Goods

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

L. Spooner Inc
Engineer
Engineer

Goods

Post by L. Spooner Inc »

When I started playing OTTD I was convinced that towns just stopped accepting goods after a while. This is because every single town I used to sell goods would eventually stop accepting them, forcing me to build a new station at another town, where the same thing would happen again; lather, rinse, repeat. Now I know that it's actually towns tearing down old buildings to build new ones. The very growth caused by selling goods makes the towns stop accepting goods.

In normal maps it's not a huge problem since they'll probably build new, goods-accepting buildings eventually. In sub-tropical or arctic maps, however, it's a huge problem. I've had towns which repeatedly stopped accepting goods, sometimes for decades at a time despite constantly spending to build new buildings and setting up enormous road networks for them to build new buildings. This becomes almost game-breaking, since towns start so small and grow so slowly that you can run out of goods-accepting towns entirely.

Towns don't tear down banks or water towers once they're built; I don't think it makes any sense at all for them to stop accepting goods once they've started accepting it -- particularly when accepting goods is what causes them to stop accepting goods. Once a town starts accepting goods, it should never stop accepting goods.
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: Goods

Post by Eddi »

In arctic and tropic climates it's especially problematic, because houses will either accept goods or food, never both, so as a town grows, the proper locations for stations might shift
L. Spooner Inc
Engineer
Engineer

Post by L. Spooner Inc »

andythenorth wrote: 10 Jul 2020 05:46 It's a common (and reasonable) misunderstanding that delivering goods to towns causes them to grow. :)
Having trains making pick-ups and drop-offs makes them grow. So goods do make them grow.
kamnet