simple reason that rotating it 90 degrees gives a different grid, so the restrictions on building are different on each axis.

nope, rotating it 90° gives the exact same grid.

Whoops you're right. I need to rest my eyes for the night ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:06 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:22 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
PJayTycy wrote:

SGrunt : if you build your single lane like that, you won't fit 4 lanes onto 1 tile.


...that's because I built two lanes there, not one. ;) Seriously, though, running a single lane down the centre of the tile like that doesn't preclude building more lanes in the tile. It just means you don't put down a completely new strip of pavement, but expand on what you've already got so that you could, say, start with two lanes and then expand it out further to give four lanes.

Just kind of envision filling the rest of my diagram there widthwise with pavement to get an idea of what I mean - you'd then slap a median in the middle and get what zuu's diagram looks like...

_________________
Grunt

(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:12 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4532
Location: /home/sweden
SGrunt wrote:
Like this.


I said a single line or track.

For roads I can accept what you (not only SGrunt) have purposed later on in this thread. But rails, dont you ever want to place a single track next to the border of a cell for example?


PJayTycy, and snappoints on ther border vs whole cell:
Lets ask ous is snappoints on the border enoght? Are there any situation where that yould be too restrictive?

Perhaps we can use my grid, but with only snappoints on the edges. (for track[1] laying)
For buildings I think we have to decide if they need to be placed on a finir grid than the cells. And if so I beleve that edge points are to restrective, as you might want to place it in the middle of a square.


[1]Track = lanes and railway tracks. (which I think should be the only meaning of tracks in our design discussions.)

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.