Passanger cargodist overloaded

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

MStarha
Engineer
Engineer

Passanger cargodist overloaded

Post by MStarha »

I started playing with cargodist, which helps to make transfers automatically, and adds a bit of realism to the game which I like. However, now I am playing on my second map, because in the first one my company went to bankruptcy, because I could not keep up with the demand and passangers got to their destination late and thus paying too little (at least that's my theory).

On my second map I barely make any profit despite having multiple trains going throught the stations. I learned not to put more that 5 stations in a city, because the more stations you have, the more passanger want to travel to the city and thus increasing the problem.

I do not want to "just add more trains" because that is not the way I want to play.

And even whe I add more trains, it seems to help for a bit, but then the demand increases and the route is overloaded once again.

I like large hilly maps with long distances between cities so the travel times are usually somewhere between 30-60 days.

I tried making profit with industry but that help only on a small scale. (I want to build passenger network and then add industry servicing.

Could you guys give me some tips or tricks on how to play with cargodist? How to handle overloaded routes?

In the attachment you can find the most recent save of my second map. I am playing with Firs and CZTR graphics and some other NewGRFs, but I hope you can view it without the full list.

Thank you very much.
Attachments
O'Donnell & Co., Apr 6th, 2241.sav
(8.31 MiB) Downloaded 55 times
LaChupacabra
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Re: Passanger cargodist overloaded

Post by LaChupacabra »

Hey MStarha
Without NewGRF with trains, I couldn't run the game (they didn't go), but I can see what the problem is. :)