Ship just goes to depot

Talk about the classic original version of Transport Tycoon.
Post Reply
juve63
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Apr 2011 02:02

Ship just goes to depot

Post by juve63 » 23 Apr 2011 02:20

I never seen this problem before.

I'm pretty late in the game(2009).

My issue is, I have a ship that won't stop going to the depot.

The ship leaves the depot, starts to head to its destination, then instantly turns around and goes back to the depot.
It has repeated this all year and never gets a ships length away from the depot.

I have tried to replace the ship, calling it to the depot manually, changing days between service, deleting depot, skipping destinations and even changing type of ship and changing it back to the original type.

3 ships are doing this, 2 goods ships and 1 oil ships. Only the goods ships share the same depot and destinations.

The ship worked for 5 years before but for my current year it keeps going in a circle.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

juve63
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Apr 2011 02:02

Re: Ship just goes to depot

Post by juve63 » 23 Apr 2011 03:05

Correction:

This issue also happens to 2 passenger hovercrafts.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Ship just goes to depot

Post by PikkaBird » 23 Apr 2011 03:28

1) posting in the appropriate forum for the game you are playing would be good.
2) Screenshots, saved games?

juve63
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Apr 2011 02:02

Re: Ship just goes to depot

Post by juve63 » 23 Apr 2011 04:03

1) I'm playing Transport Tycoon Original
2) I attached my full game, I am not sure which is the save file. Use the latest date save. Its Firebird Transport April 2009

When you load the game, you will see the 2 goods ships right away.
I think they are Ship 3 and Ship 11.

Thank you
Attachments
TransportTycoon.zip
(1.98 MiB) Downloaded 202 times

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5399
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Ship just goes to depot

Post by PikkaBird » 23 Apr 2011 04:25

I see, I misunderstood some of what you wrote. :)

I can't see anything immediately wrong when opening the save in OpenTTD. It may be a bug in TTO...

User avatar
WRH
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 34
Joined: 14 Dec 2006 14:42

Re: Ship just goes to depot

Post by WRH » 30 Apr 2011 20:41

I remember years ago when playing TTO, that for some reason late on in games vehicles began behaving strangely. I found this a major problem on my old 486. Especially when having more than a few hundered vehicles. Vehicles would get lost, some would end up in endless go to depot cycles.

I put it down to my PC not being fast enough able to handle things properly. As long as I kept things below 100 vehicles things worked fine. On newer and better PC's I had fewer and fewer instances of this. I will say that road vehicles and ships, were particularly susceptible to this.

Thick AI?

I used to track down vehicles with negative incomes to find them, then I'd replace them and the problem would be fixed until the next vehicle became senile. :wink:

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon (Original)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests