Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:27 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
OK, first things first, mods please move this if neceassary.

This is a journal, similar to those in Simtropolis, that documents the story of GlobalTrans, a new company that has just opened its headquarters in a quiet little corner of London. All advice and suggestions are welcomed, or even just a post to say you're watching. I'm using OpenTTD with cargodist, chunnels, signals in tunnels and bridges and extra-large-maps-patch, using r16816. I'm using the world map and these are the newGRFs:

2cc Trainset
Metro Tracks
Transrapid Trainset
eGRVTS
Hover Bus
Aviators Aircraft Set
Stolen Trees
City Stations
Suburban Stations
Rural Stations
Industrial Stations Renewal
Old Bridge
Total Town Replacement Set
Burj Al Arab
NewShips
Canadian Stations Set

Also be aware that I've never used most of these GRF's ( :oops: ) so this is a bit of adventure for myself too. Also the Total Town Replacement won't affect the city centres as it's a scenario. Vehicles never expire because I don't want to be stuck without any in 2100. Inflation is off.

As for AIs, I've got NoCab, ChooChoo and JAMI. (ChooChoo is too new and AdmiralAI doesn't work with cargodist). NoCab/TransAI might not work with cargodist either, as I've never tried it. If they overload the map with buses to a point where the game doesn't work properly, they might just disappear.

Attached is a very basic network map of my two main networks - North America and Europe.

--JOURNAL STARTS HERE--

The dawn of a new century. The 20th century. The dawn of a new age.
The age of transport.

R.S. Wright left the bank, a smile plastered on his face. After days of intense negotiations, he had secured a loan from the manager. £100,000 start-up, with a limit five times higher. He set to work on building a home for his new company, buying up cheap land in the corner of north-west London. GlobalTrans was born. Immediately Wright set to work, planning his first route.

Trains were a new invention, and the first ones were too slow for practical use. He had enthused at home for months about building steam buses around his city, but he soon realised that it wasn't practical. So he set to work on a network using more old-fashioned modes of transport - the 'Public Horse' network. Four 'horse stops' were created, circling the city centre. The carriage had six horses and went at the bone-breaking speed of 20 mp/h. A second carriage was launched, going in the opposite direction. It was the beginning of a revolution.

(Today it's a bit short, but I've only just started :P. What do you think?)

EDIT SEPTEMBER 2010: Beware that there are two network maps: 'GlobalTrans Network Map' and 'GlobalTrans Network Map New.' The latter is from the current game.


Attachments:
GlobalTrans, First Steps.png [211.48 KiB]
Downloaded 464 times
GlobalTrans Network Map.PNG [25.86 KiB]
Downloaded 126 times
GlobalTrans Network Map New.png [35.5 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


Last edited by Wasila on Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:36 am, edited 23 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I realise that this is a bit early for an update, but I also realised that the first post was way too short. I'm still trying to figure out how this is going to work, so bear with me.

R. S. Wright worked for days on end, some months even living in his dingy old office. He hired a couple more workers to ease the workload a bit but still times were tough. Despite this though, Mr. Wright had already become a household name in England. For the first time any one could get around London and the founder of GlobalTrans was responsible for it. He soon became so popular that one shop released the first autograph book!

But, of course, GlobalTrans wasn't stopping there. Despite initial misgivings about the abilities of trains, R.S. Wright soon gave in and built the Manchester - Birmingham line. Despite the double track, it suffered from a lack of the popularity that the London routes received. The train, a Budapest 1894, was hauled in - by horse - to the launch in Birmingham, which was well-documented by the local papers.

Birmingham station remained deserted. The trains would only load a full dozen each time before emptying the platform completely. Something had to be done. A new horse and carriage route was constructed, this time to Birmingham city centre. From there, a connection was built to London. Soon the network was overflowing with people. As for the original network in London, fourteen carriages were now in service.


Attachments:
Birmingham - Manchester (2).png [154.22 KiB]
Downloaded 410 times
Birmingham City Centre (2).png [158.12 KiB]
Downloaded 366 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I just realised that I kind of forgot to use newstations :P. Next update will have shots of the new station. Remember, nothing ever happened ;).
BTW, I've only been able to build Suburban stations. Is that because of the date?

EDIT: My savefile just got corrupted, and my autosave hadn't kicked into action yet. Consider everything rebuilt the same way (except I've got a city centre to station route in Manchester now too.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 6:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I've noticed that I've had over a hundred views, but no replies. Is there no interest or am I just not doing it right? And I'll ask again, are City stations and Suburban stations not buildable because of the year? Thanks.

GlobalTrans has moved abroad. Without a feasible way of getting to Dublin, R. S. Wright has moved expansion to Western Europe. The new route was to connect the Paris region with Randstand-Holland, but the Belguim refused to allow the tracks to be built in its area without a stop in Brussels. The company agreed and construction began. Three protests meant that construction was delayed for a number of months, but the work was completed in the end. With the expected future traffic, the route became the first 'ro-ro' line. With Randstad-Holland Region Woods being forced to the fringes of the city, another horse route is introduced to connect it to the city centre. So far, the loan stands at £240,000.

(Also I realise that I tend to build too much track for my trains, but what can I say? I'm a forward thinker! Also what do you think about skipping the game forwards a decade or so?)


Attachments:
Birmingham - Manchester newStations (3).png [150.57 KiB]
Downloaded 283 times
Paris - Brussels (3).png [78.85 KiB]
Downloaded 277 times
Brussels - Randstad-Holland (3).png [121.35 KiB]
Downloaded 268 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 6948
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
Wasila wrote:
I've noticed that I've had over a hundred views, but no replies. Is there no interest or am I just no doing it right? And I'll ask again, are City stations and Suburban stations not buildable because of the year?

Simple answer, yes.

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Was that to all three questions?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:03 pm
Posts: 2183
Location: ~/
For me it's yes to all three, unfortionately..

But let me give you an advice; Do NOT play OpenTTD so that you can post pictures of your games here to impress us or similar.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I wasn't trying to impress, just trying to have a kind of story going on. If absolutely nobody is interested, then I'll stop. If anyone is, speak up now.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 6948
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
Sorry, I agree really. Pics of your routes could at least have trains on them.............

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I probably started too early a year. I might give some sort of update when I've reached an age with proper trains out.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 1:53 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:28 am
Posts: 224
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
I do like your idea of telling a story, and your plan to make a global transport company. :)
And i look forward to follow how your company develops.

But i do not like your RO-RO stations and general station layout. I prefer some more realistic looking stations.
Take a look on some of the other threads in this section and get some ideas of how more realistic stations and junctions could look like.

You are right about that you might have started a bit too early, when you have no real trains and no ships. I had the same problem with one of my games that started in 1920.

_________________
Jimi Okstoft


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
To be honest, I only started putting multiple trains on a track a few games ago! I know that there are screenshots around, but are there any 'guides to realistic networks'?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:48 pm
Posts: 2080
Location: Jarrow, Tyne and Wear
Well just take a look at some of the other screenshot threads for ideas I'd say (I might as well advertise my old one: link), and don't try and plan everything too early, networks are usually more interesting if they grow naturally. Also, there's little things about your shots which make them a bit odd, for example calling a city 'London Region' looks a bit rubbish. Also, as was said, more trains in the shots are needed, and interesting things like station buildings and some junctions.

_________________
“Blackmail is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The ‘x’ makes it sound cool.”


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
Well I didn't create the map ;). Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 6948
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
beeb375 wrote:
Well just take a look at some of the other screenshot threads for ideas I'd say (I might as well advertise my old one: link)

Mine are better :wink:

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:03 pm
Posts: 2183
Location: ~/
Badger wrote:
beeb375 wrote:
Well just take a look at some of the other screenshot threads for ideas I'd say (I might as well advertise my old one: link)

Mine are better :wink:

Ameecher's are even better. :mrgreen:

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 12:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:48 pm
Posts: 2080
Location: Jarrow, Tyne and Wear
Badger wrote:
beeb375 wrote:
Well just take a look at some of the other screenshot threads for ideas I'd say (I might as well advertise my old one: link)

Mine are better :wink:


Bennythen00b wrote:
Badger wrote:
Mine are better :wink:

Ameecher's are even better. :mrgreen:


F*ck you both (in the nicest possible way) :P

_________________
“Blackmail is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The ‘x’ makes it sound cool.”


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 12:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:42 pm
Posts: 7408
Location: Stratford, London
Well my city is the biggest. End of!

Image

_________________
Any opinions expressed are purely mine and not that of any employer, past or present.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
How many people is that?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:02 am
Posts: 1498
I'm going to try and revive this. Are these stations better?

It is 1948 and much has changed. Western Europe has become interconnected and so has the east coast of the USA. A line has been constructed in Britain, running from London-Manchester-Glasgow. And, as of 1947, a fourth line exists, straddling western India. Profits have soared, but so has competition. ChooChoo is rapidly becoming a decent competitor to the incumbent masters of the industry. All these services run with the 90 mp/h Royal Hudson trains, manufactured in Canada.

Two separate routes still exist from the days where metro was the only option. Los Angeles-San Francisco and a 3-station route traversing the entirety of Japan.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 26th Apr 1948.png [252.72 KiB]
Downloaded 180 times


Rhein-Ruhr station, connecting western and southern Europe.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 26th Apr 1948#1.png [195.6 KiB]
Downloaded 150 times


New York station, a central station on the North American line with a branch to Montreal.

London Victoria station is at the heart of GlobalTrans, with three sections right across London. The Domestic Terminal, the International Terminal and Heathrow Airport. The International Terminal is brand new, adding London to the West European Line.

Attachment:
GlobalTrans, 26th Apr 1948#2.png [120.79 KiB]
Downloaded 161 times


Also new is a transatlantic flight connecting New York to Paris and London, using the new 300 mp/h planes. Unfortunately, while the Paris connection has becoming very successful, the London connection is suffering from lack of passengers.

I also quickly whipped up a network map of my two main networks - Europe and North America - using Paint. Check next post.

Am I better than before?


Last edited by Wasila on Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.